×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ten Minutes from Normal
     

Ten Minutes from Normal

4.1 10
by Karen Hughes, Robert Hughes (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

"The rule of thumb in any White House is that nobody is indispensable except the president," said The New York Times, "but Karen Hughes has come as close to that description as any recent presidential aide." Karen Hughes has worked beside President George W. Bush since, as she says, "the motorcade was only one car and he was sometimes the one driving it." As

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ten Minutes from Normal 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fabulous!! A truly remarkable woman who sets the highest standard for all of us to follow. I read the book in 1 day; I couldn't put it down. I laughed; I cried; and I came away inspired to do better in my own life. She validated my opinion of President George W. Bush as a warm, caring, intelligent man who truly has the best interests of 'we the people' in his heart and the tremendous sacrifices that he makes to keep America safe and strong. This is the definitive book on what it is to be the President of the United States and what life is like in the most powerful job in the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was written so that i felt I was sitting and talking to Ms. Hughes. She gives a wonderful glimpse of what it is like to work in politics, state and national. I was never bored, even though I rarely read and enjoy non-fiction. I came away from this book with renewed respect for President Bush and admiration for Ms. Hughes and the tough decision she made.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a refreshing story about politics inside. Karen Hughes is to be commended for seperating family from politics. It is nice to know that there are some 'humans' in the whitehouse once again. She gave some insights to the whitehouse that were not expected , but very refreshing. For once a political book that wasn't so depressing. Thank you Karen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book very much. Was always impressed by Karen Hughes-- even more so now. So accomplished- such a tough decision. Thank you to your husband for his support to you. Best wishes to your son. By the way, need a bible at work, go to www.bible.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Karen Hughes rights an insightful account of her close interactions with President Bush. It is obvious Bush has a lot of faith in her advice, and after reading her book I can see why. Just another very intelligent person working by his side.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable reading about leadership people and successfully balancing family and work. Also, refreshing that it was written without name calling.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is excellent! Very smooth reading! You feel like your on the campaign plane and going through the daily grind with Bush and Hughes. Takes you inside the White House and into some of the personalities the media doesn't portray of senior staff. GET IT & READ IT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
IN THIS STUNNING AND RUNAWAY BEST SELLER KAREN HUGHES (WHO IS ONE OF BUSHS ADVISORS) HAS WRITTION THIS REALLY WONDERFUL BIO ABOUT HER LIFE WITH GEORGE W. BUSH, THE CAMPAIGN TRAILS FROM GOVERNOR OF TEXAS TO THE WHITE HOUSE WHILE AT THE SAME TIME BALANCING HER FAMILY LIFE.SHE IS A VERY AMAZING LADY SHE WAS THERE FROM THE BEGAINGING AND SHE HAS SOME VERY MOVING THOUGHTS ON 9\11 . YOU WILL BE TRULY TOUCHED BY THIS BOOK.