×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel
     

The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel

4.4 51
by Jackie Macgirvin, Mike Bickle (Foreword by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Welcome to The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump. It's a fish out of water story about how God turns 32-year-old Julie's manicured, pedicured, self-absorbed designer life upside down.  

 Julie, a nominal Christian, heads to New York for a weekend shopping binge. On a deserted train, she sits next to a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
DenCleBren More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was great!! :)
SharonBurke More than 1 year ago
Great Read!!! Loved the plot, the thought of what it would be like to meet with Jesus and be personally taught how to appreciate and trust His presence, and GLORY! Great characters, A MUST read!!! Leaves you smiling, and makes you think deeper than ever expected! Will look for more books from this Author: Jackie Macgirvin
I_like_clean_reads More than 1 year ago
Priority-Setting Great Christian Read I put off reading this book, not giving it a lot of credence because of it's different title, but was I thoroughly surprised!  For me, the first ten or so pages were difficult to read as it seemed that the author was name-dropping brands of toys and all, but one has to read the entire book to see where the author was going with that. If your Christian life is stalled, if you don't trust the Lord as you should, if you whine because you missed the last best sale, then please read this book - but beware, unless you have a heart of stone, your heart will be broken through this story as well, but the blessing is worthwhile. 
cbw1953 More than 1 year ago
I read this book at a time when I was wallowing in self pity and feeling sorry for myself after losing a job of 9 years and all the losses associated with it. This story tells us that we need to put the Lord and serving him and those who are abandoned and without anything at all. It teaches humility and compassion all in a wonderful little story. I enjoyed it and felt better after reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautifully written book about love and compassion. It will take you on an adventure where you will experience the devastation in the world that most people may not even be aware of, or for that matter, do not like to think about. It will also make you realize how truly blessed you may be, but most importantly, it will make you realize how absolutely real the Lord can become to you just simply by acklowledging Him on a daily basis whether it be in prayer or just by speaking to Him constantly which is what He longs for. It will definetely change the way you perceive the Lord and your relationship with Him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautiful story of God's great love for each of His children. Touched my heart
richardblake More than 1 year ago
Julie, self-centered and insecure seeks fulfillment and satisfaction by being on the cutting edge in designer clothes, accessories, as well as perfection in home decorating and in career accomplishment. A planned two day shopping spree in New York City took an unexpected twist to become a supernatural extended spiritual experience with Jesus in India. In her book “The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump” Jackie Macgirvin uses the platform of fiction to deliver a strong message of self-discovery. I was personally moved as I vicariously absorbed the message of Julie’s conversations with Jesus, her struggle to surrender her will to Him and to see her life transformed by a newly found intimacy with Jesus. Julie also received the healing and freedom that comes with obedience to God. The plight of 44,000 orphans victimized each year by the “beggar mafia” in India is dramatically presented through a composite of the lives of eleven orphans living on a garbage dump. Poverty, parental neglect, famine, and kidnapping are all factors that lead to the abuse of these children as they are forced into begging, child pornography, and are sexually abused. Macgirvin’s character development is strong. Key characters reveal character flaws common to most of us. Jackie skillfully reveals transformation and growth in the depth of Julie and the orphans as they build a relationship of trust in each other, and faith in Jesus. Although I sometimes thought the story line became repetitious or too idealistic I was careful to read on as I did not want to miss a single word of Julie’s next conversation with Jesus, as I found them personally applicable to my own faith. A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. “The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump” is a powerful reminder of the admonition that … true religion is manifest in meeting the needs of … orphans in their time of trouble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much ! I could not put it down till I finished it.I truely learned alot....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I felt like I was in a true I loved this book. I felt like I was in a true fairy tale e fairy tale. I hope I can learn to listen to God the way Julie did. Thank you for writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a blessing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to admit that I kept putting this book away, even once I began to read it. After i gave it a chance, i couldn't put it down. Amazing tale, perfect inspiration and direction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crossword69 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful book, full of true human feeling from the perspective of an honest yet affluent character.  A refreshing visual of all of us in the western world - privileged, instantaneous, many oblivious to difficulty outside of the walls of our own homes and the choices we are allowed to make on a daily basis.  This book shows humor, hope, value of life and is a comfortable, faithful read.  Recommended highly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This make made me appreciate the little things we take for granted.
ShirleeSB More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An awesome and inspiring book. It was wonderful ! and I will be checking out more books from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
what an amazing book. when you are drowning in self pity and depression pick up this book. thank you Jesus for guiding me to this book. amen
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw this recommended in a book review and decided to try it. Was very happy i did. This book was a great read and an inspiration!!! Very pleased. I have recommended it to my friends.