×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
     

The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life

4.9 28
by Scott Turansky, Joanne Miller R.N.
 

See All Formats & Editions

With advice on parenting coming from several angles, what do you listen to and what do you ignore? Develop your own biblical philosophy of parenting and use it to filter the many ideas that come your way.

In this book you’ll learn how to:

Identify character qualities to address problems

Build internal motivation

Transfer responsibility for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the parenting book I have been waiting for. Every parent should read this. There are not only telling you what to do but also examples how to do it which makes so much sense esp. to new parents. Thanks so much for the team that wrote this book.
PeaofSweetness More than 1 year ago
The Christian Parenting Handbook couldn't have come at a better time! What we had been doing definitely wasn't working, and it helped us to see that what we were doing wasn't necessarily "wrong," but it wasn't "complete." The heart-based approach just makes sense, and I love that it is also the Biblical approach. We have already seen an improvement in our family dynamics since implementing the strategies in The Christian Parenting Handbook, and it's definitely something I'll keep handy as our kids get older and we go through different life stage (and parenting) shifts!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The short chapters make this a practical and easy read for busy parents who still very much care about raising great kids!
knowltonnest More than 1 year ago
The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Lifeby Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller is a practical guide for parents with 50 strategies to implement in the home. Scott and Joanne gathered the most common questions and answered them with true to life stories, biblical principles and hands on exercises to help parents practice ways to engage their children to turn their hearts toward the Lord. Some topics discussed are teaching responsibility, difference between tasks, problems and conflict, how not to argue, teaching kids how to communicate wisely, solving instead of whining, and addressing anger in children. These are just a few topics from the 50 short chapters packed with good information you will refer back to often. I respect and admire Scott and Joanne for their hard work in developing this useful book. I agree with the principles shared in this book. I see where I need to work at managing myself better as a parent and how to relate to my children in a more positive way. This book might be the catalyst to changing both my life and the lives of my children. I was so excited to read this book and share this wonderful resource with you.
JG_ More than 1 year ago
This handbook teaches a different philosophy on parenting.  It warmly presents a biblically sound, heart-based approach to addressing everyday issues that make parenting a challenge.  It's quick reference format gives strategies on how to deal with anger problems, bad attitudes, and blaming others, for instance, by instructing parents on "how to" develop character, teach wisdom, and promote effective communication. 
Hector_Reyes More than 1 year ago
Great resource for parents! Highly reccomended for parents with young children but applicable to all ages. Thanks to Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller for this resource.
PastorLarry More than 1 year ago
As a Children’s Pastor I am recommending that anyone with children, grandchildren, people who plan on having children, or work with children should buy this book. The wisdom packed into each of the short readable sections is an incredible quick resource available when you need it. This a book you need to have on your kindle and several in print so you can keep one in your car and have one at your fingertips when you need encouragement, support and ideas. I love the heart of the authors who get right to the heart of the matter.
RaisingChamptions More than 1 year ago
Great, practical, and implementable ideas! When I first saw the image with the caption "If you find yourself nagging your child for the same thing over and over again, or yelling out of sheer exasperation because the same problem continually surfaces, it's definitely time for a different plan." I knew God had pointed me in the right direction. We have been long overdue for a new plan. I love the layout of the book. Short, easy to read and navigate, and always referenced to the Bible. I have seen not only a transformation in my children's heart in the short time we have been implementing these ideas, but also a change in our hearts as parents. I see situations differently, and can truly see my children differently and begin to nurture them to be the young men and women God intended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The authors give wonderful and useful advice on parenting that is good for parents of all age children. Its never too late to buy this book and get to work shaping the hearts of your children. Biblical foundations to help you shape your childs heart, to create a happier environment, a happier family, less stress- who doesn't want that? You wont be sorry you invested in this book- even your kids will thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to own a hard copy of this book so I can mark it up to my content!  All 50 principles gave me something to think about and work on in my disciplinary skills.  Choosing to use these principles WILL make me a better parent to my three beautiful children!
JuleenB More than 1 year ago
I wish I would have had this book when our kids were young! It is full of wisdom and addresses the uniqueness of each child God gives us. Influencing the heart instead of outward behavior has always been the focus of Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller in previous books, which is an approach that I believe encourages lasting godly character. The book has short, practical chapters with real life stories, and it also has an index at the end of the book so specific issues can be looked up easily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, aptly titled a handbook, has changed the game for me as a parent.  Short, digestible chapters with content so fresh, common-sensical and straight forward that I've found my mouth a gap more than a few times.  Solid biblical explanations for ways to touch and influence the *heart* of our children for a purpose way beyond themselves.  I can't speak highly enough about this book - the authors have, and share a remarkable insight that enables parents to be effective in making lasting, impactful changes in their relationships with their children.  
StevenBourque More than 1 year ago
When Joanne and Scott say in the introduction, "You're holding a book of ideas," they aren't kidding!  If you're looking for a treasure trove of parenting ideas that goes beyond clever quips and coy research to truly heart transformational truth, you're going to want to pick up this book. As the title says, it's a handbook. You'll want it close by for reference relevant to almost any situation or any question you'll face as a parent. As a parent, you're also looking for more than a plethora of ideas, you're also looking for an overarching way of thinking that breathes vitality into your family life. Scott and Joanne provide the Biblical foundations that are essential for looking beyond the parenting pressures of day-to-day life and into eternally valuable insights that will sustain and energize your journey. The authors don't sugar coat their principles or try to make parenting seem easy. They acknowledge the difficulties, but provide more than adequate inspiration to accompany many truths that will equip parents well. They often suggest things that may take a little more work on the surface, but will greatly improve the results and increase the satisfaction and sense of purpose along the way. Oftentimes, we as parents feel we're constantly in the corrective mode and trying to "get kids to behave." This book offers a refreshing approach that focuses on building relationships, the joy of great character, building on strengths and a life of wisdom leading to success. I feel a sigh of relief coming on and see the sun of hope rising on the horizon! This book is super-charged with practical and easy to find advice and, more importantly, it is infused with a Christ-focused way of thinking about the parenting journey. It is a proactive versus reactive approach that will empower you to be a great parent.
Julianna0415 More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent resource for all parents to use regarding biblical based parenting. Fifty easy to read chapters that allow you to quickly flip to the right topics for the immediate issue in your child's life. You can find wonderful ways to relate to your child, ways to discipline your child, ways to encourage heart-based behavior that will CHANGE their behavior, and scriptural references to be able to relate to. I highly recommend this book to all parents with children of any age!
kbyno More than 1 year ago
This book offers parents a way to keep focused on the goal of shaping a child's heart in very practical & quick chapters! It offers sensible advice, practical examples, and refreshing solutions. It's the kind of book that you can reference often or read through the entire thing to get great parenting tips that you can locate by topic. I know that I will be using it over and over just to help myself stay focused on what is important with my children! Love this book! So helpful! 
TimWC More than 1 year ago
Are you a parent?  Then this handbook is a must have resource for you.  Every parent needs to constantly think about their parenting approach and this book has been the best resource that I have ever found to help do just that.  This book is 50 short chapters (amazing for busy parents like me) and it is very practical.  It is thought provoking and helps you through the planning/implementing process of taking on a heart-based parenting approach.  It is a handbook that can help you now and long term as you move your kids into mature, productive, Christian lives.    
HolliLee More than 1 year ago
Relational Parenting, an encouraging perspective. I've read two other books by these authors; Good and Angry and Say goodbye to whining, complaing and bad attitudes in you and your children. I loved both of those books and learned so much about reaching my childs heart and not only focusing on behavior. This book was no different, but it's layout was very unique. 50 short easy chapters that are easy to read yet full of depth and practical content. I'm going back through the book with a highlighter this time. I've bought and read many parenting books and some are better than others. This will be one you quote to your friends and one that rings in your ears as you parent your children. Loved this book.
Boomer_R More than 1 year ago
Like a cook with their favorite recipe book or mechanic with a shop manual, this a book you'll want to read over and over and keep handy on your shelf for quick reference. The concise chapters and to-the-point advice is perfect for parents needing solid, biblical help at the speed of life. You'll want a copy for yourself and for anyone else who works with children. Excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
