×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Testament
     

The Testament

3.7 19
by Eric Van Lustbader
 

See All Formats & Editions

The new international thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Bourne Legacy

Braverman Shaw—"Bravo" to his friends—always knew his father had secrets. But not until Dexter Shaw dies in a mysterious explosion does Bravo discover the enormity of his father's hidden life as a high-ranking member of the Order of Gnostic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Testament 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the entire book but didn't want to. Many times I wanted to close the book and sent it to the trash heap, but did want to see what the ending held in store. Poorly researched, such as the mention that the Arc de Triomphe celebrates DeGualle's achievements. The female character, Jenny, is so badly beaten up countless times that it is impossible to believe that she lasted til the end. I didn't like any of the characters. The constant written depiction of the slashing of throats was enough to make me want to vomit! Overall, I do not recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read several of Eric's books years ago and thought they were pretty good. Not sure if my taste has changed or his writing skills diminished, but this one was not very good. There's plenty of action and the descriptions of the exotic locations are great, but dialogue was dismal and pretty much ruined what could have been a good read.
Fighterjock More than 1 year ago
This effort was tedious and plodding at best. Beyond that, it was a theme tackled by other authors, and its mind-numbing detail and endless history lessons made this a very slow read. I think the author should leave this genre to Raymond Khoury, Steve Berry, and Dan Brown as he apparently was just jumping on the religious conspiracy bandwagon. In my opinion, he should stick to writing about Nicholas Linnear and Jason Bourne.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Dexter Shaw dies in an explosion that injures his son Bravo and his daughter Emma. When Bravo awakens and recovers somewhat, Jenny visits him to inform him she is his Guardian assigned by his father to watch over him as he seeks a secret cache of documents. Bravo is shocked to learn that his dad lived a double life as a member of the ruling cabal, the Order of Gnostic Observatines, an organization that has influenced world events for centuries.------------------ The group¿s enemy The Knights of St. Clement want that cache too because it contains something that will heal the dying Pope, enhancing their secret behind the scenes power in the shadows of the Vatican. Another item the group wants in the cache is the Testament of Jesus Christ that contains explosive information that could destroy Christianity if revealed. Bravo realizes a traitor amidst the order is providing information to the Knights. He trusts no one especially friends, family, or his guardian.--------------- Readers who enjoyed the Da Vinci Code and the Brethren will defiantly want to read THE TESTAMENT, a highly sophisticated fresh religious conspiracy thriller whose fast-paced storyline will leave the audience breathless. The protagonist is an interesting person who does not quite grasp how or why his father was involved like he was or why he puts his life on the line to keep the cache out of the hands of the wrong people. Still like a true hero he does what he believes is right and if nothing else has the audience rooting for him.-------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avidreaderdz More than 1 year ago
As long as Eric is writing, I will be reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Testament is Eric Van Lustbader strongest book yet which clearly indicates he¿s truly growing as a writer. I recommend this book not for its characters names, historical facts, brut slashings, but for its connected story and constant plot twits. Well done Eric.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I fell in love with EVL's earlier work before he took off on some unrelated projects. His Ninja series hooked me and turned me onto David Morrell and others in the thriller genre, with a religious slant theme. I love his authenticity and his innovation in the field. This man has the ability to write at many levels, only a few of which I am a fan of, but when he writes in those areas, I will happily buy the work. Well done Master Writer! Well done. Paul Swanson empoweredvolunteer.com
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unlike an earlier reviewer, I did not waste my time reading this awful book. I could not even get through the first 100 pages! Unbelievable characters in unbelievable scenes. As to the main character Braverman, or 'Bravo', what an awful name!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Km wssxc