×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Calling (Darkness Rising Series #2)
     

The Calling (Darkness Rising Series #2)

4.6 156
by Kelley Armstrong
 

See All Formats & Editions

Maya Delaney's paw-print birthmark is the mark of what she truly is—a skin-walker. She can run faster, climb higher, and see better than nearly everyone else. Experiencing intense connections with the animals that roam the woods outside her home, Maya knows it's only a matter of time before she's able to Shift and become one of them. And she believes there

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Calling 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 156 reviews.
simple344 More than 1 year ago
loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first book The Gathering and was very pleased. I can't wait for this next book to come out! Kelley Armstrong is an amazing writer. I've read almost all of her books.
addicted2readingSS More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book! It was fun and compelling! But to be honest, it had been so long since I read the first book that I was a little lost at first. I suggest anyone reading this book refresh themselves w/ the first book first. Btw I liked the little nod to the Darkest Powers series at the end of the book! Foreshadowing maybe? I hope Maya gets to meet her twin brother!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't expect anything over the top and you'll love it. This story is very fast pace and might be confusing at times but it is a awsome read. If you are a kelly armstrong fan than you'll love this book. WARNING: this is a teen book so don't read it just for the romance :-) If you like this trilogy try reading kelly armstrong's Darkest Power trilogy HINT: it might help you understand some key parts in this story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting to even see tha a sequel is comingout and now that it is it needs to come out NOW
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so awesome!!!!!! I cant wait till the next one to come out and i cant wait till they meet chloe and the gang:D
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off. After narrowly escaping not only being captured but a wildfire, the kids are finally safe and on a helicopter to meet up with their family members. Only, the helicopter isn't taking them to safety and soon they find themselves on the run. It's been almost a year since I read The Gathering and I will admit that I forgot about the story of the book and who the characters were. So with not having a recap in the beginning of this one, I was lost for the majority of the story. I remembered bits and pieces about Rafe and Annie being skin walkers but that was about it. So it took a while to get my bearings and even at the end I still didn't remember who everyone was. Clearly, I need to reread the first one again. However, with reading The Darkest Powers trilogy, this book reads about the same. They are a group of genetically altered super humans. Each has their own unique ability like warlock, necromancer, shape shifter. There are also bad guys chasing them, questions on who can and can't be trusted and they find out that their parents are either not their real parents or are in on the whole thing. So I got the jist of the story. What I'm really looking forward to is this team meeting up with the Darkest Powers team and it looks like that is where they are headed to next!
WickedWitchofNY More than 1 year ago
One thousand times better than The Gathering! If you liked the Gathering you will LOVE this. It's much faster paced and keeps you reading.
Anonymous 22 days ago
Great characters and plot loved the setting and all the wildlife in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the premise but, and i hate to say it, not so much the execution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was hard to put down. I wanted to know what happens next every turn of he page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lrhubble More than 1 year ago
A Great Book Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Vancouver Island Maya is on the run with her friends after they survive first a forest fire that was deliberately set and a rescue team that is not only fake but seems to have some dark intentions where they are concerned. When their helicopter crashes in the wilderness of Vancouver Island they realize that they have a ways to go before they are safe again. Maya has a secret that just might help as she can fun faster and climb higher and see better than just about anyone else. It seems to have something to do with her mysterious paw-print birthmark and is also just part of who she really is. As Maya and her friends deal with dangers that they couldn’t have foreseen she realizes that she isn’t the only one in her group that has special abilities. They are all going to need their extraordinary abilities if they are going to have any chance at survival. This is the second book in the trilogy that picks up right after the first one left off. It is proving to be fast paced and action packed. It also has a mystery woven through the books so far that makes it interesting as the characters work to figure out just what is going on and who knows what. It is one series that is worth taking the time out to just sit and read all of the books. The story pulls the reader in emotionally and will have them turning the pages just to see how things turn out. With each tidbit that is revealed it pulls the reader in more and more and will have readers wondering just where this one will end up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this series! Couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These are great books... that each are a half hour read and end in the middle, just to pick up in the next book. Yeah this is one of those series. I recommend reading, but warn you, this author wouldn't know commitment if it bit her in the ***. Dont fall in love with any characters and dont expect a good ending. THEN its a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love the book but it almost the same way in the darkest powers serise but i still love it keep on writting =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though this book is geared toward young adults, I as an older adult found this book very enjoyable. As always Mrs. Armstrong has written a strong female character with a fast paced story line. Overall a very good read. I enjoyed the entire series.