×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Aftermath
     

The Aftermath

3.8 17
by Rhidian Brook
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set in post-war Germany, the international bestseller The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook is a stunning emotional thriller about our fiercest loyalties and our deepest desires. In the bitter winter of 1946, Rachael Morgan arrives with her only remaining son Edmund in the ruins of Hamburg. Here she is reunited with her husband Lewis, a British colonel charged with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Aftermath 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realky liked this book. It caused me to think about and do some research on a different perspective of WWII. Great characters and realistic emotions. This author has some beautiful imagery about a very ugly time in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. Built on character development instead of action, I found myself completely emerged in this book. Each character's story is told with open ended possibilities which had me thinking about this book and rereading it. I would recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stunning. My favourite book of 2013. A classic in the making.  Have been telling anyone and everyone to read this beautiful and brilliant novel. 
meac More than 1 year ago
The Aftermath is set in 1945 Hamburg, Germany during the early months of the British occupation. As Americans, we were taught in history class how the Allies were heroes who rebuilt Germany. This story doesn't dispute that, but it does illustrate what it was like to live in Germany in those early days after the war and how both the Germans and the Allies (in this case, the British) dealt with hardship and an uncertain future. The prose is beautiful and the characters are well developed and deserve our empathy.
Beachi206 More than 1 year ago
Anyone with an interest in WW II history, this gem of a book vividly creates 1946 Germany and the aftermath of this worst war the world have ever seen. The setting is fascinating and the characters' story arcs pull the reader in. I would call this a page turner although it is not a thriller or a mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well-named this book elegantly tells the story of two small families (one English and the other German) in Hamburg a year after the war ends as the Allies set about rebuilding Germany so history doesn't repeat itself. Each family needs repaired as well and how they ultimately help each other makes for a touching and satisfying read. Interesting plot twists. Highly recommend.
impressed48 13 days ago
The book was ok, but the writing was very pretentious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I knew that Hamburg was a mess after the war, but this novel points out the ineptitude of the British occupation forces. They were, for the most part, very stuffy and really not interested in rehabilitating the German people who were starving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book! Cannot stop thinking about the different characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mbd96 More than 1 year ago
This book was disappointing. I learned a bit about the Allied Occupation of Germany post-WWII, but otherwise the book was not worth reading: predictable story line, pedestrian dialogue and writing, undeveloped characters. A lot could have been done with the premise of this novel, but it would need a better writer than this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate this book so much + $$$$$$$$$