×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Azalea Assault (Garden Society Mystery Series #1)
     

The Azalea Assault (Garden Society Mystery Series #1)

4.3 8
by Alyse Carlson
 

See All Formats & Editions

 Roanoke, Virginia, is home to some of the country’s most exquisite gardens, and it’s Camellia Harris’ job to promote them. But when an out of towner turns up dead, she discovers there’s no good way to spin murder…

Camellia Harris has achieved a coup in the PR world. The premier national magazine for garden lovers has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Azalea Assault 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
I like it. This is a great read. The execution of this well-pruned plot quickly became a page-turner, as I could not put this book down. The mystery was good as it offered plenty of suspects to choose from and it was fun watching Cam and her friends narrow down the field. Cam is a great protagonist who knows how to dig for dirt and bring a killer to justice. This lighthearted whodunit boasts a great cast that includes Cam, Rob and Annie; entertaining dialogue and beautifully defined luscious gardens as a backdrop. You are going to love Annie who brings comedic interludes to this delightfully appealing new series and I look forward to my next visit with Cam and her friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book. It was fun and the character's were very likeable. I think my favorite character's are all the main women, because they are all relate-able in some way. I wasn't sure if I would enjoy anything to do with a garden society, but it was really quite an amusing little read. I think that Alyse Carlson has written a very good first book and will gladly look for her next in this series.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Cam Harris loves her job as public relations manager for the Roanoke Garden Society. It allows her to combine her three loves, spinning the press, showing off her favorite town, and promoting her favorite activity. She's just achieved a huge coup by enlisting Garden Delights, the country's premiere gardening magazine, to feature the exquisite garden of RGS founder, Neil Patrick. She's even managed to enlist world-famous photographer Jean-Jacques Georges. Unfortunately, Jean-Jacques is a first-rate cad—insulting the RGS members and gardening, goosing every woman in the room, and drinking like a lush. It is hardly a surprise when he turns up dead. But when Cam's brother-in-law is accused and her sister begs her to solve the crime, that is when things really get prickly. This is a wonderful debut. Carlson has created some fantastic characters that we quickly fall for. Cam is quick witted and smart, the perfect protagonist. Petunia is lovable, funny and set in her ways. Nick, the reformed ex-con, loves his wife and is her great protector. Her friend Annie bakes cupcakes, need I say more. Cam's father makes women swoon and Rob has eyes for just one woman. Jean-Jacques was the perfect victim, if he goosed me I may have done him in myself! The story is delightful with a mystery that keeps us tip toeing through the azaleas to pick up all the clues. Nancy Drew has nothing on Miss Camille Harris. Take some time to stop of smell the flowers for this first installment of what I know will be a very fragrant series. The Begonia Bribe will be coming soon!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
surroundedbybooks More than 1 year ago
THE AZALEA ASSAULT by Alyse Carlson is a blossoming debut in the cozy mystery scene. Camellia Harris works PR for the Roanoke Garden Society. When RGS achieves the huge coup in some national gardening magazine exposure, Cam’s PR skills will be put to the test, especially since their internationally renowned photographer winds up dead in the azalea bushes. As the suspect list continues to bloom, Cam takes it upon herself to prune the list and solve the crime before the murderer gets away smelling like roses. THE AZALEA ASSAULT charms with its quaint city backdrop of Roanoke, Virginia. As a native Roanoker, I had fun reading about my hometown. Even with the large cast of characters, Carlson did an excellent job weaving in backstories and giving each character unique personalities. My favorite character was Annie, hands down. She’s delightfully quirky and spunky. I loved the complexity of the plot, even though I had my suspicions proven with who committed the crime. Carlson definitely writes a great mystery. Alyse Carlson’s THE AZALEA ASSAULT plants a brilliant start for a great series. I’m looking forward to reading the next one.
Fricka More than 1 year ago
Azaleas, Jasmine, and. . .Murder. The Azalea Assault: A Garden Society Mystery by Alyse Carlson A Berkley Prime Crime Book/2012 Penguin Group(USA) Inc. Look out, Savannah--Roanoke, Virginia may well be the new hot spot for readers who like to visit the setting used in a book. The description of the La Fontaine and Samantha Hollister gardens are lovely, and the Azalea in the title actually is a clue in a murder scene. Alyse Carlson has skillfully combined interesting characters, a "flower-y" plot line, as well as descriptions of gardens which add to the enjoyment of the reader. Camellia Harris, or Cam, and her sister Petunia are working as a press representative of the Roanoke Garden Society and restaurant caterer, respectively. The discovery of the body of the world-famous photographer who was on a press-junket assignment, and the subsequent eye of the law being focused on her sister's husband, makes Cam determined to resolve the mystery herself. Complications arise with Cam's reporter boyfriend Rob wanting to get a "scoop," and her nonconformist friend Annie falling for the investigative officer, Jake. Undeterred, Cam finds out that there were plenty of people with grudges against the now-dead photographer. Red herrings are strewn throughout the story, so that by the end of the book, the reader has been taken on several "adventures" with Cam, Annie, and Rob. Alyse Carlson has done a masterful job of weaving all the ingredients of an engrossing mystery together, as well as promoting Roanoke, Virginia. I look forward to the next book in this new series. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*hides and makes base camp here*