×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

That Perfect Someone
  • Alternative view 1 of That Perfect Someone
  • Alternative view 2 of That Perfect Someone
  • Alternative view 3 of That Perfect Someone
<Previous >Next
     

That Perfect Someone

3.9 347
by Johanna Lindsey
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey sweeps readers away on a seductive adventure with the “wickedly witty, lusciously sensual” (Booklist) Malory family when a detested marriage contract turns childhood enemies into passionate lovers.

Nine years ago, Richard Allen fled England and his controlling father. Determined to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

That Perfect Someone 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 347 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When they were children, their fathers contracted for Richard Allen and Julia Miller to marry. However, almost a decade ago, Richard unable to deal with his martinet father fled the Earl and the marriage contract for the Caribbean. There he became Jean-Paul the French treasure hunting pirate. His betrothed Julia plans to end the contract that she believes will never be consummated by her fianc&#233;; not that she wants to wed the rogue. Richard sneaks back into England on business and meets married Georgina Malory (see Gentle Rogue). At a masked gala he outrageously flirts with Georgina, which angers her spouse James. To keep the raging Malory from skewering him, he impulsively kisses another beauty, Julia. She thinks she has found That Perfect Someone in the Frenchman while he marvels at how fickle he has become. When she learns who he is, she ends their relationship until he is captured and placed on a transport ship for criminals. Now she must rescue the man she loves who abandoned her nine years ago, but vows not to marry Richard as she insists she loves Jean-Paul. Although somewhat similar in tone to Gentle Rogue, That Perfect Someone is an exciting somewhat linked Malory family historical romance. The gender war between the lead couple once unmasked is a delight as each hates most the fact they don't hate one another but love one another; mindful of Julia Stiles as Kat reciting her sonnet in Ten Things I Hate About You (as Kat said: "How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways") to the Heath Ledger character Patrick. Fast-paced fans of the Malory brood loose connections will enjoy this fun battle of the sexes. Harriet Klausner
ILikeReading More than 1 year ago
The book is well written. Flows well, glad Ms. Lindsey toned down the bickering between James and Tony, but. The story line is OK, contract engagement since childhood, Richard rebels, blah, blah, blah. That's pretty much the story, blah. The characters were sort of boring, the plot was sort of boring and the final plan to save themselves from the marriage was, well just plain stupid. I've been disappointed in Johanna Lindsey's last few books; they're missing her usual flare. If you've read all the other 'Malory' books I would recommend reading this one to keep up on what's happening. If you're new to Lindsey and the whole Malory gang I don't think I would start with this one.
DonaMartin More than 1 year ago
What can a girl say? From Anthony to Derek and Regina to Georgina, this is a family that any reader wants to be a part of. These historical romances create escapes which Lindsey makes smooth and easy to follow. Each story makes you want to see who experience what next, and what role will the "elders" play? Who will stir the pot? Will Tony and James spar over something? All of Lindsey's books I recommend again and again to my friends when they need to relax. Her books are hot bubble baths with candles relaxing. I have read this author for nearly 20 years, have every book published and have read most of them several times. Her books are just that good. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished this in 2 days!! I never finish anything!! Now, that's saying something!!! I should add, when I bought this I wasn't aware that the Malory books have a long history and somewhat chronological order to them, and I was not aware that it's probably best to start somewhere in the beginning rather than near to the end of the long series of books, but with that said, at least this review is completely unbiased and not based on how I felt about any of the previous Malory books, whereas sometimes other reviewers REALLY like to compare and contrast this book to previous publications in the Malory lineup, which I think is totally unfair, because this is a GREAT story, with GREAT characters, and a PERFECT read!! If the Malory books that came before this are better, like some people like to say, then I CAN NOT WAIT to start reading them, because I do not know how they can get any better!!!! You won't be disappointed with this book, I guarantee it!! =)
Angillar Noble More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this latest Malory spin. I have always Johana again I read straight though.
Smilinheavy More than 1 year ago
It was a fun story to read -- The Malory's never disappoint. It was one of those books you don't put down and until your done. This one didn't leave you wanting more either as it finished up nicely!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't stop reading this and didn't care if I only got 3 hours sleep for work the next day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once I started reading, I literally could not put it down. It is always great to spend time catching up on the Mallory family and friends. Can't wait for the next one to come along.
Lady-Brazen More than 1 year ago
I am glad Ms. lindsey is still inspired to write about the Malory clan. This book is about two people detesting one another, yet having a strong sensual attraction. The element of the unexpected came at the end. I hope Ms. Lindsey continues to write more Malory series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a great deal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
relateable characters, funny, sweet storyline.
Romancefanatic More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy Johanna Lindsey's books particularly the Malory characters. Laughter, romance, excitement this book did not dissapoint. Well done...loved it!
Charmed47 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in ten hours. It was great. The characters were believable, connected, it felt very real. The plot was a new one and I have read alot of historical romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of Johanna Lindsey's book. This one was great. I had a hard time putting it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite in this series but still couldn't put it down!
ohiosu45 More than 1 year ago
Not as good as her other work. I was slightly disappointed and would hardly consider it part of the Malory series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago