×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Color War
     

The Color War

2.5 84
by Jodi Picoult
 

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR PRESENTS A MOVING STORY ABOUT THE SUMMER THAT CHANGED A BOY’S LIFE FOREVER.

Jodi Picoult is one of the most beloved authors of our time. Her many novels, consistently topping both national and international bestseller lists ("Sing You Home," "My Sister’s Keeper," "Nineteen Minutes"), are celebrated for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Color War 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They should tell you this is not a book. It 's a short story of 20 something pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a book!
SHS More than 1 year ago
I was expecting a real book not an essay
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this author is rich enough not to have to trick poor peopleinto paying 1.99 for 20 pages. SHAME SHAME SHAME ON JODI!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should have read reviews
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe Ms Picoult, who I have always loved in the past, needs money this bad. $2.18 for a blurb. I think it took me 7 minutes to finish. I will never buy another 'short' story from B&N again. The cost is roughly 20% of a full length novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I should have read the reviews sooner to know this was a short story not a novel! Moving short story, but just that.  I kept searching for the rest of it or at least additional stories.  Certainly not worth purchasing this  - borrow it from the library or skip it all together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story was all of about 25 pages long
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not a book. Its a few pages long. B&N really needs to include number of pages in the description. Total rip off!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointed this was offered through barnes and noble as a book. Too bad they don't refund. Waste of money and effort.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This whole book is 29 pages. The story is less than 20. It would be a great beginning to a novel but it ends before it even gets started.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just in case yiu yhought you were buying a book....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had actually called and complained to B&N that pages were missing. I hadn't bothered to look at reviews because I'm already familiar with J Picoult and believed that I would get a typical novel by her. It's very disappointing to find that I purchased a story that is only 29 pages long. B&N should advertise this item as a short story, the way it is shown is very misleading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
20 pages total!
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Color War is a kindle single by popular American author, Jodi Picoult. This short story centres on Raymond Willis, a nine-year-old African American boy living in Boston who is sent to a Bible Camp in the Berkshires by his mother, in the hope that he will make new friends. What he really wishes for is that his best friend Monroe was still around. He’s at this camp for black, Latino, Hmong and Chinese kids, run by an all-white staff and not expecting to like anything about the camp or the people, so Raymond is surprised to meet an angel. At least, Melody sure looks like the ice-carved angel he and Monroe saw in Boston last Christmas. While this is a very short offering, Picoult still manages to give her characters depth and to touch on issues of skin colour, opportunity, growing up and the cruel facts of life. Very moving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read si many of her books i didn't expect to pay for a story the length of a fifth graders essay with a similar ending. Felt like she got bored with the topic. I am truly insulted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please understand that this is not a book. You will receive 29 pages of which 4 are table of contents and other information. The story begins on page 5.  This was a lesson for me. Read all reviews before making a purchase on my Nook!  This should be unlawful.  I work hard for my money. I love to read but I want a fair exchange for book size and cost. I am using book loosely! Buyer beware!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I also thoughti was purchasing a book. Im disappointed its not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good read disappointed, the story was very short with an overload of feeling and I think that there could be a whole lot more to elaborate and build on
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a.very short and incomplete story. How can the author and book sellers do this? The.character wasnt changed forever during the color war, how could he be when the."war" was only 1 page long? The character development in this very short half story is great per usual but it really feels as though Jodi P started a decent story and abandoned it . I should have read the reviews. So disapionted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed in Barnes and Nobel. No where in the description does it mention that this "book" is only 20 pages long. That's barely even a short story!! Sent an email asking for my money back, wish I had read the reviews before hand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I need more this felt slow and incomplete
Karen6 More than 1 year ago
Wish I had read the reviews before wasting my time on this whatever it was - I couldn't figure out what Jodi was trying to accomplish with this one - I never read a story that didn't have an ending until this one! I wish I could give it no stars - one is being gracious.