×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Bear Went Over the Mountain
     

The Bear Went Over the Mountain

4.4 11
by William Kotzwinkle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Once upon a time in rural Maine, a big black bear found a briefcase under a tree. Hoping for food, he dragged it into the woods, only to find that all it held was the manuscript of a novel. He couldn’t eat it, but he did read it, and decided it wasn’t bad. Borrowing some clothes from a local store, and the name Hal Jam from the labels of his favorite foods

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Bear Went Over the Mountain 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Book_Goddess More than 1 year ago
This book twists the knife on what is the state of humans. We only see what we want or need for our purpose - A writer, Money, status, a title - mmmmm- must be cream of the Human being crop. Love this book - laughed out loud on the subway. Sent to all my friends
Guest More than 1 year ago
The characters are cliché, the plot is easy to follow but isn¿t that the point with a fable. Kotzwinkle takes something we know, or think we know, and twist it to show a window into our nature. This is an excellent book, that¿s insightful and very funny.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are in the mood for a good laugh at society, particularly those involved with literature, then this book is for you. It is difficult to put this one down, except when you have to, because you cannot stop laughing. The dog's thoughts, even though just a minor part of the story, provided the funniest moments, but the bear's journey in the literary world is not only funny, but thought provoking. It is a quick read, and well worth it. I really enjoyed this book.
lalindy More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyable euphamism on human frailty.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is possibly one of the best books ever written. My friend Jim got it and shared it with me, then i passed it on to another friend starting a chain reaction. Next thing we know he had a huge late fee at the library. God bless this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not make myself finish this book. It jumped around, didn't make sense and I found it depressing.
KaneH More than 1 year ago
This is a great satire of human obliviousness, identity, and the modern publishing world, and it succeeds on all counts. When a bear in Maine finds a novel in a briefcase under a tree, he embarks on a journey to see where it might lead. The result is a grand farce as the bear becomes the new author of the year, and seeks to adapt to his new identity, while the people around him react according to their personal slants. Meanwhile, the real author turns ever more bear-like, regressing to his primitive nature. Filled with fun little insights and comedic turns, and the best commentary on the unreal world of Manhattan publishing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
For my opinion the book is not that difficult. but most of all it was funny. after i was done with the book i recommend it to my friends, which they liked it too..
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book!- A very unique story. I laughed out loud a lot of times!! Not a book for children!