×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Apollo Academy
     

The Apollo Academy

4.6 12
by Kimberly P. Chase
 

Take off with this dynamic, thrillseeking, sexy New Adult science fiction series debut. Welcome to the exclusive Apollo Academy, where Aurora is about to discover that achieving her dream is only the first step towards her future. 
 
As the heiress to Titon Technologies, eighteen-year-old Aurora Titon can have whatever she wants —

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Apollo Academy 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Apollo Academy is a fast-paced NA that's both sexy and smart. I couldn't stop reading the story of Aurora Titon, heiress to a "tech candy" corporation and pilot-in-training. Set in a not-so-distant future where we have to travel to space to harvest natural resources because Earth is dead, Aurora Titon wants nothing more than to leave the ground behind and be a pilot. She trains with the best of the best, The Apollo Academy, where the day to day of (thrilling) classes is intermixed with romance and mystery. I was in love with the story from page one. First, the geek in me loved all the pilot/astronaut references. And the nerd in me LOVED LOVED LOVED the world-building. Tech candy that shows you beauty so you can escape the ugly in front of you...sneakers that flash....self-driving hover cars! What Chase did so brilliantly is create a world that feels like it's just a week away from where we are now (Google cars, anyone?) but that also feels like a world all its own. She wove the details of Aurora's world into the story so seamlessly that it's easy to forget you've never actually seen blinking luggage tags and the like. The romantic in me adored the hot-then-cold running relationship between Aurora and Zane, who, like Aurora, wants nothing more than to leave his old life behind - but for much different reasons. Throw in a tough, alpha-male type flight instructor who seems determined to make Aurora's training hell on earth, and oh, goodness, the steaminess! I especially appreciated that Aurora was not a "damsel" type. She's a kick butt girl who trains hard and works hard - in cute shoes. Chase's portrayal of a young woman on her own for the first time felt very real. Aurora is both girly and adult, strong and soft. The Agatha Christie in me loved the mystery. Who's behind the attacks, and WHY? I loved figuring this out alongside Aurora and her friends. All in all, a stellar first book in what's sure to be an exceptional series. Book one ties up the ends it needs to so the reader is satisfied, but leaves enough of the plots open for the next book. I can't wait to find out what happens next. Don't miss this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible! It features a heroine who's determined to reach the stars, a hero with secrets, a sexy flight instructor, and danger at every turn. This is one NA Sci-Fi that you should definitely check out! The world building in this book is outstanding. From the first page, I was fully immersed in the futuristic world that Chase created. The technology, the society itself, I loved it all! I felt Aurora's determination to break out from her wealthy father's shadow and achieve her dreams on her own. I rooted for Zane as he struggled to fit in at The Academy and uncover the secrets about is own past. And the chemistry between the two of them is off the charts! The Apollo Academy is a must read for lovers of science fiction, New Adult, or just plain romance. I zipped through this book in no time and I sincerely hope the sequel will be available soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE APOLLO ACADEMY by Kimberly P. Chase is a fast pace NA ScFi novel with a fresh concept, a slew of characters worth falling for, and a futuristic world easy to get lost in.Told in alternating points of view readers get to live through a cast of incredibly distinct and three-dimensional characters, each of which is swoon-worthy. The main character Aurora Titon is a badass female pilot with a good heart and plenty of ambition. She goes after her dreams with no excuses and doesn't even let attempts on her life get in her way. She's the kind of girl I'd want to be friends with and a character that is easy to look up to. Secondary characters Zane and Sky are both beyond sexy and yet completely different. Each has a closet full of problems and an eye for Aurora and Chase intertwines the three's stories effortlessly into the plot, creating an intriguing keep-you-guessing until the end story. Chase's talent for world building is evident within the first pages of the novel. She submerges you into a futuristic setting that is flush with fascinating (and at times frightening) technology, cutting edge fashion, and surroundings so visual in description they jump off the page. I was immediately sucked into Aurora's world and found myself flipping through the pages furiously to find out what happens next. This is a great read for anyone who loves strong female characters, action packed and high stakes scenes, super-hot men in flight suits, and a story with discovery and survival for more than one character. Did I mention all the sexy pilots? I call this a must read and I'm anxiously awaiting the next installment!
terferj More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars I really didn't know what to expect when I started reading; I picked it up because I was trying to get through my tbr pile and this month is my space like books. It’s not really spacey, it’s the prepping of becoming an astronaut so it counts to me. I ended up really liking this. It was well written and the knowledge of the space program is spot on. I like this was set as our earth but many years down the road and everything is different. If you think about it, our planet could very well end up like this story if things keep going as they are. I liked the main and side characters. Aurora was a little ball of awesomeness. Zane and Sky are the smart hot males. I love love triangles that are written well and this one was. I really like the moments they had together. I liked that even though this is a NA book, it’s not about sex. Yay! I also liked that this book didn't focus everything on the romance. The story was about the training to become astronauts and them figuring out who has it in for Aurora. I can’t wait until the next book comes out to get more of the story. ♥
Readergirl_Revus More than 1 year ago
I really, really liked this story.  It was so much different than similar stories I've read before.  It wasn't set in space, at least not yet anyway, but was set at an academy on Earth where young people prepare for lives as astronauts.  I loved the fact that Aurora is one of the first females to train as a pilot at the academy.  And the fact that she's her father's daughter presents even more unique problems for her. I loved Aurora as a character.  She is determined, not just to prove herself as a pilot at the academy and to actually become a pilot, but also to rise above the stigma of being the heiress to Titon Technologies.  This is a stigma, because people think she bought her way into the academy, and so they don't take her or her talent seriously.  She's determined to overcome that and to show her own worth.  I loved all the flying that takes place in the story, and her dedication to becoming a great pilot. As far as the two guys are concerned, I definitely have a special place in my heart for one over the other, but I have a feeling I know which one she'll end up with and it's not the one I would pick.  It's not that I dislike the other one... I just happen to find one more interesting and sexy than the other, and I think he's got ever so many more sparks with Aurora. I loved Zane because of what he's had to overcome, and his determination to continue to go even further.  Then I also love Sky because he's got that cocky, sexy, badass pilot thing going for him.  Maybe it's because he's older and her teacher also, but I loved him.  The only negative for me was that the bad guy(s) were a little obvious to me.  I didn't really have to wonder very much about this at all.  But the story was still exciting, action-packed, and interesting.  I am really looking forward to the second installment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story quite a bit and I look forward to reading more in this series. The author did a pretty good job of making both of the love interests appealing which is always a plus when there's a triangle!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not a huge SciFi reader, but I took a chance on this novel because the cover and trailer were so well done. And let me tell you, so is the writing, world-building, romance, and character development. I totally agree with the blurb, I am obsessed with this book! Seriously can't wait for the next installment. Maybe I am a sci-fi geek after all!
Heather_Anne11 More than 1 year ago
I am still fairly new to science fiction books and have had my fair share of experiencing ones I didn’t enjoy, but with The Apollo Academy, that wasn’t the case. I enjoyed the overall story line of the book and the main character, Aurora Titon. I thought it was well written and it certainly kept my interest the entire time I was reading. And Zane, man! He is such a mystery and there is so much about him that is unknown, literally. But then there is Sky, who is a bad boy and someone who has a bit of an attitude. You can’t help but be drawn to him though. I found myself torn between Zane and Sky and I am sure other readers will as well.  The Apollo Academy was an intriguing read and one that I found to be relatable on some levels and also expand my thinking in others. I will certainly be ready to read the second book when it comes out because that ending…..well, you’ll just have to read to find out.   You’ll find yourself enjoying every minute of this book and appreciating the visual imagery that is both realistic and complex in it’s own way.  On major thing that really stuck out to me was the main character, Aurora’s, passion for flying. I just love when a character is passionate about something and the reader is able to feel it and experience that passion. It just makes a book that much more enjoyable. 
Danielle_C_Smiley More than 1 year ago
Wow!  What an incredible ride!  I adore The Apollo Academy!!!  First, there's an inventive setting.  This future world is both complex and realistic.  I love the creativity that goes into this type of setting; Chase mixes in the right amount of futuristic gadgets without slowing down the story line while really bringing this world to life.   Within this world, Chase places completely fabulous characters.  Aurora's a very likable character that readers will connect with immediately.  There's a nice, subtle character growth that happens within her as the story unfolds.  I very much like both Zane and Sky; usually I'm quickly Team Bad Boy, but it's really quite hard to choose in this case.  Great chemistry abounds throughout this book!  My only complaint about the book, however, is that said chemistry goes from first kiss to hot 'n' heavy make-out session way too quick.  On top of all this gooey goodness, a great mystery is woven into this multidimensional story which keeps you guessing to nearly the end.  And with the set up for future books leaving me drooling, all that is left to say is: write faster, Kimberly Chase, please, please, please, with sugar on top, please!!!   I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  See more of my reviews on my blogspot blog, Known to Read.
jenababy13 More than 1 year ago
Let me just start off by saying that I absolutely, completely LOVED this book. I don't exactly remember how I got involved in this book tour, but I'm one of those bloggers who actually reads and looks at every offer I get. I take chances on indie books and books from non-huge publishers and I am SO glad I took a chance on The Apollo Academy. The Apollo Academy is everything a new adult book should be. It's thrilling, filled with drama, and completely sci-fi-tastic! Oh, and don't forget the romance... there's plenty of that too. Aurora Titon is famous. She's Collin Titon's daughter, which means she's the hieress to the famous Titon Technologies. Everyone knows her face, but Aurora could care less. She doesn't want the attention or the fame or the company. All she wants to do fly and get into the Apollo Academy. Aurora gets her dream come true and her best friend Kaylana, plus two sexy guys, Zane and Sky are by her side every step of the way. Quickly after she arrives, the academy starts to deal with issues that Aurora could have never imagined. Everyone has secrets and unfortunately Aurora is in the middle of it all and she'll have to figure it out fast or it could mean her life. Let me first start off by saying that this book switches view points which I absolutely love in a book. At first it starts out with just Aurora and Zane, but then Kimberly Chase throws in Sky's POV as well and I was like heck yeah! The writing was very well done, and I loved every twist and turn. I really liked Aurora as a main character as well. She definitely grows throughout the book into a stronger person and I love seeing that. I also loved how Kimberly P. Chase mixed new adult in with romance, drama, and a good sci-fi. Looking at all the futuristic technology and flying aspect was definitely awesome. So lets get to the part everyone wants to hear about... the fellas. You know a book is always that good when you can't pick one boy over the other. Lets start off with Zane. Zane is nineteen and an unknown, which means technically he doesn't have an identity and unknowns normally are not good people. Zane is a tech-wiz though. He's super smart and with his ink black hair and gray eyes... super sexy as well. Zane fights hard to get into the academy to finally fight for a life he deserves. I loved this boy as soon as I met him! Than, on the other side is Sky. Sky is the academy's twenty-two year old star pilot and he's been selected to help train the new cadets. At first Sky comes off as the cocky jerk off, and he definitely has it out for Aurora. Sky has the build, blonde hair blue eyes all-american thing going on for him. I admit first, I was like okay this guy is a jerk but I knew there had to be a reason and as the book went on, I ended up falling for him too. In the beginning of The Apollo Academy, I was all team Zane but then as I got farther in I started to lean towards Sky and then back at the end I just couldn't choose again. As of right now, I absolutely ADORE both boys. I personally think Aurora belong with Zane, but for me I'm currently leaning towards Team Sky. Both boys sacrifice and do a lot for Aurora and you cannot help but love them both. It's funny, because you really can't judge a book by it's publisher, cover, or even synopsis because I was so absolutely impressed with The Apollo Academy. I read the synopsis to this book and it interested me, but I never thought that I would get so captivated and caught up in it as I did... then again, I am definitely a sic-fi, new adult type of girl. But, I absolutely loved this book. It's definitely made it's way onto my favorites lists and I cannot wait for book two which is hopefully releasing early next year. If you think this book sounds interesting at all, I say definitely take a chance on it because I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meet Aurora Titan: heiress to mega-corporation Titan industries and a favorite target of the paparazzi. But no worries, Aurora isn’t a Paris Hilton. This girl is smart, a bit nerdy (love that), independent, and beautiful. She is so much more than her namesake. In fact, she works harder than anyone else to prove her name isn’t what got her into the Apollo Academy in the first place. Did I mention she is also the first female cadet pilot? I so want to be Aurora. Meet Zane: He’s hot, sexy, a total tech-geek and an unknown. What’s an unknown you ask? Well in the future, it’s someone with no record. They basically don’t exist. For the complete opposite reason than Aurora, Zane also had to work ten times harder than anyone to gain acceptance in to the Apollo Academy. Graduation means he will finally “exist” again. There is a great list of supporting characters including sexy instructor Sky, hilarious BFF to Aurora—Kaylana, shotgun to Zane—Akemi, and even the aggravating mean-girl—Hailen.  It’s like the grown-up version of Space Camp (awesome 80s movie…I think that’s the right decade). The book opens with Aurora and Kaylana enjoying a last night out before the Academy at a hot night club. Aurora lets loose a bit and finds herself in the arms of a sexy guy. She’s ready to lock lips with him, but he disappears before she gets the chance. Imagine her surprise when the next time she sees him is at orientation. Awkward, but really cute. The two have great chemistry. Zane tries to stay away, after all he’s an unknown and she’s an heiress, but he’s won over by Aurora. So when Aurora keeps finding herself in live-threatening situations, Zane is determined to get to the truth.  The suspect list is long, from corporate rivals to future “environmentalists,” and each one has a strong motive. It will take a lot of trust and some cool technology to get to the truth. There are so many twists in the story and each character plays a role that you don’t expect. I don’t want to give away spoilers, but discovering Zane’s personal mystery and how it ties into everything was surprising. I want to know more about him, Sky, and all of the characters.  I’ve been dying for a good college-age series and this is it. There’s romance, hunky guys (still not sure if I’m TeamZane or TeamSky), cool technology, and hello? Astronauts! The Apollo Academy is a great introduction for what I know will be an exciting and slightly nerdy series. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the sample and was like 'no don't end'. Then I clicked buy now and now 'I'm like 'YAY!!!!!!!!!' From-Tony Valencia