×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Autumn Bride
     

The Autumn Bride

4.2 37
by Anne Gracie
 

See All Formats & Editions

~Chosen as one of the best romances of 2013 by NPR and Library Journal~

From the beloved, award-winning Anne Gracie comes this brand-new series about four young women on the verge of destitution—until a daring act changes their fortune and transforms each of them into a glowing bride.  For fans of Mary Balogh, Julia Quinn, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Autumn Bride 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by: Rachel Book provided by: NetGalley Review originally posted at Romancing the Book It only took me one chapter and I was hooked. The one thing that kept rolling around in my head was this, “How have I not heard of Miss Gracie until now?” As a lover of historical romances, I’m almost appalled that this is the first time I’ve picked up one of her books! Jam packed full of romance, intrigue, sensual tension–you name it! To say this book was your typical Regency romance would be like saying chocolate isn’t good. The book starts with our hero and then transports his character to eight years later. After refilling the family coffers–he’s finally able to return to London. Enter in Abby and her three “sisters.” I use the term loosely because two out of the four sisters aren’t blood related and have quite shady pasts. I was shocked how easily I latched onto the characters. After a moment of desperation on Abby’s part–they find themselves suddenly living in a beautiful old house and running the household for Lady Beatrice (It must be said that Lady Beatrice reminds me of the crazy great aunt in Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series). When Max returns home, he see’s his aunt hasn’t been taken care of, after all, he wouldn’t leave her so ill! Soon the wool is lifted from his eyes and he sees how the Chance sisters saved his aunts life, literally. Humor and snappy dialogue flew off the pages. I’m pretty sure my smile was frozen in place most the time! The sensual tension was just enough to make you shiver with delight, but not overdone to where you need to shield your eyes or poke them out with a pencil. The characters of Max and Abby had a love/hate relationship that I typically like to read in my romances. I don’t like the whole love at first sight thing, so I’m glad she wrote it how it appeared. Lust at first sight that turned into love. The secondary character of Freddy was also a wonderful treat! The only complaint I have of this book, and really it’s not a complaint if I’m being honest…but alas, here it is: I wish that Miss Gracie would have delved deeper into Abby’s mindset. I don’t believe she ever stated that she loved Max, and then suddenly she’s confessing everything? All in all this book is a fantastic read! I can’t wait to read the other Chance sister books! If you want a great historical romance that will have you sighing with excitement and laughing out loud–snatch this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun book, with a great start to what promises to be a series of good books. Anne Gracie's stories flow--the heroines are smart and worthy, and there's vulnerability and need on both sides. Good work--I wish I could discover when the next one comes out...
Crazybooknerd More than 1 year ago
The Autumn Bride by Anne Gracie (Audio Edition) Narrated by Alison Larkin 3.5 Stars - This book was alright. After reading a bunch of reviews saying it was great and having really enjoyed past books by this author, I must admit I had some higher expectations. The plot was good, I really enjoyed Lady Beatrice - she gave me some chuckles - but I didn't feel the sparks between Abby and Max. I found more time was spent on the four girls and their backstories, than on the two leads romance together. I will probably check out the next book in the series one day but not right now. The Narrator Alison Larkin did a good job, she had a decent range of voices. I would listen to her again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loverofromance More than 1 year ago
Abigail Chantry is a governess, and has a deep love for children. Her parents died when she was young, and she and her sister Jane were left to fend for themselves. One day while out on her half day off, she is approached by a young woman, where she learns that her sister Jane was kidnapped and has being held prisoner in a brothel, and soon to be sold as a sex slave. Soon three women join forces and escape the brothel, and Now along with Abigail and Jane they have adopted two other women who are like sisters to them. Abigail knows that she will lose her position, so she leaves along with the three other women and they try to save money to go to Bath and have a dress shop. However their money has run out, and her sister Jane is sick, and needs a doctor. So out of desperation, she goes into a mansion, thinking it empty, and hoping its full of something she can sell to save her sister. After she climbs through a dark window, a old woman's voice startles her, and she learns about this bedridden woman whose servants treat