×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Art of War
     

The Art of War

4.1 16
by NICCOLÒ MACHIAVELLI
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Art of War (Dell'arte della guerra), is one of the lesser-read works of Florentine statesman and political philosopher Niccolò Machiavelli. The format of 'The Art of War' was in socratic dialogue.

Many, Lorenzo, have held and still hold the opinion, that there is nothing which has less in common with another, and that is so dissimilar, as civilian life is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Art Of War 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
american_cicero More than 1 year ago
I have not read the book, but i was not expecting it to be in Shakespearean English either. If you don't mind a challenge then by all means buy it. However I was looking for a version in modern English. p.s. The book itself looks very unprofessional I am not sure where they got it printed but they could have done better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this book, Machiavelli writes the most detailed and fascinating account of medieval warfare ever recorded. His outstanding attention to every aspect of warfare makes this book outshine every other medieval military theory book to date. In it, he comments on everything from raising the army to the actual battle and aftermath. Along with military genius, machivelli's political genius is also displayed by his innate understanding of the relationship between the military might and freedom of a country. I would recommend this book to anyone with the slightest curiosity about whether to take cavalry or infantry to battle; or whether to place your artillery in the middle of your battle line or to the flank. Surprisingly relevant in modern times, and written with an engaging and easy to understand style, this book is a must read for the weekend general.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt make it through this entire book. I found it a difficult read and thought it would be more along the lines of The Art of War by Sun Tzu.