×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams
     

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams

4.6 9
by Wayne Johnston
 

See All Formats & Editions

• National bestseller
• Winner of The 1999 Canadian Authors Association Award for Fiction
• Shortlisted for the 1998 Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award for Fiction, and Rogers Communication Writers Trust Fiction Prize
• One of The Globe and Mail's Top 100 Notable Books of 1998 and Critics' Pick: One of the Year's Top

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm always afraid to try a 'political' book for fear of being bored and it becoming a chore to read rather than entertainment. This was not the case with The Colony....It was so well written and so pleasurable a read I can't believe I almost passed it by!!! If you read only one book this year, make it this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BizRMick More than 1 year ago
Filled with the UNconventional. Our male hero is awkward, small in stature, and doesn’t always “do the right thing”…or perhaps I should say, the right thing for the right reasons. His love story takes some very strange turns and with a woman whose personality, physicality and habits would be unattractive to most men. Let’s not forget the unconventionality of the place: Newfoundland. Its climate has so much influence over its people; it’s almost a character in this book. It’s interesting history add so much to this story. Both humorous and heartbearking. Beautifully written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a Canadian, I loved reading the book. But since it is billed as historical fiction I don't know what is fact and what is fiction. Was Fielding a real woman in Smallwood's life? Did Joey Smallwood ever do union organizing? I need historical fiction writers to tell us what is real and what isn't. Otherwise, it is enjoyable reading while learning about some Canadian history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I attempted this book, on the ground of knowledge of Newfoundland. When I was finished, I was amazed. The whole story just kept me on edge, and the ending!! That was the best part. Who would have known???
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I feared that it would be too political for my taste but it was great. I definately recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This a gripping and wryly intelligent story full of passionate love for a tough country. I'm an expat Aussie who's lived half homesick in New York for 20 years. Colony could have easily been set in many Australian towns, but substituting dirt and great heat for Newfoundland's granite and icy cold. English colonial condescension is the constant. I spent a wintry week working in St. Johns and its harsh remoteness made a huge impression -- I had found my true Antipodes. This book has special meaning - its the Great Australian Novel seen through the looking glass.