her horribly and they are practically killing her with their neglect. So she decides to help Lady Beatrice who offers her home as sanctuary to Abigail and the three women she has taken in. Then after a few weeks, Lady Beatrice's nephew, Max, returns and fireworks start to explode between Max and Abigail, and a burning passion begins... I have always adored Anne Gracie, and I was first introduced to this author months ago, when I read a review for this book, and I knew I needed to try this author. So I have read a few of her other books so far, and loved every one of them. When I was able to get my hands on Autumn Bride, I was so excited. The Autumn Bride is the first in the series, and it sets the stage for the series. The beginning of the book we see the background of the story, how Abigail, Jane and her two friends become like sisters, Then we see the meeting between Abigail and Lady Beatrice. Lady Beatrice is a charming and witty character, and you can't help but feel for her situation. Max has been away for many years, trying to rebuild a fortune that was lost by his father, and works in trade now. When he receives a letter from his aunt's friend, he grows worried and heads back to England, not knowing what he will find. When Max and Abigail first meet, I felt like the windows were going to explode, there was such intensity to their first meeting, and even though Max doesn't know what Abigail's true plan is involving his aunt, but he means to get to the bottom of it despite how she stirs his senses. The characters in this story were fantastically amazing. In the beginning we see more of the sub characters and the introduction to the role that they play in the story. Abigail is at the center for the most part, and you begin to admire her as the heroine of the story. Abigail is strong, and will do anything to save her sister. She has a compassionate nature, and is very protective, especially when Max comes onto the scene. Max even though he has been gone, he has been working for years to rebuild a fortune that was lost in order to save his aunt. When he returns to England, his concern is only for her welfare, and knows that soon he will have to marry a woman he is bethroted to and has been ever since he made a deal to save their finances when he was barely out of school. Max is tough and protective, and fierce at times, but I loved the way he is with Abigail and he is the type of heroes you can't help but love because of his honorable nature. The side characters were zesty and lively. Overall I had quite a fun time reading The Autumn Bride, and the engtanglements involved, and seeing how Max and Abigail come together in the end. A charming tale of love, emotion, adventure and a sense of fun. ADORED IT!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bklvr16 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed The Autumn Bride. I loved the Chance 'sisters' and the way they came together. Abby was the glue that held them together. I loved Lady Beatrice from the beginning and was so glad she was saved the 'Miss Burglar'. I loved Max even though he thought his honor prevented him from loving the one woman who was perfect for him. Anne Gracie always writes great characters and she didn't disappoint me this time. I already have my copy of book two ~~ The Winter Bride and can't wait to read it. Thank you, Anne Gracie for a wonderful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
..
Liz51 More than 1 year ago
First in a series, the well written plot sets the stage for the four Chance "sisters'" stories. Autumn Bride centers on Abby, the governess, who reunites with her sister Jane and her two friends. Abby works to keep the four of them eating, but when money is gone she is forced to consider stealing from an old mansion. She meets ailing Lady Beatrice and a friendship develops so that all four move in with her to care for her. When Lady Beatrice's nephew returns, the conflict begins between he and Abby. All is resolved in a satisfying manner leaving readers waiting for what happens to the other three sisters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had potential but ultimately was lacking for me in the end.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I love to read Laura's books. She writes so you feel you are also in the story. Take one damsel in distress, Abby, throw in a bedeviled Lord, Max and mix it up with "sisters" and a strong willed aunt. There are so many twists and turns here you can't put the book down. She has a marvelous way of developing her characters and plots. Please don't miss reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptionally entertaining
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!!! Love this author, develops interesting plots that aren t to complex. Great summer read, only took a couple of hours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the characters, plot, and humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a lot and this was most enjoyable. If you are a romantic as I am you can visualize the story and have your own movie show.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago