×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tennyson
     

Tennyson

4.7 27
by Lesley M. M. Blume
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Brilliant, unusual writing.”—Chicago Tribune

On the banks of the Mississippi River, Tennyson Fontaine and her sister, Hattie, play endless games of hide-and-seek and make up fantastical stories about the latest adventures of their wild dog, Jos. But when their mother doesn’t come home and their father sets off to find her, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tennyson 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best i read in years. The author really keeps you hooked and you dont want to put the book down. The characters personalities are so diverse that you just keep wanting to know what will happen with them. The mix of historical fiction and a mystery is an intersting move for the author but i think the mixter of the two makes the book intersing and fascinating all at the same time. It is a great book and if you havent read it you should.
Cougar_H More than 1 year ago
The book ¿Tennyson¿ made me curious in many ways. Just looking at the cover of the book I had so many ideas of what the book may be about. One of my first ideas was somebody turning up missing in a family or somebody dying in a family. Turns out that one of my predictions was right. The mom and wife of this family of four turned up missing just one random day and her family does not know why. This book also spoke to me in a way of telling me how depression on families can really turn lifestyles and attitudes around. This family already had barely any money and once the wife and mom of this family has gone missing the depression just increases and the family becomes desperately in need for help. The depression of this family eventually leads up to the two kids of this family living in a town called Aigredoux with their aunt Henrietta who becomes their care taker for a long period of time once their dad goes off to search for their mom. This book also inspired me to read more books with this type of story and to also be more interested in more books with a historical setting that this book provided. In summary I would recommend this book to anyone who has a great imagination or anyone who loves to imagine things. Cougar_H
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters in this book were Tennyson who is 11 years old with her young sister Hattie and parents Emery and Sadie. It took place in there old house called Innisfree and later to a place called Aigredoux. This book is about the mother Sadie runs away and Emery the father can not live with out her and goes to find her so the girls in up in a place named Aigredoux ,an old plantation this place was were Emery used to live as a child. The house takes Tennyson to the past were she finds out about he great ant Louvenia, the room she and Hattie stay in till there dad comes to get them, and how they lost there money. So Tennyson decide to write a story on the house. I loved it!!! You will read it and never forget how exciting it was. You will read it over and over again!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why are you guys basically chatting? It is rude to other people so you should quit it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I write to and i have a charicter name jak starkiller speises rare huryican powers able to lift crush and throw things with his mind able to choke someone with a crushing movement i hope you use him
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dude henry wazzup and weres jen10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well hello, if it isn't my friend Megumi who lives two houses down from mine. Jen 10... I should have realized earlier... it's you! *tackle-glomp* SO YOU WERE TELLING THE TRUTH ABOUT HAVING FANS YOU LUCKY DUCKIE... well I guess I've also become one of those deranged fangirls now xD so keep writing Megumi! And when you become rich and famous, don't forget about us little people! Meep out!! ~Your crazeh fangirl, Meep :3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My characters name is Maddie Ryder, 14 year old Gwen's magic intern. She is a freshman in high school and captain of her cheerleading squad. She has dark black hair that goes down to her waist (usually pulled back in a ponytail) and dark brown eyes. She specializes in life and water magic, but is being trained in other fields by Gwen. You guys could meet as you are driving down a highway and seeing her fight a monster with water from a nearby lake. Her spell of choice is Aqua Untdormio which helps her move water to her will. Thanks and I hope you will use Maddie in the future. =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whats so bad about that?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lot. -Henry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMAI OMAI GUYS IM SO SORRY ABOUT NOT UPDATING WHADDID I MISS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hope there is going to be another one of this book. I would like to read the 2nd book
VENTOAST More than 1 year ago
lol troll face derp derp good book:}
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sjitty
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an AMAZING book! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is always great no matter how much its read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome book best book I ever read this time i was write i jugde the book by it's cool cover andd it turned out great
Mackenzie Towers More than 1 year ago
Grat book it keeps u interested in wuts gonna happen next
veronica kenny More than 1 year ago
Only that it needs a different ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Island101 More than 1 year ago
This book is a tale of a poor family whos mom goes missing one night. Emery(the father) goes to find her and leaves Tennyson and her younger sister Hattie at his old home in Louisiana, Aigredoux. Their Aunt Henrietta tries to turn Tennyson into the person who keeps the family fortune by marrying rich. Throughout this adventure Tennyson communicates to her mom by writing to her through a magazine, which infuriates her mom, Sattie. Satie's mother has been a writer whos dream has been to publish. She has always been jealous of Tennyson's gift. While Tennyson is at Aigredoux, she dreams the past and finds out secrets of the mansion, including a secret room...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago