×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Devil's Thief
  • Alternative view 1 of The Devil's Thief
  • Alternative view 2 of The Devil's Thief
     

The Devil's Thief

4.0 31
by Samantha Kane
 
In Samantha Kane’s sensual tale of wicked passion, a desperate woman must resort to burglary—but the beautiful thief ends up stealing the heart of a rogue.
 
The daughter of a reformed jewel thief, Julianna Harte knows a thing or two about stealth. When the foundling home she provides for finds itself in dire financial straits,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Devil's Thief: A Loveswept Historical Romance 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginning starts off good, towards the middle I lost interest in it. Its way too drawn out.
LaLilAngel01 More than 1 year ago
This was my first time attempting to read this author, and I am anything but impressed. This book is poorly written. I am left with the feeling that I am trying to read a slapped together book from a author who is attempting to write her first book. Now I am not certain this is her first book, that is just my impression as the reader. The storyline is butchered from the start, no real build up of action. It had such promise, but it just didn't live up anywhere to my expectations. I've read over 1000 historical romance novels and I can get into almost any of these style books, however, this was one of maybe 5 books I have ever not wanted to finish..... The "lovers" have a completely backwards romance (what shy, virgin woman who lived in this era would sneak into a handsome rake's room on her first attempt to steal when she is so untrained in the field of theiving, unarmed, and unprepared with what to do with the item after she steals it?), with the hero nearly raping the young woman he was "in love" with because he was angry with her over something thought that she had done (which she hadn't). The love scenes don't flow and they appear like the author is stumbling through how to write them. This story was butchered from words used in the book to the way the author chose to present her charactors. I was just left wanting so much more out of this story, but it wasn't there. I won't waste my time reading this author's future books. I suggest you save your time reading this book, because, believe me when I say this book leaves you wanting.....from wanting a real author to rewrite this story (it had so much potential, it is just poorly written), to wanting your time back you wasted trying to muddle through reading this book!
Penni-Freels More than 1 year ago
The Devil's Thief has romance, intrigue, drama, and characters you can just fall in love with! Julianna is a character that makes you want to root for her! Alasdair is the main love interest that you want to smack some sense into in the beginning, but fall in love with him by the end. I just have to say my favorite character in the book was Wiley (not Mr. Wiley). He is a character I would love to see a book about in the future! I love a good romance book as much as the next person, but I liked the fact that this book had other aspects and didn't completely delve into nothing but steamy romance scenes. Some books I have read lately focus only on the steamy sex scenes and the like and not enough of a real story. Now the reason I only gave it 4 stars is because while the main two characters are noteworthy some of the supporting characters just seem to "be". At times I was at a loss on why they were there or why they held importance. I certainly look forward to filling in the holes with the rest of the series :-) All in all this book is a great read and I will definitely be recommending it to my friends!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very cute enjoyable read! Will definitely read the other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, witty, sexy, a pure delight!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Great read, hard to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the female lead not so much the male - couldn't understand what she saw in him. Strong story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alasdair and Julianna's story was quite entertaining and full of sexual tension. Well written. We are introduced to the three devils in this first book and I look forward to reading their sexy stories in this series. 284 pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Witty, fun regency romance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful read funny romantic and thoroughly great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading Samantha' s books. She writes her stories with just the right amount of humor, danger and love. She always develops the best characters. I enjoy watching her hero,Alasdair,who thinks he has everything under control find out he doesn't have a clue. Then there is the heroine,Julianna,who literally steals his heart when she steals his remarkable pearl. Next comes all the twists of everyone trying to do what they think is the best for someone else. I liked this book and couldn't stop reading it. I hope you try it and love it  as much as I do!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was disgustingly cute. I was giggling at the cheesiness throughout the entire thing. First book I've read from this author, and I will continue reading her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this book , I will read more books from this author
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
THE DEVIL'S THIEF by Samantha Kane is a sizzling historical romance. #1 in "The Saint's Devils"set in 1818 London. A passionate filled,sensual tale of thievery,deception,romance and love.Oh did I say it was fast paced and filled with passion? When next door neighbor,Julianna Harte steals Alasdair Sharpe's precious family heirloom,what follows is a bit of humor,and lots of passion as they try to find and retrieve the treasured heirloom. But is a heirloom more important than the possible love of your life? You will have to read "The Devil's Thief" to find out for sure. An enjoyable read from beginning to end. Received for an honest review from Net Galley and the publisher. RATING: 4 HEAT RATING: HOT REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
ElaineReads More than 1 year ago
Title:   * The Devil’s Thief Author: Samantha Kane Series: The Saint’s Devils, #1 Genre: Historical Romance Publisher: Loveswept Format: ebook Date/Year: November 12, 2012 Reviewed by: ElaineReads *This book was provided to me by the publisher for review. My Musings:  I have been a fan of Samantha Kane’s Brothers in Arms series for years.  As a matter of fact, she may be the author that introduced me to the joys of a menage relationship (reading about it people, not living it!)  I love her books, so I was excited to have the chance of reviewing her first book for a mainstream publisher.  I was also nervous because I was afraid her style would be changed because the book was intended for a different audience. I shouldn’t have worried.  The Devil’s Thief is a straight historical romance.  There is no sexual kink involved, but the sex scenes are still hot.  More importantly, the relationship between Julianna and Alasdair is heart warming.  They got off to such a bad start and they have so many problems to overcome, you really, really want them to work things out. Julianna is the more likeable of the two characters.  After her unconventional upbringing, she is determined to help other children who have no one to care for them.  That is why she turns to thievery. She does not have the money to keep her foundling home afloat. Alasdair, however, is a rake and an immature one at that.  Although the heirloom belongs to his side of the family, he only really wants it to spite his cousin.  That is until Julianna steals it.  Fortunately, Alasdair realizes he must grow up if he is going to win Julianna and regain the heirloom.  More importantly, he realizes that Julianna is what he really cares about, not the heirloom.  He finally understands which is the true “pearl of great value.” There are a number of characters introduced in this book who I am sure will have their own stories soon.  The next book in the series, Tempting the Devil, is about Alasdair’s friend Roger.  It will be released in July of 2013 and I cannot wait. Ratings:  Overall: 4.5 Sensuality level: 3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
susan_frances More than 1 year ago
When Julianna Harte is caught stealing the Stewart Pearl by its owner Alasdair Sharp, she tells him her name is Juliet.  In turn, he places himself in the role of Romeo in her game, a game which will cost them their hearts in Samantha Kane’s romantic tale The Devil’s Thief.  Set in 1817 in London, England, the story has an air of sophistication tempered by the lusty carnal needs of two characters whose attraction sets their emotions aflame. From beginning to end, the novel keeps the reader entranced by the evolving stages of the storyline and the growth of the characters who change from self-serving yelps to mature individuals held accountable for their actions.  The reader follows the path paved by the characters becoming aware of their predicaments as they continue down the wrong track.  Shots of epiphanies cause the characters to rethink their actions setting them onto the right course where happiness awaits them. It’s a love story whose appeal never dwindles because the mistakes Julianna and Alasdair make are human ones.  It’s an old cliché that people can only learn what is right for them by making mistakes.  For Alasdair and Julianna, the cliché holds true and makes a strong impact on the reader.