×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tending Roses
     

Tending Roses

4.6 49
by Lisa Wingate
 

See All Formats & Editions

While living in a remote Missouri farmhouse-and struggling to care for her husband, baby, and aging grandmother-Katie Benson finds inspiration in the pages of her grandmother's journal....

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tending Roses 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Donna1961 More than 1 year ago
"Tending Roses" is a book that makes you want to gather your family members and just hold them tight and make sure they know you love them. It makes me wish I had asked my grandmothers and grandfathers to tell me more about their life when they were young. It is a wonderful book that will make you laugh and make you cry. It is one of hope and faith and how it is not too late to find a simpler life by a little nudging from a grandmother and learning about her life.
DAL More than 1 year ago
I have read several of Lisa's books and have to say I have not been disappointed yet! I found one of Lisa's books at a used bookstore and thought it looked good. Now I own several in paperback and Nook books. For me these books have been "a little something to feel good about" in a world where a lot of times what we see and hear does just the opposite. If you think the story sounds like something youd enjoy, have a little faith and give them a try! ;)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't agree at all with the reviewer who didn't like this book. I didn't think the descriptions were syrupy, or lackluster, or that it read like it was written by a high school English student, and I'm a high school English TEACHER, so I'm a pretty good judge of that. Tending Roses was a well balanced, well written, realistic novel, and it was absolutely charming. The characters were real, the descriptions wonderful, and the story very touching. I read it through in one sitting, loved every minute of it, and didn't want it to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
There is some great wisdom in this story, however, there is also a lack of character development, sleepy writting and a predictable plot. For me, this is just an okay read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book that is a great reminder of what really matters. A good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very much worth the read. It really makes you think about what is important in life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dittoMY More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books of all time.
Vivi45 More than 1 year ago
A lesson in wisdom and age. Listen and appreciate your elders. They know more than you. Many people do not take heed to their elderly grandparents/parents. Read this book and decide For yourself. Loved this read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great read. Wisdom shared by an elderly grandmother in a unique yet comfortable manner for both individuals. Life at it's best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story is simple with several good lessons for young parents as well as families with aging members. I haven't enjoyed a book this much for a long time. A nice summer read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A tender and touching story that hooks you from the first page and lures you deep into the world of the easily forgotten... I guarantee you won't forget this one! It will have you looking at those around you in a different light! Excellent writing did this story justice! Thanks to Lisa Wingate for such a wonderful treat! (If you are into couples reading this one is great when read aloud! My husband thoroughly enjoyed it too!)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not only is Lisa Wingate¿s novel, Tending Roses, a beautifully written novel, but it also shares a gentle wisdom about families and relationships. I read this novel at a time in my life when I was making decisions about my own family: when to have my first child, whether or not to stay home with my children or to have a career (or both), how to care for aging grandparents, and reconciling strained parent and sibling relationships. By reading this novel, I became more aware that all families have struggles and go through trials and tribulations, and I felt reassured to see that Lisa Wingate, as many other women, have grappled with similar issues and successfully reconciled them. It warmed my heart, and I remind myself often to treat my family with love and respect because I recognize what an important part of my life they are. Enjoy this novel; I think that anyone who reads this will find something that they can relate to.