×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Creative Family: How to Encourage Imagination and Nurture Family Connections
     

The Creative Family: How to Encourage Imagination and Nurture Family Connections

4.2 10
by Amanda Blake Soule
 

See All Formats & Editions

When you learn to awaken your family’s creativity, wonderful things will happen: you’ll make meaningful connections with your children in large and small ways; your children will more often engage in their own creative discoveries; and your family will embrace new ways to relax, play, and grow together. With just the simple tools around you—your

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Creative Family: Simple Projects and Activities for You and Your Children That Encourage Imagination and Nurture Family Connection 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
momto3kiddos More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed this book. Our family has always been creative but this book truly inspired me. Lots of good ideas and projects. I also loved that the author talks about how to bring your family closer and enjoy the little things in life. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although targeted toward parents of young children, I personally found this book helpful with down-to-earth activity ideas that could easily be adapted for use with older adults. Although the language was geared toward the 'young family', information and ideas can be adapted for use with special needs populations and can also be used with older adults in the beginning stages of dementia. My copy of the book has about 20 Post-its on various pages where the projects presented were especially successful/stimulating, such as: cutting eye-catching pictures from magazines (gardening, fashions, etc.); collecting vintage advertising; bringing things home from nature walks (shells, pine cones, acorns, autumn leaves); planting things in the soil (in our case it was window boxes); enjoying trips to the lake or beach and delighting in the sights and sounds at water's edge; making even small occasions "very special" by using fancy dishes, pretty linens or sipping sparkling cider from stemware. Projects presented in the book are very do-able and the content is well thought out and well presented. The book stresses that making time for creativity in our lives should be a priority. "Creative time," Amanda writes, "is time well spent." It was certainly that way with my mother and the older adults in assisted living who became her friends. Enjoying planned activities and nurturing our creative spirits helped us share lots of smiles, laughter and happy times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is uplifting and thoughtful. I just love the gentle ways in which we are remided to be grateful. I enjoyed this book so much that I am reading it for a second time already. You will grow a little as a parent. I have.