swt_angel_79 More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful parenting guide that teaches you how to parent from the heart and reach the heart of your children.  This is a must read for all parents and should be on every parents bookshelf at home for reference.  Love this book!
ebeau More than 1 year ago
I received The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller through the Booksneeze program. Mind you I’ve read SEVERAL parenting books, as a mom of 3 very strong willed children I have had to as a means to stay sane. The biggest thing that grabbed me was the introduction. Not even the ‘meat’ of the book and the strategies offered were these:  1. Begin with Prayer. 2. Build on a biblical foundation 3. Think long term 4. Remember what’s important 5. Watch for variations on a theme 6. Focus on the heart. Of course, why didn’t I think of those? The other thing that struck me was that right off the authors of this book tell you that this book is not the be all and end all of parenting. This book is a book of ideas and ways to implement those ideas as a parent with a potentially hectic lifestyle. Although all of the book was very informative, innovative and just generally well written my favorite chapter dealt with the subject of consistency. It’s an area where my husband and I have beat ourselves silly trying to be consistent and sometimes it just doesn’t work. What a relief it was to hear other parents say, “consistency is overrated.” The reasoning behind this is that consistency is largely based on behavior modification as opposed to teaching your child to resolve an issue of the heart.  Well written and easy to read I will recommend this book to all the parents I know. I’d give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disclaimer: I received a copy if this book from BookSneeze  in exchange for an honest review.  The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller is a wonderfully heartfelt book. It truly focuses on the heart of the child and parent. It's wonderful to have a God centered book that has practical guidelines, suggestions and real life examples.  Affirming approximately the right behavior is a great chapter about encouraging children to move in the right direction.  The book also discusses how to help the parent assist the guide the child. For example not yelling at the child is doing their best to do what they have been told. The child has God in their heart as does the parent but its always the journey and the bumps that bring them all together.  Another talking point that is emphasized that we incorporated is meal times are meant to be together as a family. We cherish this time together.  I hope you enjoy this book as much as we did. 
FollowingThePath More than 1 year ago
I recently read The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller. Turansky and Miller are the founders of the National Center for Biblical Parenting and it shows! The strategies in this book are what they call "heart-based" strategies which basically means that the children will be changing not only their behavior but their hearts. I want this for my children. I do not want them following simply out of obedience, but also because it is the right thing to do. I don't seem to get a lot of resistance from my daughter, but I do get some whining so I love the chapter entitled "Teach Kids to Be Solvers Instead of Whiners". I like how the chapters are structured. They are short and to the point. They often have biblical verses to back them up and include some real-life examples. The real work is left to the parents, but these are some great jumping-off points when a parent may be at a loss for what to do. I would recommend this book to any parent who is struggling to parent their child based on biblical principles or just doesn't know where to start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
“Children don’t come with a manual”, goes the proverbial saying.  Well now they do if you purchase the Christian Parenting Handbook.  This book gets to the heart of the matter; pointing children’s hearts back to Jesus.  Laid out in 50 easy to read chapters, the book addresses topics such as communicating emotions, sibling rivalry, punishment vs. discipline and more.  The book inspires hope by turning the parents attention away from annoying behaviors to developing action plans that address deeper heart issues in a way that encourages and motivates the child and parent.  A major nugget of truth from the book is “Instead of viewing discipline times as annoying detours on the path of life, they see them as opportunities to further develop character in their kids.  A small change in perspective can make all the difference.”  Because the book is comprised of 50 different strategies, it does not need to be read straight from over to cover, you can go to the table of contents and find the strategy most applicable for your current situation.  This is a book you will revisit again and again as your children move through their ages and stages of development.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the short chapter format of the Christian  Parenting Handbook.  In just a few minutes I can learn a new tip or be reminded of an idea to improve my parenting skills!  I especially love the flexibility and encouragement to make changes if one particular strategy stops working or doesn't work.  Start with one skill until it becomes instinctual then work on another skill.  Well done!  Kirk Weaver, Family Time Training