×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
     

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion

4.6 147
by Fannie Flagg
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

The one and only Fannie Flagg, beloved author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, and I Still Dream About You, is at her hilarious and superb

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 147 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Ms. Flagg's books and this is the very best!!! As usual such wonder characters, just the right touch of humor and part of our history that is way over due for recognition. Thank you for such a wonderful read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very clever and funny novel!!!! Highly recommended. Loved the characters and plot, but really really loved the history of the WASPS during World War II. Another great novel set during World War II is "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. This book is based on facts and has great male and female characters. Both books deserve A+++++
reeter More than 1 year ago
As usual, loved it. Ms. Flagg is a master painter, you can just see it in your mind.
Ilovemister More than 1 year ago
Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again, a very entertaining book, but not one of Fannie Flagg's best. The development of the characters was weak. I did like the way she incorporated history with the book, but it was not very convincing. I wish I could have liked this book more, since I have read all her other works.
BookLoverDK More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book; however, I was a little disappointed that the main part of the story was about a modern-day character. I wanted to read more about the All-Girl Filling Station in the 40s. Fannie Flagg is an entertaining writer, though, so if you are in the mood for an interesting book about life for women, particularly women pilots leading up to and during the 2nd World War, you will enjoy this book.
mara13JC More than 1 year ago
I love all Fannie Flaggs books and I think this was one of her best. When the boys in town are all drafted and gone, the girls take over their Dad's gas station. With no experience but a lot of heart and guts they jump right in. The characters are all different and you feel like you know them all. There are many heart warming parts and many, many funny parts. I would highly recommend this book to all ages.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
I truly love Flagg's down home humor, but this novel lacked the zany atmosphere. The story centers on Sookie or Sarah Jane, who just learns that she was adopted and is really 60 instead of 59. The story line has merits, but the action deviates too much from the theme. Sookie undergoes many adventures in her path of coming to terms with the adoption. Sookie's four grown children have the silliest names, especially the 3 girls. Lenore, Sookie's adoptive mother, is the stereotypical Southern mother with her determination and controlling. So many of the characters seem to parallel the characters of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. Idgie and Fritzti seem to be the same character, and both possess that mothering instinct to aid Ruth and Sookie in growing. The language seems less Southern in this novel, as the setting could be anywhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope they make amovie out of this book! It is every bit as wonderful as all of her other books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was disappointed in her last book (I Still Think About You), but this is back to the Fannie Flagg writing style and heartwarming storytelling I loved about most of her previous books. Like the other books, didn't want it to end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fanny Flagg never disappoints. The All Girls Filling Station Reunion has heart and soul along with memorable characters.
Lally11 More than 1 year ago
As always, Fannie Flagg tells a great story. It is a fun, quick and easy read. I enjoyed the story and how she wove the story of the WASP's into it. She certainly did her research on that forgotten page in WWII history. This is a fabulous book about the Greatest Generation. Although it is fiction, you will be able to imagine what it was like for the women that helped our country during 1941-1945. We read this for my book club. It is not necessarily a book club book. All the characters are likeable and not much happens that will surprise you. However, learning and researching about the WASP's did create much discussion, because of the way they were treated and ignored for decades.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read as always from this author...since I'm of the older generation could relate to the inclusion of the way of life at the start and during WWII. As always, enjoyed thoroughly, will be waiting for the next publication of this authors work.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by Fannie Flagg and it was a hoot! I purchased the audio version as was read by the author and full of southern wit and charm. The accent was right on, with lots of history, as she seamlessly joined the World War II era with the present. Very interesting as so love this time and era. Would love to see a movie based on the novel. Full of crazy characters, including her nutty mother Lenore set in Alabama. When Sookie receives a letter in the mail she finds out she is not the person she thought, and begins to uncover her past and secrets. In the meantime, she makes discoveries about herself as she travels to learn about her past. I look forward to reading more by this author as she is an excellent storyteller. (Highly recommend the audio version)!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi
Mrstwocats More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and easy to read. It has information about female pilots during WWII that I had never heard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In my opinion this is Ms. Flagg's best. Loved the characters and the story. Didn't know the women existed who were the inspiration for the book. A history lesson wrapped up in superb fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fannie Flagg is one of those fantastic authors whose tales are enchanting. She knows how to write twists and turns that hook a reader and keep them hooked right up to the last page. In this adventurous and fun filled novel, I almost thought I could be Sookie's sister. I love watching birds gathering around my birdfeeder. I always put sunflower seeds in my feeders, especially for the cardinals that are so brilliantly colored. But, it always seems the first birds to show up are the blue jays that scare off all the small birds and the red birds. No matter how many times I go out and shoo the blue jays away -they waste no time in coming back. In my mind's eye, I can see Sookie running around putting wild birdseed in one feeder and sunflower seeds in the other, since I often do the same thing. There is so much more to this novel than the adventure or the charming amusement about birds. The all girls filling station reminds me of the all girls softball teams, and reading this author's work is like living each moment with her. I personally adore Fannie Flagg's writing (as do so many others). She always puts a lot of humor, as well as happy and unhappy times, combining that with human affairs, and I think she gives us the opportunity to examine our own thoughts and feelings in a very pleasant way.  Jeannie Walker (Award-Winning Author) 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved, loved this book. It was a laugh out loud read. In fact I ordered Fannie Flagg's other books. She is now one my favorite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book, having read most of this author's other great selections.  This is by far exceptional and I plan on reading it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
worth the time to read
rj39 More than 1 year ago
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion was my first Fannie Flagg read, and was I delighted!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Wonderful story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fannie writes in a way that endears her characters to you - another delightful story that flows like honey, sweet in every bite!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual, Fannie Flagg has created characters who seem so familiar to us, we are sad to see The book end. It is a totally delightful book, and I would recommend it to anyone. I think males or females would enjoy this book!