×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The 500: A Novel
     

The 500: A Novel

4.2 28
by Matthew Quirk
 

See All Formats & Editions

A gripping thriller debut, set deep in the heart of the world's most powerful political arena

A year ago, fresh out of Harvard Law School, Mike Ford landed his dream job at the Davies Group, Washington's most powerful consulting firm. Now, he's staring down the barrel of a gun, pursued by two of the world's most dangerous men. To get out, he'll have to do

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The 500: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
KevinR1 More than 1 year ago
The 500 is everything you’d hope for in a fast-paced summer thriller: a gripping, tightly-plotted story that twists in one direction and then another, spinning as smoothly as the wheels on a Sargent and Greenleaf safe, and then falls into place with a satisfying click. Well after you’ve closed the book -- and your breathing has returned to normal -- you’ll find the street-wise, staccato narration of Michael Ford still running in your head. The first-person delivery of this Harvard-educated son of an ex-con is filled with hilarious meta-commentary that make you feel in the presence of the ultimate dinner-party guest. He’ll also occasionally drop out of the story to fill you in on some of the fascinating details about the tools of the trade for spies and spooks. Want to learn how to steal a late-model Audi, crack a safe from the inside, bypass the password protection on an iPhone? Or just hear a great story from someone who does? Then definitely put this on your list.
CoCo77 More than 1 year ago
The 500 is a page turner! I couldn't put the book down! Best thriller I have read in a long time. A must read!
frustrated_detective More than 1 year ago
If you like action books In which the little guy with almost no advantages beats the bad guys who hold almost all the cards, but only after a long, hard, tension filled battle, this is the book for you. Along the way you'll learn lots of tricks about how to defeat locks, steal cars, get out of handcuffs, and other useful skills to know in a pinch. Great beach read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Saw the ad on the train now I dont see anything on the train because I cant put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read this year. Very enjoyable. Thanks!
Noland100 More than 1 year ago
Fun,exciting with lots of surprises
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Similar to the firm but embraces the similarities and sets itself apart as a unique new story. Cant wait for quirk twrite another book-couldnt put this one down!
Katim More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book! It is obvious that the author knows the ins and outs of Washington politics and creates a web of suspense and intrique around it in his new novel. Quirk has created a main character who is charismatic, easy to relate to, and has a great sense of humor. The 500 is a page turner that will keep you rooting for Mike Ford all the way. I highly suggest you put this book on your "must read" list for the summer. You won't be disappointed! Most definitely gets five stars from this reader!
oxi More than 1 year ago
So I knew I was inextricably entangled in Matthew Quirk's web of suspense that is The 500, when I looked up from the book momentarily to discover it had gotten dark! Quirk's virgin novel is a plot and character-driven page-turner. Our protagonist, Mike Ford, is the perfect combination of wit, will, and woes never-ending. The reader at once cheers him on as he overcomes obstacles of birth, yet admonishes him for reckless decisions he can't help but make throughout the novel. The 500 is a riveting thriller and a great summer read...one warning: don't start something you can't finish before you pick up this novel...the task simply won't get done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very fast-paced novel that does a great job in allowing the reader to feel included in the joy ride. From the very beginning I was curious about what was to come next. Great writing. Great story. Great execution. I am greatly looking forward to the upcoming movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly enjoyable read--fast paced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast pace, holds your interest, never sure what's next. This was one of the most exciting books I have read. One must pay attention to keep up with the story. Cannot wait for the next Mike Ford novel.
BukLuvr415 More than 1 year ago
The 500 kept me hooked from the very beginning. It does a great job with character development and gets you right into the meat of the story. The author doesn't spend half the book giving you useless details that some like to do. He tells you what you need to know and gets you right into the action. This if the first Matthew Quirk book I have read. I really enjoyed his writing style and look forward to reading more of his books. If you like stories that are gripping page-turners, this one is for you.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
