×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dagger of Adendigaeth
     

The Dagger of Adendigaeth

4.6 13
by Melissa McPhail
 

A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book 2

At long last, the reason for the blessed Adept race’s decline has been discovered: powerful beings known as Malorin’athgul are disrupting the Balance and preventing Alorin’s Adepts from awakening to their gifts. Who are they? Where are they? And how can they be stopped when they wield a power meant to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Dagger of Adendigaeth 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
noelle18 More than 1 year ago
Cephrael's Hand was amazing. I loved every word of it. Reread it more than once. And waited a long time for the sequel. The dagger is great. Well written, with good and strong characters. Some you love. Some you hate. But in the end they all fit the pattern... Melissa has a style of writing intertwining fantasy with philosophy in a way it keeps you hooked. It is relaxing yet daunting and back to relaxing. Like Yoga. Like Zen. Like life. It is always about choice. Good or bad. I read book two in a couple of days but I will read it again. Soon. Very soon. And I dare hope that sequel number 3 will follow very quickly. Great job Melissa!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished my second reading of Daggers of...... Excellent! Thoroughly enjoyed the first read, but savoured the 2nd pass. As with the 2nd pass of book one, I got so much more out of it - plot lines, nuances, words that just rolled, were just right, and an enhanced enjoyment of the book.  This series - and I hope it will be a series - will give SOT and WOT (12/14 books respectively) a real run for the money. Yay!. As with SOT/WOT I think a re-read is a requirement; the plots are complex and multiple, the staging scenes complex, the language superb and the enjoyment immense.
2B1 More than 1 year ago
Loved it even better than the first. Looking forward to Book #3!
jopoteet More than 1 year ago
Melissa McPhail, take a moment a pat yourself on the back. Well done! When reading book one of this well-developed series - which is, by the way, "Cephrael's Hand" - I was left breathless and awestruck, waiting for the second book. And here it is...this piece of work! Melissa McPhail has won my heart on this series, as it currently resides amongst my top five favorites (high up there with George R. R. Martin). This story has many well-thought plotlines that surround multiply characters as well as a defined magic system surrounding the natural pattern of things. A short glossary at the beginning of each book is a reference in case the vastness gets confusing with new added details. Get ready for a ride if you are interested in this book, for some cliffhangers in book one are answered in this book. And now I am awaiting for book three. The only problem was the occasional over detailing of things; however, that is not much to complain about - an author describes things to try and make the reader understand the concept.
MonteSiples More than 1 year ago
enjoyed thoroughly! about to start the third
natzers More than 1 year ago
Following from the events of Cephrael's Hand, Melissa McPhail weaves intricate patterns of intrigue and mystery, hope and despair as time and events in Alorin march inexorably on. In The Dagger of Adendigaeth ("Dagger"), Prince Ean val Lorian throws in his lot with the traitorous Fifth Vestal, Bjorn van Gelderan, positioning himself as a player in the game of Kings. Trell of the Tides is coming to terms with his past and trying to reconcile it with his future. The Fourth Vestal, Raine D'Lacourte, has his own battles to face as many truths, long shrouded in mystery, begin to surface after he plunges into T'khendar in pursuit of his enemy. Tanis, the young truthreader, is also thrown unexpectedly into an adventure of his own when he impulsively follows a stranger with dark thoughts. McPhail manages to juggle an amazing breadth of events in this one book, interweaving them so simply and yet so intricately that each new revelation leaves you astounded. It's as if the dangling questions you didn't know you had from Cephrael's Hand has been subtly answered - whilst she leaves enough clues that you think you know what will happen next, oftentimes you realise that there was much more to it than you thought. I could hardly put down Dagger, sacrificing precious sleeping time to be able to read! Looking forward to reading Paths of Alir once I catch up on some sleep. I received a complimentary review copy of this book as part of a Novel Publicity tour.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in at least a trilogy. Fantastic epic fantasy! You will want the world to leave you alone while you engross yourself in this world!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goodness could not put this down for the life of me.  Usually sequels don't measure up to the first book, but this one did and went beyond the first.  I laughed (Fynn, Tanis, Pelas), I cried (Tanis & Pelas farewell, Trell & Kjieran farewell), I was at the edge of my seat (the END)....OH, book three where art thou.  I love so many characters in here and the ones I hate I hate with a passion....and there are some parts in there that I skipped  over because of the loathsome characters...I know, how could I!  well, I did and I didn't love the story any less because of it.  Thanks Melissa for such great storytelling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Penart More than 1 year ago
This book continues the saga of First Contact, and gives you more insight into the aliens and why they do what they do. McPhail's writing style makes it a fast and very entertaining read. This is one of those series you don't want to put down, and I read this book in a few days. Can't wait to start the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though I enjoyed these books, was a bit disappointed to discover that the first book,Cephrael's Hand, has two different covers...so though I thought I was buying part two of Cephrael's Hand, I was instead buying the same book with a different cover. Hmmmm....sneaky? Or what?