×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Darkling: A Novel
     

The Darkling: A Novel

4.4 14
by R. B. Chesterton, Carolyn Haines
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Offers eloquent evidence that Southern storytelling is indeed a very special art form."—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
In the 1940s, Coden, Alabama was a hideaway for movie stars - an isolated playground tucked among live oaks and placid bay waters where pleasure and vice could be indulged. By the summer of 1974 Coden's glamour has faded, but

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Darkling: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
wkaida More than 1 year ago
The Darkling by R. B. Chesterton is, in short, and excellent piece of fiction. Set in southern Alabama, this novel combines the allure of a graceful Southern Gothic with the page-turning drive of a suspense. Full of anticipation and suspense, this book is simply terrifying in a Hitchcock sort of way… if Hitchcock set his films under the moss-covered shade trees of the South. When a family purchases a bed and breakfast and manor with a Golden Age tragic past, they don’t expect to be plagued by evil. It’s all up to the children’s live-in tutor to save them from the evil force destroying them all, one by one. Because of the plot-twists, this is all I am going to say for the summary. This novel is not suitable for small children, but teenagers will thoroughly enjoy it. It’s a pleasure to read a dark, Gothic piece that is truly engrossing, romantic, and beautifully written. It will appeal to fans of the now popular darker novels, suspense, thriller, or horror readers, fans of good Southern literature, or anyone who likes a well-written book. R.B. Chesterton has a treasure in this novel. It hearkens to both Wuthering Heights and Cristobel. This novel is scary all the way through, which is part of its hook and keeps the pages turning. That said, this may not be a bedtime book. I know I kept the lights on at least one night after reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie was suspenseful from page one. There were twists around every turn. A few I knew ahead of time how they would turn out. But for the most part its pure suspense.
Shari66SL More than 1 year ago
This is definitely a book you don't wand to put down, yet, I didn't want it to end either. It is a little scary, almost makes you believe there are such evils that may exist. I definitely recommend this book. The author is fantastic! I am looking forward to her next book!
Lauren21 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely terrifying, but brilliantly written.
MAED More than 1 year ago
Exciting! Scary! Can't wait until next book! Well written. You don't want to put down the book. What's going to happen next and who's going to win. Carolyn Hanies makes you believe evil is really out there and at times you can even see IT. Another wonderful book by The Great Writer - Carolyn Haines
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great sense of foreboding since first page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. It left me a little confused at the end though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good, suspenseful
Hardecanute More than 1 year ago
Creepy.  The story builds suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MB_Gokee More than 1 year ago
This is definitely a book you want to read in the dark, while under the covers, with a golf club nearby for when you get the willies. It's a wonderfully fun, quick read, that flows much more than normal 'horror' books. Perhaps that is because the author just can't help herself: she IS a great writer! Whether she's writing her lighter side in the Mississippi Delta, or via her darker side in Fever Moon or Pnenumbra, or the best yet--Deception, she can't help herself! You won't want to put it down--and even if you do, DON'T! The end will leave you exhausted, asking questions, and just saying, "wow!" FUN, FUN, FUN!!! 
VernonFowlkes More than 1 year ago
The Darkling just plain scared the bejeezus out of me. More than once, I had to put the book down and wait for the hairs on my arms to lie back down before I could pick it up again. But pick it up again I did! A rollicking good scare and a masterful modern gothic tale.  Carolyn Haines IS "Little Orphant Annie"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SandynBama More than 1 year ago
Writing as R. B. Chesterton, Carolyn Haines has done a complete 180 degree turn from her fabulous, fun "Bones" books, featuring the exciting and sometimes comical antics of Sarah Booth Delaney & friends. The Darkling is 100% spooky ! Set in the sleepy little southern fishing town of Coden, Al, the humidity immediately rises, from page one, and things just continue to heat up from there.It's one of those stories that will keep you up, long past bedtime, because you can NOT put it down, AND it's one of those stories, that if you read it that late at night, will keep you up, long past bedtime, because you will be too scared to go to sleep, so...read it in daylight ! But, be sure to read it ! It's a keeper !