×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tender Is the Night
     

Tender Is the Night

3.6 110
by F. Scott Fitzgerald
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Tender Is The Night, Fitzgerald deliberately set out to write the most ambitious and far-reaching novel of his career, experimenting radically with narrative conventions of chronology and point of view and drawing on early breakthroughs in psychiatry to enrich his account of the makeup and breakdown of character and culture.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tender Is the Night 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 110 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Prior to reading Tender Is the Night the only thing I had ever read by Fitzgerald was The Great Gatsby and I wasn't too crazy about that. Taking a chance with this one, I was well rewarded. This book was so sad, but compelling. I felt it was about the choices people make, how so many people do what they feel is the right thing, but it really isn't. I also found the atmospheric details of Americans in Europe during the 1920s to be rich and vivid. I found Rosemary to be an especially interesting character, and wondered what happened to her long after the novel ended. Dick was the saddest character, starting with so much promise and eventually fading away.
DaisyMae61 More than 1 year ago
I couldn't open it either. It's listed in my library and says "Download." When I click on it, nothing happens.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started this book. I'd read The Great Gatsby, and loved Fitzgerald's prose, but wasn't sure what to anticipate with something else. But I was pleasantly surprised. Never failing, Fitzgerald manages to depict and enhance his characters and their interactions with details that most other authors are unable to capture. The story lays out the lives of wealthy American expatriates, focusing on the deterioration of a marriage between Dick and Nicole Diver. With Dick, we see a man once regarded for his genuine charm, care, and gregariousness. Yet entrenched in the superficiality of European life...being a doctor at a sanitarium bombarded with a spectrum of psychiatric patients...married to a woman with frequent nervous breakdowns...and lured on by the whimsical innocence of an American actress, once heartfelt outgoingness turns into bitterness and a tool Dick uses to deride others. Additionally, Nicole's fluctuation of emotion, inability to fit in because of it, and dissatisfaction with Dick's distancing himself, combine to ruin their marriage. This was one of the saddest, yet truest love stories I've read--being almost circumstantial that they ceased to love each other, and nothing of their own doing. I strongly recommend.
tortuga24 More than 1 year ago
The "free" books I tried to download all had problems. This one wouldn't download.
Mike Bradshaw More than 1 year ago
Gives me an error message every time.
Aiowin More than 1 year ago
I was twelve when I read this, I was staying in Italy and was homesick, this book had me hanging on each word, amaing eve a thirteen year old could see that!
SilentClown22 More than 1 year ago
Ernest Hemingway, Fitzgerald's "frienemy", called this book a masterpiece. And he was right. Every word on every page of this book is utterly gorgeous. The plot, the characters, the dialogue, the setting in the Riviera, all of it breathtaking perfection. The first time I read it, I could not put it down for two straight days. It was just that good. Bless you, Mr. Fitzgerald, wherever you are, for giving us this work of art.
Elizabeth_Anderson More than 1 year ago
While Fitzgerald proved his genius with The Great Gatsby, I might not so readily attribute that much to this somewhat autobiographical story about people mostly abroad in Europe. I found it hard to like the characters in the story, and things don’t all resolve substantially at once like in The Great Gatsby. The narrative style is what kept me reading this book to the end. Also, there are enough other characters who pop up in the story to keep things lukewarm interesting. A product I would recommend is Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. I believe the characters make sense in following through for what seems to be their rights.
Bookworm95AO More than 1 year ago
It's one of those books that is about nothing, yet about everything. A good read, and hard to put down.
basiaaa More than 1 year ago
I don't think I've ever read anything that was written quite like this novel. The language is exquisite, each sentence like a glorious shiny unique gem.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This romance novel is about multiple relationships mingling together. Rosemary first meets Dick Diver and instantly falls in love with him. The one problem is that Dick is married to Nicole. However, does Dick really love Nicole enough to stay with her, or is the beautiful Rosemary the one he loves? This novel is filled with interesting twists and turns on love. F. Scott Fitzgerald had a wonderful plot in this novel. He did an excellent job of showing his readers that money can lead to power, and all of that combined can destroy a wonderful person. This novel was wonderful, but the style in which he used was not my favorite. I have never read any of his other books and could not compare them, but if the style of his others were this horrible, then I would probably dislike them as I did this one. I did not like how he wrote the book in different time periods. He had his first book (the beginning) in present time, the second book (the middle) took place a few years before the first book, and then the third book (the end) took place a few years after the first. It was really hard to follow, but overall the story line was good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. The way everything was so detailed made it easier to visualize everything that was going on. Though you really had to be into it and paying attention or else you were completely lost. I also liked the short chapters, though they were packed with thrills and adventures. The French in the book would have been cool but I don't know any French so I hopped over it and continued reading and it never hindered my understanding of the book. What turned me on to this book was F. Scott's writing style, he is so photogenic in his writing style and telling of the setting make you feel like you are right there when tragedy sticks or when two characters fall in love. Also if you love the French country side or just like reading about it you will like this book. All in all I think if you like analyzing and doing some deep sea reading that you will love Tender is the Night. And tell your friends.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Tender is the Night' is a very good book. I like Fitzgerald's style of writing and I also like how it is set in the 1920's. All of his character's were well-built and upon reading the book I felt as if I personally knew each one. This book is one of my favorites of Fitzgerald's. The only thing that I didn't like about it were the French words because I don't speak French. The rest of the book, however, was very good and an excellent read for fans of Fitzgerald.
Anonymous 13 days ago
He padded up to sunset and slapped her face "I HATE YOUR GUTS!!" He screamed
Anonymous 14 days ago
Slowly snuck behind him, her eyes sharp.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a compelling story about a complex, toxic couple who can never seem to live each other or without. Not Fitzgerald's best work but still a classic and worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It keeps saying it does not exist on the server
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
deviant_obscenity More than 1 year ago
Such a sad story but I couldn't put it down once I started it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Catherine-E-Chapman More than 1 year ago
Hidden Depths I've been intending to read this book for a long time, having a memory of what was probably a 1980s BBC TV adaptation of it and having seen a play about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald on the Edinburgh Fringe in the '90s. Finally I got around to it... It's impossible for me to comment meaningfully on 'Tender is the Night' without giving away the plot. Obviously it's a very well-written, literary work but about half-way through I had issues with the respect in which the narrative feels very much like masculine self-indulgence, what with Rosemary's abiding obsession with Dick and the incest that we are informed to have been the root of Nicole's mental disturbance being glossed over so glibly. However, my feelings changed later on. I think the truly great human observation that Fitzgerald makes in this book is that when Dick & Rosemary's relationship is finally consummated, the mutual attraction is instantly killed off and the incident spells the beginning of the personal and professional demise of Dick. Furthermore, the facts that the novel ends with Nicole herself straying into an adulterous relationship and a final shift towards a focus on her feelings about her marriage to Dick and her own life and identity, redeemed the story from being one seemingly intended to bolster male egos. It's easy to lose sight of just how long ago 'Tender is the Night' was written because it tackles the question of the viability of monogamy in such a head-on, modern way. So I would recommend it, not only as a literary work of beauty that evokes the long-lost 'Jazz Age' but also and moreover as a book that examines the fundamental and perpetuating question of the nature of romantic love and the value we place upon it.