×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Aeneid
     

The Aeneid

4.3 208
by Virgil
 

See All Formats & Editions

Follow Aeneid as he flees a burning Troy with his family and sets out on a dangerous journey to found what will one day become The Roman Empire. Thrill with him as he gets caught up in conflicts between the gods, all the while striving to complete his own grand destiny. Virgil intended this book to be a sequel to the Iliad and the Odyssey, and as such it takes up with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Aeneid 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 208 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am rereading this edition after a lapse of 20 years since my first reading as a student of literature in college. I picked it up again out of curiosity, and found myself enthralled after a couple of pages. I didn't think I would want to keep this book, but it deserves a permanent place in my library. If you have any curiosity at all about The Aeneid, try this translation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't quite understand this when I read it at 10 years old, but then I read it again at 14, and since then I've asked all of my friends to read it. Now I'm reading this great adventure to my kids, and they love every sentence. Read this, and the Odyssey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good translation, not as good as some I've read. Wish it had reference numbers.
Log-IC More than 1 year ago
A translation on par with the best of Fagles and Kaufmann's works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A classic in the utmost form of the Greek warriors who began Rome and the Roman Empire.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fitzgerald's translation captures what Virgil's vision must have been. Aeneas possesses all the qualities of a true hero. I wept when I read the king's prayer as his son left for battle with Aeneas. The love felt for this son was one of the most beautiful passages I've ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Aeneid by Virgil was excellently translated by Fitzgerald in this classic epic/adventure. I am a Latin student, and I have read the Latin version and Fitzgerald did an excellent job with this. If you like Latin/Roman culture, this is a MUST read. Its a classic, and one of the best books ever written. I don't think there has ever been another legendary epic as good as this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fitzgerald's translation of The Aeneid is considered by experts to be the best English version of Virgil's timeless epic. This is a must read for ambitious students and literature buffs. Were it not for good, dependable translations of classical works, the modern reader who knows no Latin could not explore the ideas of antiquity through the writings of its participants.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Ooh i will cried the quick slender tom
Anonymous 5 months ago
Pads in with a chicken in its mouth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She padded in sniffing the air
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Umm.... hey.....? Im kinda new here..... mind showing me around?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The names are really hard to come up with. Like he one i have now so jold on a day or two for those
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It let out a hoarse, forced mew before collasping from exhaustion. It's bloodied paws seemed oversized for it's body, it's grey fur matted and dirtied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will talk to ya and for when you rank up i got some good names for you to use or try. No one talks to me either. I have been in this clan for like two or three years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yawned
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you bad?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"May i join?", she asked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A brown cat with green eyes and falcon wings padded in. He had a scar around his neck, and was wearing a pendant with a lightning bolt on it. He had a star on his cheek, representing the life that Seastar gave him, which had ressurected him from death. A tear slipped down his cheek. He recognized no one. "You!" He mews to the nearest cat. "Please tell me where Aslanstar is! Is she alive? I need to find my mother right away!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What happened? Sorry for being inactive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sunstreak and Brownface sat huddled together, their heads down. Sunstreak seemed unharmed other than some singed fur, and a rattling cough shook him once in a while. Brownface's ear had an ugly red welt. Sparrowwing was nowhere to be found.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*bounds into the group looking around frantically*"has anyone seen yui? I cant find her!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He limps in coughing and vomiting he collapses.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Padded into the shelter as she ran into bundle of wouned cat "May i help you?" She asks looking at the desprete cats
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in.