×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves
     

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves

4.1 10
by Stephen Grosz, Peter Marinker (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

An extraordinary book for anyone eager to understand the hidden motives that shape our lives.
We are all storytellers—we create stories to make sense of our lives. But it is not enough to tell tales. There must be someone to listen. In his work as a practicing psychoanalyst, Stephen Grosz has spent the last twenty-five years uncovering the hidden feelings

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing book: profound and deeply moving I've given it to friends, and will do so again. So heart warming and beautifully written. Each story leaves you with an insight into what mahes us behave the way we do. Read it in one long sitting: I couldn't put it down. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Couldn't put it down. A good life lesson or insight in every chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautifully written book. I came across it by accident while browsing in  my local library. I started reading, and found that I couldn't put it down. It's written with such clarity and insight into human behavior that it's impossible not to be moved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a variety of books and this one was was just what I needed after the Racketeer. I would love to have a light conversation with this gentleman, Stephan Grosz.
KathyS More than 1 year ago
Exceptionally well written, easy to understand for the lay reader, and beautiful wisdom guiding the reader to want to read it over and over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
redwingsLM More than 1 year ago
I bought this back after it was hailed as one of the 10 best books of 2013 by a New York Times staff book critic. I hate to say it but I found it profoundly disappointing all around and have decided not bother finishing it half-way through. I realize some readers have really enjoyed it, but felt obligated to let other potential readers know it may not suit everyone. Contrary to others' opinions, I found the writing mediocre (like reading a draft), and the stories a dull parade of ordinary hang-ups and habits. Unfortunately, Grosz's analyses struck me as banal, often tracing patients' problems back to childhood events in some clichéd version of psychoanalysis. On self-examination, re-reading Dostoevsky's "Notes from Underground" or any other great novel would likely be a lot more rewarding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Okay but now Grayfrost wont gimme back MY kits."