×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The 500
     

The 500

2.9 30
by J.D. Hughes
 

THE 500 : Gemma wants revenge on her cheating boyfriend. She thinks she has found a perfect way. But revenge tends to be a two-edged sword.

A contemporary short story about guilt and redemption with a chilling finale.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The 500 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
RonWBausch More than 1 year ago
This is the third short I have read from J.D.Hughes and I have not been disappointed in any of them. This one is particularly harrowing if a little controversial. To be fair, it doesn't take sides in a difficult subject and presents the dilemma faced by Gemma in a realistic and well written way. I want toread a novel by this author, but there isn't one. Five*
Jez1 More than 1 year ago
Ive read another two of this author and I'm really surprised about the standard of writing. I always notice that new writers are patchy in their quality, but this guy has written three truly great short stories. I would pay for these!!! This one told me stuff I didnt know and was scary. I want to read a novel next but JD Hughes hasnt got one yet. One to watch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's fine that you're pro-life, but I don't appreciate being spoon fed your message in the guise of a haunting story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tell Tale Heart meets abortion as revenge. No thanks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are pro life (not that there is anything wrong with that), then you will enjoy it. I just think there could have been more of a story.
Santa_Mike More than 1 year ago
A quick short story written for the Right-to-Life group. Not very interesting, predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have no idea what some of these reviews are about. You would have to be stupid or illiterate not to understand what this book is about or to see it as anti abortion. It is a dark story but beautifully written and incredibly truthful. I know how truthful it is from a personal point of view. If you have any interest in a well crafted book written about tough subject, then read this. It will open your eyes. And to the person who said they would give it no stars, I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
32 pages. Basic plot guy cheats..girl aborts her planned pregnancy as revenge then is driven to crazyness due to guilt. Reads more like pre story then short. I guess main issue is you make main female charcter a monster..but kinda gloss over the male part. U made every action she did so hateable but still got a sense u wanted her to be liked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
talk about a descent into madness!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one will stay with me for a long while, creeping up in quiet moments. Glad I was never faced with a decision like that, thank God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was horrific, but I know it's true. The writing was very good. I feel for the woman in the story and the dilemma. Don't think it's anti anything, just true and I suppose some people don't like that. Don't read it if your squeamish!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overt anti-abortion crapfest. I'm not against a good story no matter what your views, but at least make it worth reading. I can do without having someone's agenda fed to me raw and underseasoned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The woman's mind is fractured into a type of guilt ridden madness after aborting a baby as revenge against her boyfriend. It is a little out there, but written and told in a style to deliver the story and not to preach or horrify.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every woman who wants to go for an abortion aught to read this first
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Abortion is very sad. I would not like being in that spot for a million dollars. A wonderful author. Thanks for the free read. J........ :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stirs thought & emotion
Arrat More than 1 year ago
It was an okay short story. Quick easy read, was well written, the subject didn't appeal to me. Spoiler: This is a story about abortion, its sad but some women do have abortions to get back at the boyfriends & then have to face their emotions. I do feel this book is anti-abortion, but I do feel that it touches on emotions that women can bury instead of facing. I found the book to be a well written thoughtful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad but very well witten.bravo