×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crane Wife
     

The Crane Wife

4.5 19
by The Decemberists
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Decemberists have carved out a unique aesthetic. Beginning with their first album, 2002's Castaways and Cutouts, Colin Meloy and crew sang in ornate vocabulary of archaic characters; they peopled their albums with child princesses, lusty sailors, and chimney sweeps and set the tales to lilting folk-rock orchestration.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Crane Wife 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
FlavorBritt More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite CDs of all time. The whole CD flows from start to finish, and the songs range from eerie to joyous and fun. Absolutely fantastic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Decemberists are one of my favorite bands ever, but this album is a bit of a let down compared to their older work. They do have some really great songs on here, like the Shankill Butchers, and the Summersong.
ZombieMom More than 1 year ago
From the opening of "Crane Wife 3" to the closing of "Sons and Daughters", a remarkable album. Colin Meloy's music & lyrics get better and better, and the band's arrangements and musicianship matches. Favorites: "Crane Wives" (1, 2 & 3), "Yankee Bayonet" (duet with Laura Viers), and the aforementioned "Sons and Daughters".
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is such a cute album, Valencia, The Perfect Crime and Summersong are absolutely wonderful
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is music that kids and parents alike can enjoy mutually. It's not defined by cultural trends, but by history and variety. It incorporates so much that is tried and tested, while mixing it up constantly. Definately worth your time to check out!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been listening to this CD in Barnes and Noble (where I work) for a while now and I have to say I am still not sick of it! I still look forward to hearing it! They have a beautiful Irish influenced sound with wonderful harmony and fun accoustics! It is a great CD!
KMaryG More than 1 year ago
I am addicted to this CD. I listen to it constantly, finding it calms me down when going through rough times. The music tells a magnificent story which is wonderful to listen to. This story tells the story of life and the melody seems to follow life's patterns- mostly good with the times of hardship. The CD takes you through a journey that leaves the listener in touch with their emotions and enlightened. Definitely worth listening to. (My personal favorites include Shankill Butchers, Crane Wife 1 & 2, and Sons & Daughters.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago