×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The End of Illness
     

The End of Illness

3.5 57
by David B. Agus, Holter Graham (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

From one of the world’s foremost physicians and researchers, a monumental work that radically redefines our conventional conceptions of health and illness to offer new methods for living a long, healthy life.

Can we live robustly until our last breath? Do we have to suffer from debilitating conditions and sickness? Is it possible to add more vibrant

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The End of Illness: A New Perspective That Changes Everything 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
LibrarianNancyStafford More than 1 year ago
This is an up to date and interesting look at medicine and health care today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with the doctor. It is a decent reading for both health care providers and lay persons. While it does filter some of the misinformation in the media, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated medical factoids all throughout. That said, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".
Hex08 More than 1 year ago
DStevenson's review should be ignored. Vaccines such as the flu vaccine and statins are some of the most beneficial, commonly used drugs currently available. He is correct when he talks about educating ourselves and should take advantage of his own advice. It is important that we learn how and why science works and how to apply those lessons to our lives so we can think more clearly rather than believe conspiracy theories, including those about "Big Pharma". The kind of advice given in this book should be taken seriously and is backed up by serious scientific studies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You are terribly misinformed. You cannot get the flu from the flu shot. Statins are one of the most beneficial drugs of the 21st century. No drug is fail proof.
CarolynFK More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this thought provoking book where Dr Agus describes a different way of looking at health where disease may be a temporary state of imbalance. He advocates the use of statins and questions if dietary supplements have any value at all. My criticism is that he leaves out of the equation the huge benefits in cardiovascular health seen from the reduction in smoking. I also doubt that most people will be as fascinated by their own biology as he is. I enjoyed the book and it definitely made me think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a bit disappointed after all the hype that the author had some definite ideas that were unique to medicine. When it all came down to was a long account as to how his Bio company came into being and why you should get tested. He does explain the mechanics of the body and how different things effect it and how the body can react. He comes close but never really steps over the line into ideas different from the current medical beliefs.
Gnugnu More than 1 year ago
As a physician I plan on taking a critical look at my life and health. This book has made some pretty significant recommendations.
Katri More than 1 year ago
The book is thought provoking! Research into DNA, cells indicates all that we have been taught & learned about vitamins & supplements may be WRONG! Living a "healthy lifestyle" is the best way to stay well. Regular eating & sleeping habits along with good nutrition & excersize may be our key to life long wellness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a doctor, so i'm not the best judge, but i am well read on the topic of health, mostly from the standpoint of nutrition. This book is a manifesto on the health industry - its current status and what he hopes for the future. It had many interesting factoids, like the relationship between melanin and and folate, and the findings about gene renewal from vigerous exercise, but the book seemed on the whole scattered. It was unnecessarily wordy much of the time. Sort of a cross between a lengthy white paper, and almost journal musings. It also contradicted itself. The message "everyone should be on a statin," for the first 1/3 of the book, but then, "never take supplements bc they are ineffective," and by the end, "do nothing bc the bidy heals itself." Whew!! I'm glad to have read it, and i'm glad it's now over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The doctor's main message is everything in moderation. 300 pages are far more than are needed to get that point across. I would think a good editor could have gotten this book down to around 150 pages while a great one could have done it in under a hundred. I don't really need nine studies and 30 pages to make me believe that excess vitamin D or C supplements probably aren't going to do me much good and could cause more harm than good. Perhaps doctors like to read lots of statistics to prove a theory but lay people like myself are generally satisfied with a couple of short case histories. I'm either going to take your word for it or not in the short form. The doctor refers to former vitamin advocates, himself included who have come to the realization that isolating compounds and taking them in unnaturally high isolated doses are beside the point and it may be their associated compounds that make them work. As a smart, intuitive, college educated but not a nutrition specialist person, I had figured that out a number of decades ago while Dr. Agus and his associates were still feverishly advocating vitamins. Dr. Agus makes a point of stressing the importance of fresh food, emphasizing the loss of nutrients in as little as 24 hours after vegetables are picked, advocating flash frozen. But reading the book in Upstate NY at the end of winter eating week old, or even two week old broccoli on a regular basis, I can't help but think of the contrast between myself and my ancestors as little as 100 years ago, barely 2 or 3 generations, surviving on beans, rice, meat and half rotten potatoes with a few home canned string beans which would not have been available another hundred years back, for half the year. I can't help but think a decade from now Dr. Agus won't have the same opinion on fresh vegetables as he does about vitamins now. He gives the good advice of drinking two glasses of red wine daily, but laments the loss of nutrients from manufacturers using clear glass for juice since the light will oxidize the nutrients away. So how does the wine which has been around for weeks, often stored in oak barrels for months before it even sees a green glass bottle, oh I think light gets into that, whose nutrients are pickled in an industrial solvent [alcohol] retain all these life giving nutrients that concord grape juice has lost. Common sense says that's a flawed concept. Part of the reason I read this book is because I was interested in Dr. Agus' views on statins. I never saw that part although he promised a number of times in the beginning that he was going to make a strong case for their benefits. Perhaps I missed it since after about page one hundred I was skimming heavily, the redundancy was getting pretty thick, but I really didn't find it. Never the less, I find it hard to imagine he makes a very good argument for taking powerful pharmaceutical drugs that alter your liver function after stressing the dangers of relatively benign vitamins that may or may not do just that. I'm waiting to see the unintended consequences of statins a couple of years from now. They don't seem to work, diabetes and heart disease are still on the rise even though I'm the only guy over 50 not taking them. In closing I would say if you are a person who has an interest in health, nutrition and exercise and read the occasional magazine or newspaper article, maybe watch a tv show about these issues once in a while you already know most everything in this book.
NY_writer_222 More than 1 year ago
Great health info
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only have read the first few chapters but is an excellent book. I am retired from law enforcemet and have made the medical field my second career, this book has enlightened and advanced my knowledge and done it in an interesting way. Glad this book was recommended to me, I will do the same for others to enjoy and learn from.
YogaJen More than 1 year ago
Very original viewpoint...changes the way you think about our single point ideas of health and medicine. Encourages you to think for yourself and to become the advocate you have to be for yourself with your health care professional. They need us to think for ourselves and have a partnership with them.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You MUST read this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An intriguing read on the future of your health.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting over view of the health care of cancer patients. Was hoping for alittle more depth into our own health, but all in all, an informative book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago