×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Vampire Diaries #1-2: The Awakening and The Struggle
  • Alternative view 1 of The Vampire Diaries #1-2: The Awakening and The Struggle
  • Alternative view 2 of The Vampire Diaries #1-2: The Awakening and The Struggle
  • Alternative view 3 of The Vampire Diaries #1-2: The Awakening and The Struggle
<Previous >Next
     

The Vampire Diaries #1-2: The Awakening and The Struggle

4.2 1047
by L. J. Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling series

This special paperback bind-up contains the first two books in L.J. Smith’s New York Times bestselling series The Vampire Diaries, The Awakening and The Struggle.

Elena Gilbert is a high school golden girl, used to getting what she wants. And who she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Awakening and the Struggle 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1047 reviews.
Brookeylynn More than 1 year ago
This was probably the right up there with the twilight books. It is incredibly suspenseful, and has the same endearing love as the twilight series. I didn't really understand the summary of the book, so here's one of my own that I think explains it better.

Elena is the head of the school. She doesn't feel all that special, but other people seem to think so. She's always turning heads in the hallway. But when Stefan, the mysterious cool-car driving sunglass-wearing hottie comes to school, he doesn't even look her way. Elena swears he'll be hers.

Damon Salvatore is sexy and ruthless. He doesn't believe in the same practices of his brother, so he drinks human blood. Once he sees Elena, he's determined to make her his, whether she likes it or not. He's blown into fury seeing the love she has for Stefan, and he's determined to change that. He'd do anything to possess Elena.
Simply_Me More than 1 year ago
This was a great beginning to a great series. It got me hooked on instantly! If you are a Twilight fan or love books aboout vampires then you will love this! It is absolutely amazing and I recommend this series to everyone! Trust me you won't regret reading this book.
4LuvofVampires More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and am in the process of reading the series. I have passed it along to my mother. I loved the Twilight Series and love everything vampires. I liked this approach to the vampire. I find vampires intriguing and this book really brought the mysterious back to the vampire. Try it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wow i read this book in just a few days! i couldnt put the book down i love the charachters and the edgyness! i reccomend it to anyone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i have read the first two book witch is really the first four storys, but anyway, i LOVE this book and this series!!! it is great and i read both in less then four days!!! i think anyone would like it, expecially if you like vampire books!!! i am really excited to read the next books/storys in this amazing series!!!
SJKessel More than 1 year ago
Smith, L.J. (1991). The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening and The Struggle. New York: HarperTeen. 9780061140976 Tell me if you've heard this plot? Teenage girl is strangely attracted to the smart, dangerous, supernaturally-powerful and rich outsider at her school who initially resists his special attraction to her. The eventual and tentative relationship is challenged by another equally powerful and attractive male love interest, forming a love triangle that will drive the rest of the series. Who will she choose who will she chose? Oh yeah, and the writing about all of this conflict, it's mediocre. I wonder if Stephenie Meyer has read The Vampire Diaries. (It's possible the answer is no. other (adult) vampire books tend to have the same love triangle themes as well (See Anita Blake Vampire Hunter, Sookie Stackhouse of The Southern Vampire series, etc.) Published over ten years before the Twilight series, Vampire Diaries has a lot of similarities. But where Bella was angsty and co-dependent, Elena is obsessive, manipulative and the self-described "queen of the school" somehow causing me to dislike her even more than Bella. I didn't find Elena relatable or redeemable until the end when she was actually contributing to fighting-the-good-fight (unlike other mortal female protagonists in other vampire series). Still, Elena's repeated thoughts about possessing Stefan (vampire love interest #1) or dying annoyed me. Her tendency to develop plans to get him and spread false rumors didn't exactly impress me either. I could see some twelve or thirteen-year-old girls managing to see past all of this in their desire to become a popular high school student. Eventually, I was able to get over my dislike for her when the plot picked up and the dramazz started and Elena decided to make the effort to be less self-involved. But that was around page 150. Now I know part of the point of a novel is that a character changes. Learns. Becomes a better person. Whatever. But I gotta still be able to engage with the character pre-change. And I personally had trouble doing that with Elena. Of course, this could all just be me. Anyone read it? Got something to say? Did Elena float your boat? The series starts with Elena, arriving home after spending the summer in France. She lives wither her aunt and young sister, since her parents are mysteriously dead. (Yet somehow the way this fact is presented somehow managed to prevent me from sympathizing with the character. Hard to believe, I know). When she returns to school she reclaims her title as "Queen," and becomes fascinated with the new boy, Stefan, who is also secretly attracted to her, in part because she looks almost exactly like a girl he and his older brother, Damon, had loved when they became vampires during The Renaissance in Italy. Throughout the book, the reader is positioned with Elena, reading from her diary. From time to time, though the reader also gets to see into Stefan's mind and see his past, including how he became a vampire. Readers will find that the end of the book does not resolve any of the conflict, but that they must continue on to The Struggle and then to The Fury and Dark Reunion. The reason I chose to start reading this series is because the CW has chosen to turn it into a TV series. For more of my reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com.
fictionalprincess More than 1 year ago
Don't expect the TV show to be exactly like the books. The characters and events are somewhat different. In the TV show, the timeline is different and the character of Elena is more intriguing. Elena comes across as less selfish in the TV show. The show is set in Mystic Falls instead of Fells Church in the book. The differences are what make me want to keep watching! The Awakening introduces the characters Elena, Stefan and Damon. Elena is dealing with life after the death of her parents. Stefan and Elena connect at school. Elena is the mirror image of Stefan's former love, Katherine - from another century. Then we meet the "bad" brother Damon and things get exciting. I won't gain any fans by saying this, but I prefer the character of Stefan over Edward in the Twilight series. Stefan is more realistic and you get to see his point of view presented in the book. I'm hooked.
FallenAngel96 More than 1 year ago
The Vampire Diaries is by far one of the Best Vampire Books I have read. Its Thrilling, Romantic, and leaves you wanting more. Yes, Twilight is okay (not really just being nice here) but this is waaaaaaay better than that. If you havn't readt it so far, pick it up cause once you read it you just cannot stop.
scovel More than 1 year ago
I read this because people had commented that Twilight had a very similar feel and this came out first. I wanted to know for myself how closely this matched with the Twilight series. Honestly I'm surprised this author didn't knock the pants off of Myers. Seriously .... Stephanie must have been reading this right before she wrote Twilight and took WAY too much of it from this story (including whole scenes). This novel has a "diary" feel to parts of it, but mostly it is the story from the perspective of a high school girl who is struggling with her own identity. She is a popular girl who has great friends and a nice boyfriend - but when a stranger moves to town all of that changes. She becomes obsessed with getting Stephan to love her. Of course he is the vampire and she looks very much like the vampire that changed him. This is a long story with enough unwrapping to keep you interested and not as childish as Twilight. I preferred the characters and story of Vampire Diaries, to Twilight's prudish approach.
PatriciaJL More than 1 year ago
The Awakening The Vampire Diaries' first installment introduces the main characters and the main plot. Elena is the queen bee of the school - she can have any boy and do pretty much anything she wants. However, she is not the same Elena she used to be since her parents have died. While Elena struggles with this her best friends are there to support her. Then Stefan arrives in Mystic Falls... While Elena is with Matt she cannot help but be "attracted" to Stefan and puts her energy into getting him. Elena's character is at first very annoying. She is stuck up, a snob, and overall self-concerned. However, this is done on purpose... or so I believe. Within the first installment you start to see Elena as caring and understanding - there is more to her than her "social" appearance. Elena finds out that Stefan is a Vampire while people are attacked in her town. Then comes the love triangle with Damon's arrival. The brothers are completely opposite of eachother.... Stefan is mysterious in a brooding way. He clearly harbors guilt and sadness about his past but just wants to start a new life. Damon is evil. Simple as that. He has no thought for others and is only out for himself. What does Damon want....? He wants Elena all for himself, he want her to be his Dark Queen. The Struggle The Struggle picks up right where The Awakening leaves off. The love triangle only thickens in the second installment of the Vampire Diaries. Elena loves Stefan. However, there are clearly "moments" between her and Damon... Meanwhile the search for the person responsible for the attacks in town is still underway. At first everyone believes that it is Damon's doing - why not? He's evil and dangerous... However, they soon learn it is someone from Stefan's and Damon's past - someone that is more evil and dangerous than Damon. Someone who threatens Elena herself.... (I know we all know who it is but just in case I won't say). The first volume of the Vampire Diaries series is a very fast read. The writing style is simple and engaging, following a very tight and concise plot and timeline. While Elena's and Stefan's relationship started a little bit too quickly for me, their relationship becomes more rounded throughout the books. Overall, I really enjoyed the first volume!
Pella More than 1 year ago
Well, i read this book and it was awesome.I was reading this book so i can know what happens in the show.But, was i wrong the show and the book are totally different.I didn't just read this book but the whole first trilogy.It was okay. I don't know if I would read the new trilogy they have out.
Grace52373 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the tv series, and purchased all the books in order to read the original story. I wasn't disappointed! I highly reccommend this series whether or not you are a fan of the tv series!
Savanah More than 1 year ago
I like vampires, and have found them interesting before this vampire boom. Often, I find many people compare twilight to every vampire book...which is just plain silly. I watch the Vampire Diaries TV show and LOVE it! Only later, did I find out that it was a book series. After that, I knew I had to read it. The TV show differs from the book A LOT, which is ok with me...any person who reads knows the book is always better. So with that in mind I read this book knowing it would be different. The book is if truth be told is good, I liked the story and the characters in it. I found myself liking how Elena wasn't written as a selfless perfect girl-next-door. In this book she is full of herself and vein, which makes her very realistic. Other characters in the book are also written along those lines of realism. It is very refreshing, and brings a different tone to the book. With that said, I was greatly impressed of the betrayal of the vampires in this book, without giving anything away, they certainly did not sparkle. The ending was shocking to say the least, and I can't wait to read the next one. The writing was excellent, and the words flowed very well. This book is exciting, captivating, and is a truly good read. I will most likely read it again, and will recommend it often. Anyone who enjoys this genre I think should read it, you will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly, after reading the Twilight series where it is so well written, and captivating this book just wasn't up to par so to speak. The story line it self is pretty good, whereas someone can relate to the high school experience as being full of drama, with that one girl who has everything and can get anything she wants and the jealous girl who will do anything to try and ruin the others rep. Yep, we've all been there, seen that. But, throw a couple of vampire brothers into the mix who are fighting once again for the same girl and we've got a whole new story. The fact of the two brothers history and sheer hatred for each other was probably the most interesting aspect. Because it seems as if they cannot get away from each other after all the centuries of living in "darkness" no matter where they wind up. I have to say though I am going to read the next book in the series to see what happens. The ending itself was too abrupt and I am curious about Elena who seems to have "woken" up and thinks she is in love with the wrong brother.....I guess I'll have to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book,
Alex82 More than 1 year ago
This book was really good!!!! Loved da graphic details, about throats being torn out, blood being drained, and murder of course, da rape seen was a lil 2 much, but watev....O.o
Squeek33 More than 1 year ago
Amazing! Make the e-book version though, I love to have my favorite books with me at all times and most of this series isn't an e-book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Twilight, I wasn't sure if any other vampire series could keep up with it. This series has by miles. I totally recommend this series to anyone who loves thrilling, romantic, and just a great book to read. Stephen and Damon are so mysterious and interesting to read about. Where they came from and how they became vampires. They is such a different and better twist to become a vampire, how to control the urges for blood, walking out in the sun and blending in with the human population than twilight has in its books. If you are looking for an amazing read, pick this book up today!
StarBrigt7 More than 1 year ago
As a fan of the Twilight Saga, I got sucked into the Vampire Diaries television show and then naturally felt compelled to pick up the books. I've read the first four, and although they aren't intellectually challenging by any means they definitely make for good entertainment. Surprisingly, there were even moments where I was slightly reluctant to put them down. I'd recommend the vampire diaries to anyone who appreciates a love story and is crushing on a vampire or two.
vampire_eyez More than 1 year ago
these books are a little bit of a strech for those of us who enjoy the more traditional type of vampire stories, but its got just enough action and suspense to keep you turing the pages.
Yasas10 More than 1 year ago
I am not a big fan of vampire novels (I loved the Twilight series but got bored of the repetition of vampies in every book) but this book had me hooked in the first few chapters! I found the main character incredibly irritating, but the story made up for her character. If you read the 1st book, you'll just want to read the other, and will be dissapointed when you read them both, because you'd want more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i totally love this book. i love all the characters though at times i hated elena. i recommend this book to everyone, even those who hate vampires!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
totalgrace More than 1 year ago
I have to admit, I watched the tv series before I read these books. While I do still like the tv show, the characters in the books are so much better! I would highly recommend these books to anyone who is a fan of the current vampire craze, but wants some substance in their story.
Gothic-Girl More than 1 year ago
When I read all of the old The Vampire Diaries series I was hock line and sinker. Love the hold drama of the mane character of the series as you will find out when you read all the way through too the knew book comes out in March.
partywiththemexicans More than 1 year ago
well i have to admit that i thought this book was a knock off of the twilight series but when i got into it i saw it wasn't..the love between Elena and Stefan is so exciting to see what happens to them next.. if you like vampire romance then this book is for you..