×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Billion Dollar Cowboy
     

Billion Dollar Cowboy

4.2 22
by Carolyn Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

Book 1 of Cowboys & Brides

From New York Times and USA Today-bestselling author Carolyn Brown comes a contemporary Western romance filled to the brim with sexy cowboys, gutsy heroines, and genuine down-home Texas twang.

Colton Nelson was twenty-eight years old when he won the Texas Lottery and went from ranch hand to ranch owner overnight. Now

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Billion Dollar Cowboy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by NetGalley for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book I absolutely loved this book. I’m sad that I have to wait for the next installment of this series. I loved all the characters from main to secondary. Colton is the ultimate broken and distrustful rich cowboy. All the women are after him because of his money and not because of his heart. Until Laura comes to the ranch to pay off her sister’s debt. Laura is the shy and geeky sister who is always bailing her sister out of trouble. Colton’s grandma and best friend Andy come up with a plan to get the women off of his back. Their plan is pretend to date Laura. Laura eventually agrees but neither one expect to fall in love with each other. The story goes through their crazy emotions of letting guards down and opening up to someone. Will Laura agree to stay on at the ranch? You have to read to find out. The secondary characters are just a likable as the main characters. Janet is even likable even if she’s the reason that Laura needs to be working on the ranch. Roxie the adopted daughter of Maudie is spunky and loving. Maudie is the quintessential grandma. Once again Ms. Brown writes a cowboy story that makes you laugh, makes you think and above all makes you believe in love again. She started off her new series strong and I’m very anxious to read about the other cowboys and to see how their love stories pan out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pops95b More than 1 year ago
Not impressed. Laura is not a likable character to me. She comes off as a humorless ice maiden. Colton seems nice enough But Laura just comes across as uptight and high and mighty... Bored outta my mind so far. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just can't say enough. I read the first two out of order, but it didn't matter. The characters come to life effortlessly and you can't help but fall in love with their family. The down home feel does wonders for the heart. I was left wanting more and feeling as if I knew the family. I was not disappointed. If anything, this author has been moved to my love list. This is more than a love story, it's a life story with lessons and morals. it felt so good to read a book that feels real, even if in a million years it would never happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a total book hangover from this because i get completely emersed in their world! All time favorite right here!
Whit25 More than 1 year ago
Great book! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
REAL GOOD THEME, KEEPS YOU INTERESTED ALL THE WAY FROM START TO FINISH.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
judiOH More than 1 year ago
ms brown is a very good writer of cowboy romance. this story is about a cowboy that wins a lottery and becomes wealthy. women are attracted to his money, and keep trying to capture him into marriage, even going as far as to drug him. thankfully his friend saves him. his financial advisor brings his cousin,female, to help him with the records and the sparks fly between she and he. laura has her hangups, and so does colton, but they work through them, and that is what makes this story so good. true love never runs smooth, and as we watch laura and colton learn about each other, we find ourselves engrossed in the story. i never miss one of ms brown's stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of Carolyn Brown's book and this one did not disappoint
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andreat78 More than 1 year ago
I always love a good "pretend relationship" story. The circumstances vary from those that make perfect sense to those that are a bit of a stretch, but they almost always end up in the same place: two people who never intended to become attached falling in love. It's a fun trope, and one that I never really tire of. Billion Dollar Cowboy did this premise well, and it made sense. Bachelor cowboy Colton is tired of women chasing him down, hoping to snap (or swindle) him into marriage. When Laura comes to work on his ranch, the perfect plan is laid: Colton and Laura will pretend to be a couple to keep the ladies at bay. Colton and Laura are both such sweet and straight-forward people that this scheme works well. Possibly too well, since the two take very little time to fall for one another. But with Laura planning to leave the ranch when her time is up, and both too afraid to lay their feelings on the line, the road to confessing of feelings and happiness is bumpy. Billion Dollar Cowboy is a down-home, feel good romance. The author's writing was really charming and I found myself smiling at her words, knowing that I hear many of the same phrases and tone in my everyday life. Billion Dollar Cowboy is a sweet and sassy romance with fun characters and a endearing romance.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written love story. Laura is always bailing her sister out – this time she is working at a ranch to pay off her gambling debt. Little did she know she would be the one gambling on love. Colton is a strong man who value integrity, truth and family. He just happens to be a billionaire. His billionaire status does not make finding a lady friend easy. So his family and friends take matters into their on hands. This book has some beautiful one liners and interesting dialogue between Laura and Colton. Brown does an excellent job of making all the characters in this book come to life. You will fall in love with Aunt Maudie, relate to Roxie, and become exceedingly frustrated with Andy Joe’s manipulative streak – even though he is trying to do what is right. Then there is independent and strong Laura who is a self proclaimed computer geek, but who also doesn’t mind getting dirty on the ranch. Colton the type of man you wish you could trade your husband for – smart, hardworking, sensitive and sexy. At times, the book is a little wordy and I actually did some skip, skip, skipping to get back to Laura and Colton. This book does pack a punch in the language department and some of the love scenes. However, overall it is a delightful “Cinderella-ish” story with loveable characters. Can’t wait for book 2!! RATING: 4 HEAT RATING: Hot REVIEWED BY: A. Lyn REVIEW COURTESY OF: My Book Addiction and More
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Colton and Laura's start out of the gate. That was a sneaky way to get them together by the family. This was a very good read. I love all of Carloyn's books. Her Cowboys are hot and sexy. Who can't love that. I know that this will be a great new series, can't wait. Great read. Highly recomend.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
When it comes to author Carolyn Brown’s books, I have a love/hate relationship. Make no mistake, I love her books - I just hate that the books end. Each time I pick up one of Brown’s books I know I’m going to be treated to a tantalizing story, meet the zaniest and most likable characters, and lose myself in a rich country-flavored enjoyable read. BILLION DOLLAR COWBOY, the first installment in Brown’s new Cowboys and Brides series, is a great example of these elements. Colton Nelson was just an ordinary ranch hand when he won the Texas Lottery at age 28. Overnight he went from ranch hand to owning one of the biggest spreads in Texas. That’s when the trouble began. Women came out of the woodwork lusting after his millions. They tried every trick in the book including drugging his beer. Colton’s family decided he needed a pretend girlfriend to give him some peace of mind. Laura Baker had always taken care of her older sister when she got into trouble. This time Laura had to save her from loan sharks so she turned to her cousin and last resort for help. Andy helped her with the money and now she was repaying the debt working as his assistant on Colton’s ranch. When the Nelsons make her a sweet deal to pretend to be Colton’s girlfriend, Laura knows she’d be a fool to pass up the opportunity. But it’s not going to be as easy as she thinks, no matter how sexy Colton is. Laura and Colton get along fine, but both have issues that strain their relationship. With mixed emotions on both sides, it’s hard to tell where the make-believe ends and reality begins. Brown makes her hero and heroine strong and independent, but adds flaws, insecurities and worries that readers can relate to. She weaves bits of humor throughout, along with steamy romance for a well-balanced story. While the main focuses of the story is Colton and Laura, Brown pulls the secondary characters into play. Their interaction draws out more depth to the main characters. Brown’s eye for detail places the reader in the middle of the crowd whether it’s in a Dallas grand ballroom or the hay fields on the ranch. When you come to the end BILLION DOLLAR COWBOY, you feel you know these characters. They’re realistic and remain with you after you turn the last page. Brown is masterful in her storytelling and character development. She combines sizzling romance, enduring friendships, family loyalty, and plain old-fashion fun for a rip-roaring great start to a delightful new series. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In_My_Humble_OpinionDA More than 1 year ago
Winning the lottery is great but brings with it its own set of problems. Colton Nelson finds this out the hard way. He is just a good ol boy rancher who got lucky. But now he has gold diggers trying to trap him left and right. His best friend and financial manager Andy has a distant cousin that is in need of help and maybe they can kill two birds with one stone. Andy invites Laura to help him out at Colton's ranch and comes up with a plan. Laura will pretend to be Colton's gal and hopefully the gold diggers will get the message that he is taken and back off. But what happens when it becomes more than pretend? This is a sweet often heart wrenching contemporary cowboy romance. I loved how Ms. Brown incorporated some very real issues into this Cinderella story. Money can’t but everything. The most important things like love and integrity can’t be bought. I really enjoyed this story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why?
Sailon More than 1 year ago
The world has nearly been destroyed by the religious zealots. The RUNA is now the super power of the world, rejecting all forms of religious beliefs. Dr. Justin March was a servitor, a judge on all religious practices for the RUNA, until he made a tragic mistake and was sent into exile. Mae Koskinen is beautiful, Nordic and a praetorian, super human military warrior. After an incident involving a fight with her co-worker, Mae is sent to retrieve and exiled doctor in Panama as her “punishment”. Justin jumps at the chance to return to civilization bringing a provincial 16 year old, Tessa, with him. Assigned to Justin as his body guard, Mae and Justin traverse a web of lies to slowly uncover the truth behind the heinous killings of superbly bread aristocrats in the caste. Dead ends and unusual twists plague their pursuit. If they fail another caste will die at the full moon. If they fail Justin, Tessa and even his sister and son Quetin’s future are all at a risk.  I have to admit I spent a large portion of this book confused. I was trying to work out the story and back reading, seeing if I missed something. The truth was, I didn’t miss anything. Lots of things are talked about but never explained till much later. The complete explanation of what’s happening is actually explained in the last 10% of the story. Don’t get me wrong, I was riveted to the pages, all the while searching for something to give me a clue so that it would all click...and when it did it was mind blowing. Richelle Mead masterfully creates a totally original dystopian world for us to explore. Although I had some problems with the plot building, the continuation of Age of X series exhibits enormous POTENTIAL. I will definitely be following this series to see where it leads. This is a world where the myths of gods and goddesses collide with futuristic technology and belief systems that destroy worship. Knowledge is key but wisdom will win the battle. I enjoyed Gameboard of the Gods and can’t wait to see where Richelle Mead takes us next. There is a lot of action, some romance but lots of romantic tension, and a wonderful mystery to explore. Gameboard of the Gods will have you coming back for more. I give this story 3 1/2 stars. This ARC copy of Gameboard of the Gods was given to me by Penguin Group USA - Dutton Adultin exchange for a honest review. Publication Date June 4, 2013.