The 500 is a nicely done tale of power and intrigue, set in Washington, D.C. A young man, not entirely innocent himself in the ways of the world, discovers that he has been employed by some super influential Washington insiders who are willing to go quite far beyond the boundaries to keep their influence. So begins the tale of good and evil. The problem I had is that the story has been told before. Basically author Mathew Quirk gives it a new setting and some new twists, but I think we all know how it turns out from the beginning.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
The pre-publication promotions for this book were so good that readers were unable to get copies unless they knew somebody. The novel was advertised as being the most exciting “Debut Novel” to come down the pike for a long time. Does it deliver? There's no doubt that readers will be hooked after the very first page. This novel opens up in Washington, DC at a very respected consulting firm, “The Davies Group,” where Mike Ford, a recent graduate of Harvard Law School, has secured a dream job. The 500 in the title refers to the 500 most prominent people (men and women) in the nation’s capitol who run things. The author is good at telling readers about the ins and outs of Washington society with a lot of great imagination and maybe a bit of truth thrown in for good measure. Mike Ford is a hard worker and works just as hard at fitting in with his richer than Midas classmates as he does at learning his profession. The Davies Group is paid for by corporations and special interest groups to influence the 500 who are the people who run Washington behind the scenes. Mike is anxious to please Mr. Davies and goes into his job with a vengeance and, sadly the job that Mike is hired to do turns into a corrupt power play with powerful people behind it. This novel is a very well-written story that brings together intrigue and action. It’s a first class debut that does remind this reader of John Grisham’s The Firm. However, it’s not exactly the same. As a matter of fact, in some places it’s a better read than The Firm. Maybe it’s because it takes place in the seat of power and it’s an election year. Quill Says: The story is action-packed, fast-paced and a page turner. It’s clever and with many tales of Washington insiders. Chances are you won't be able to put it down until the very last page is read.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out full review at Kritters Ramblings A political thriller that will take you inside the workings of Washington, D.C., the reader questions where the truth and fiction begin and end. The book starts in the future for a chapter and the reader is taken into the past to explain the story that must take place to get the characters in that place. Mike Ford the main character has had a sketchy past, but ends up in a job where his checkered past can be put to good use.
Icecream18JA More than 1 year ago
Mike Ford’s dad is in prison, his mom has died, his brother is in and out of jail, and he is ready to graduate from Harvard Law School but with a ton of debt from his mother’s illness and for his Harvard tuition. He can’t believe it when Davies Group hires him – giving him a large salary, a great apartment, and a secretary who takes care of everything for him. He has also fallen for Annie Clark, an associate at Davies. He has everything until he learns the degree to which the Davies Group will go in order to control The 500, the most influential, elite people in D.C. Using the criminal skills that he acquired from watching his dad, he attempts to discover …and then escape political, murderous intrigue. As Ford is drawn into the “barely legal” practices at Davies, I cringed. You know that he should get out now. Another associate with great political ties in Washington warns him, but Ford is too tempted by his success to leave. Pulled in two directions – because he does seem to have a functioning moral compass, I hated to see him get much too curious about the project that could get him, his dad, and his girlfriend killed. The money and tactics of the Davies Group made me wince. How much of this actually goes on? It’s depressing. The “honor among thieves” creed of his dad made me feel better about the world. Difficult to put down, the book would probably hook the guys in our house too. Four Stars
joaninoregon More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book in 24 hours. Absolutely excellent. Keep them coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was pretty good but the action took too long to get going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because of the comparisons to John Grisham. The only thing they have in common is that it is about a young lawyer who is hired by a shady law firm. Matt Quirk needs a course in character development. While reading the book I felt I really didn't care what happened to the main character. His relationship with his family never developed into anything and his girlfriend seemed so bland. Even in Grisham's least focused books, he develops the characters enough to make you want to know what happens to them and remember them. I heard they are making this book into a movie. I advise you wait for the movie to come out because, in this case, the movie will be better than the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago