×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Divinity of Dogs: True Stories of Miracles Inspired by Man's Best Friend
     

The Divinity of Dogs: True Stories of Miracles Inspired by Man's Best Friend

4.8 18
by Jennifer Skiff
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the bestselling author of God Stories, an uplifting collection of inspirational and heartwarming stories from people who have encountered the divine through their dogs.

“My dogs have been the reason I have woken up every single day of my life with a smile on my face. I am among the ranks of millions of people who appreciate the souls of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Divinity of Dogs: True Stories of Miracles Inspired by Man's Best Friend 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
LeeG23 More than 1 year ago
Anyone who has ever had his heart warmed by a wet nose will fall in love with this book from page one. In The Divinity of Dogs, author Jennifer Skiff artfully arranges an assortment of tales like so many mosaic tiles to create an affecting portrait of the mysterious bond that exists between dogs and their humans. Some of the stories are sweet and touching; others are emotional and wrenching--but all are brimming with heart. Pieces of the author’s own tender tales are woven throughout the book, lending both cohesion and an additional note of authenticity to the work. Like the relationships it celebrates, this book, too, seems possessed of a magical power to inspire and transform. Grab a copy—and a box of tissues—today and enjoy!
JulieS60 More than 1 year ago
"The Divinity of Dogs" is an inspirational collection of stories of unconditional love and loyalty between people and their dogs. I recommend keeping tissues near while reading! The message is clear that the world is a better place because of these divine creatures!
BrendaVI More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book that I could not put down. It warmed my heart, lifted my spirit, and made my eyes fill with tears time after time. I wanted it to never end. By the final page, my lifetime love and admiration for dogs had grown so much stronger, and I have nothing but the highest praise for the genius of an author who bound these tales together into such a wonderful package. I implore anyone who loves dogs to read this - you will find it an incredibly rewarding experience.
Nana2Livi More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful and heart warming book! Anyone who loves dogs will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This amazing book is packed with absolutely fantastic stories about man's best friend. I am so impressed that I am leaving 50% of my estate to two local shelters that go the extra mile to find pets a good home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Divinity of Dogs reminds us of many things ~ That miracles happen every day and that DOG is GOD spelled backwards .. for a reason .. This is a fabulous gift, for others or yourself. The perfect reminder that our dogs are here for many reasons and not per chance. Do NOT miss this beautiful book and share it far and wide for the world will be a better place for each person who is touched by these stories.
Deaf_Mom_Of_Words More than 1 year ago
A big fat bowl of chicken soup for the soul. A ton of inspirational, heartwarming and true stories to make you smile, laugh, and cry. A must read if you are a dog lover, dog owner or simply looking for something to read beyond the scope of human relationships. Each short story had me anticipating what the next one would bring. Curl up with your dog a blanket and a box of tissues as this book will surely fill your soul with awe and leave you begging for more. Get the music CD to go with it, your dog will love it.
mwos More than 1 year ago
The Divinity Of Dogs is a phenomenal book! I found reading this book to be a journey and also inspiring. Reading the experiences of peoples lives, what dogs are capable of and what can happen when the two are brought together was amazing. I also learned from this book. I just can't say enough about this book and I too wonder if there will be a sequel. I hated to put this book down and was sad to see it come to an end.
stephanieclemons More than 1 year ago
The Divinity of Dogs is absolutely amazing. If you love dogs, you will love this book! And if you aren't already a dog lover, you very well may be after reading it! This book is heartwarming, heartbraking, and inspiring, all in one. I cannot remember ever reading another book that made me both laugh and cry as much as this one. Don't forget the tissues, you will need them! And you may just want to run out and rescue a few more dogs yourself after by the time you finish. I know I do!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm 80 years old and I can't tell you the last time I read a book. BUT my daughter gave me Jennifer's book, The Divinity of Dogs, and I read it from cover to cover in two days. I absolutely loved it! The stories were short and interesting. I was reminded again and again of the different dogs I have had throughout my life. Some of them I had completely forgotten about until reading this wonderful book. Don't know if I'll read any more books, but if I do, I don't think they could possibly be as good a read as The Divinity of Dogs! Is it too soon to hope for The Divinity of Dogs - Part II??? Sincerely Thomas G. Baldwin Owatonna, Minnesota USA
dog-lover2 More than 1 year ago
Reading this book was like eating a hot fudge sundae. It was a wonderful journey that left me feeling good at the end. Fantastic read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
carolbradshaw More than 1 year ago
Finding out in Jan. of 2011 that our story would be included in "The Divinity of Dogs" was truly an honor. Bandit and Jack's story is just one of over 70, and each and every one tugs at your heart, reminds us of a memory, and brings an awareness to the amazing feats and inate ability that dogs have to intertwine their lives with humans. Jennifer's own story of her life and her personal experiences with her dogs lends the link that brings it all together. Each short story could be made into its own book, making it almost impossible to write them all in a lifetime. Instead, the co
pearlsgirls2 More than 1 year ago
Tender, moving, amazing! Jennifer Skiff captures the voice of our divine canines and tells their stories. You will never look at any dog again without knowing he/she has a purpose for us unsuspecting humans! Fabulous gift and keepsake. Love it, love it, love it!!!
Blissdog More than 1 year ago
This is a must read book for dog lovers everywhere!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing and pulls on so many emotions! This is absolutely perfect for any dog lover! I hope there is a sequel to this book since I love how the author weaved the stories into a wonderful book like this. Can't say enough good things about this book!!