×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dare
     

The Dare

4.3 55
by Rachel Van Dyken
 

Boring Beth Lynn has always lived up to her nickname… until she wakes up in a hotel bed next to a sexy as sin state senator she re-connected with at a wedding the previous night.

The biggest problem? She can't seem to remember anything about the night before except for crying into a box of cookies, and she’s pretty sure Grandma Nadine slipped

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Dare 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So funny yet really romantic!
Liza_Dequilla More than 1 year ago
Exceeds expectations. My excessive use of Thor in this review will only be understood and revealed if you have read the book. (winks)  Before The Dare, honestly, The Bet series was a series I rarely remember. However, The Dare came and oh my Thor! Jace the Sena-Thor took my heart and as of writing, hasn't given it back yet. His and Beth's story is a sure swoon- worthy romance that will make every readers fall head over heels. Rachel Van Dyken has played Beth's character, as the damsel slash loser nerd in distress , very well. My heart never failed to clench when she wallows in self- pity. Her character is identifiable and so real. Then my heart goes "dun-dun" every time the mighty sena-Thor comes to the rescue.  Their love story is such a fairy tale..... ...with the help of the every greatest fairy grandmother! The return of Grandma Nadine! No The Bet series book is ever complete without her. Her humor, her magic and her bag of tricks just won't run out.  If this is the conclusion of the series, I will be very sad. I will miss the grandma that Rachel has unselfishly shared with us. But as grandma says.... "it seems my work here isn't quite done yet."
Jill_S More than 1 year ago
HOLY THOR! Rachel Van Dyken did it again! She had a bestselling series with The Bet on her hands and with an expertise that only Rachel Van Dyken can manage she not only picked up where she left off she managed to captivate me all over again! If you haven’t had the privilege of being introduced to this series, you are seriously missing out! You get to know and adore the one of a kind Grandma Nadine - the hilarious, super smart, slightly manipulative, always up to something matriarch of the Titus family. Her grandsons' Travis and Jake play prominent roles in the first two books in this wonderful series. But The Wager features the absolutely entertaining characters, Jace and Beth. OH MY THOR! Beth and Jace! What can I say about them! What happens when you take boring Beth Lynn and sexy as sin state senator Jace and toss them into a bed after a night neither of them can remember? Well, of course you add Grandma Nadine to the mix! As she whisks them off to Hawaii they embark on what can only be called the adventure of their lives! GOOD THOR! Jace and Beth are compelling characters and their interactions and dialogue will have you laughing out loud. Their relationship is fun to witness as they get to know each other. And there are just NO WORDS for Grandma Nadine! You will need to experience HER for yourself! The Dare is the perfect summer read! An absolute gem of a book to take with you to the beach or sit outside and lounge at the pool with! I absolutely LOVED it!!!  The Dare is the third book in Rachel Van Dyken's The Bet Series, however it is a standalone and you do not have to read the first two to enjoy this one! (But The Bet and The Wager rocked and you get more Grandma Nadine, so I do highly recommend it!) Go and grab this book NOW! You won’t regret it ;) I received a Complimentary Copy of The Dare from the author in exchange for my honest review.
kristelatour More than 1 year ago
humor meets sexy in this fun read! Love RVD!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it, it had me laughing through it more than any book in a long time i just wish it had a bit more suspense and drama in emotional between the couple instead of between the grandma and the two main characters all in all i will be looking at her other books. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this author and find her books fun to read. Don't miss this series and more.
LisaD More than 1 year ago
Grandma Nadine is at it again. You will not believe the kind of mischief she causes with Jace and Beth, never a dull moment when grandma is involved. This book had me laughing out loud and enjoying every minute of it. If you like romantic comedies you will love this book. And If you have not read any of this series yet I highly recommend you do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. The books are hilarious . I felt the ending was rushed only because I didn't want it to end. I will read this again when I need a pick me up.
slz52 More than 1 year ago
Please tell me this isn't the end of Grandma Nadine, Rachel Van Dyken's books are awesome, I laughed a lot, I cried, and I sighed. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this whole series. Definitely a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, flirty read. I recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Possibly a read if nothing else is available
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many LOL's with Grandma Nadine...loved her interaction with the FBI agent. Loved Beth and Jace too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't handle it. It was so cheesy and lame that I gave up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great. It was funny. And I want to meet Grandma Nadine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Beth and Jace's story. It was not as funny as the first two but it had its share of laughs and grandmas wild antics. This story brought on a different emotion, sadness. There were several times my heart hurt for one of them. The story keeps you on your toes and rewards you for seeing it ti the end. If one fights and works for what they want, no scratch that what they need, then they are blessed if they succeed. This was a charming ending to the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The entire book just felt really cheesy. Beth was a very boring heroine and I had a hard time reading the chapters that were from her point of view. Jace was ok, but Grandma was the star of this book.  On another note, a couple of things that bugged me but didn't affect the story, the editor really didn't do his/her job. The same person's name was spelt two different ways and I noticed that it switched from first to third person and back again a few times. Also, Jace is a US senator at 28 while the minimum age to be a senator is 30... fail...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
micharch More than 1 year ago
Rachel Van Dyken really outdid herself with Grandma Nadine in this one. I laughed so hard at points that I cried. The sugar cane excursion was by far the funniest thing I have read this year. Jace and Beth never stood a chance once Grandma Nadine got them in her sights. The lying, drugging and manipulation that goes on in this book is pretty interesting to read and a delight to see how it unfolds. The epilogue was good, but left me wanting to see more. If you liked the other books in this series, this one is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Rachel! Chapter 28 had me laughing so hard I could barely read. I love her writing I always feel like I am a partt of it!