×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dana Owens Album
     

The Dana Owens Album

4.2 18
by Queen Latifah
 
Can she pull it off? Maybe the question should be: Is there anything that Queen Latifah can’t do? Having exhibited her fine voice and high style in such film as the blockbuster Chicago and the underrated Living Out Loud, it comes as no surprise that Dana Owens, a.k.a. Queen Latifah, has produced an album of pop standards that establishes her as a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Dana Owens Album 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was browsing the new releases on BN and ran across the album. I immediately assumed it was a rap album, boy was I wrong. I never was a fan of Queen Latifah the Hip Hop Artist but I've become a fan of Dana Owens. This album is sultry. It has vibe that I haven't felt in quite some time now. It's a wonderful mixture of Jazz, R&B, Pop, and then some. Ms. Dana Owens really displays some class. Purchase the album, some candles, and anything else you may desire for a beautiful night with that special someone. You two won't be let down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
all i can say is that dana owens handled her business. she can rap and sing, and have her business. keep up the good work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
She has a nice voice, but there isn't anything special about it. I mean, listen to Sarah Vaughan sing "Misty." Then listen to any song on this cd, and you'll see that it's the difference between night and day. Her rapping is what got her started, not having a great voice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this album. Finally Queen Latifah shows off her wonderful voice with such classical music. I recommend this cd very much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh My God!!! This sistah is off the hook!!!! This is by far one of the best cds I've heard.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Caught me by surprise.... You have always had it, but now you're really got it. Sister.. this style is simply you ,,, the mature you.. I'm truly happy for you..
Guest More than 1 year ago
Smooth and beautiful! This talented young lady has found a new genre to shine in.I would love to hear her perform even more jazz standards.....and soon!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i just think that a person should stick with what brought them fame and not something that brings other ppl fame. i am sorry but i am just use to hearing her rap and maybe she is trying just trying something different but it is not her it just does not become her at all it is just like wearing someone elese shoes or clothes it does not fit and i am sorry to say but singing does not fit her at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Queen Latifah has talent - but it has yet to be developed. She has cool styling on the Cole Porter and "light" jazz tunes but her gospel renditions (especially "Have Mercy On Me") demonstrate her lack of maturity and passion. She says in the intro "never let 'em see you sweat" - well, I disagree. That's the problem - she doesn't sweat - which makes her perfect for the Cole Porter songs. The arrangement for "California Dreaming" is laughable by not appreciating the darkness. Queen should stick to light and airy Brazil 66 stylings until she is able to reach into the depths of her soul to give proper renditions of passionate songs. Better luck next time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was a fan of Queen Latifah back in the day when she came out with 'Ladies First' & since then she's been into everything. I was instantly curious when I saw this CD at the store--the cover didn't look anything like a rap album and I just had to buy it to find out what she was up to. It's a great surprise and her voice is fantastic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one fabulous album. If you enjoy this kind of music, the kind where you can hear the cigarette smoke in a dark club, you will absolutely LOVE Queen Latifa's version of these songs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, the Queen shows some versatility here, but there’s nothing special in her interpretations or in the arrangements. Personally, I preferred her in “Chicago.” I think she sells it better when she is seen and not just heard. This CD is big news because of her big name, but if you want to hear truly unique and soaring vocal stylings in the jazz and Big Band genre, check out a newcomer who deserves to make it even bigger – Rachel York in her first solo CD, “Let’s Fall in Love.” It’s also available at B&N. The track list is loaded with wonderful standards that York makes you think you are hearing for the first time. York's ace trumps this Queen, I'm afraid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ever since Chicago, I've loved Queen Latifah. After I heard her sing, I wanted her to do a CD, and she finally has! I can't wait for her to do a follow up. I love her movies too, she's one of the funniest people out there!
Guest More than 1 year ago
No her singing voice may not be as unique and original as some have, but if you love Latifah through her rapping, her acting, her movies and know how much she loves to make people happy...especially her mom, you must love everything she does. Dana Owens is Love.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think hip-hop and rap fans may be disappointed, but anyone who loves beautiful music will be astonished at the beauty of this CD! Queen Latifah's voice is just gorgeous, and what a wonderful collection of songs from such a talented woman! This album ranks right up there with artists like Natalie Cole, who transitioned from the "pop" of the day to standards. There's a reason the songs are called standards, but now there is a new reason to rediscover them; her name is Queen Latifah!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I heard the CD once and feel in love with it. Ms Latifah, is truly on a new level in her life. This is an amazing CD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best albums I have ever heard. Queen Latifah has a beautiful voice. You can really feel the soul in these songs. There was not a song on this album that I did not enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago