×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Eye of God (Sigma Force Series)
     

The Eye of God (Sigma Force Series)

4.4 218
by James Rollins
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Eye of God, a Sigma Force novel, New York Times bestselling author James Rollins delivers an apocalyptic vision of a future predicted by the distant past.
 
In the wilds of Mongolia, a research satellite has crashed, triggering an explosive search for its valuable cargo: a code-black physics project connected to the study of dark

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Eye of God 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 218 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James Rollins has done it again. The Eye of God is a gripping tale of science, history, adventure, and mind boggling theories of how reality, as we understand it, may not be reality at all. The Eye of God pulls you in when a satellite sent out to study the dark energy of a comet crashes to Earth, after sending one last image of the Eastern Seaboard of the US in a smoldering ruin. At the same time a package bearing strange artifacts is delivered to the Vatican for Mosignor Vigor Verona from a colleague who disappeared a decade before. Inside is a skull etched with ancient Aramaic and a tome bound in human skin. The skin of Genghis Khan. The SIGMA crew we have all come to know and love is dispatched to different Asian countries to investigate the scientific and historical aspects of the comet and dark matter. Rachel Verona and her Uncle Vigor join forces once again with SIGMA to help follow the historical trail that lead back to major historical figures such as Genghis Khan, Attila the Hun, St. Thomas, all the way back to Adam and Eve. The way James Rollins seamlessly includes scientific theories on dark energy, quantum physics, the multiverse theory, and quantum entanglement will draw you in and keep you thinking for days after you’ve finished the book. It all comes down to a these questions… What is reality? Are we all just a 3D hologram? And what happens to us after we die? Does our energy just leave the universe forever? Or is what we perceive as death not even real? Is it possible that our consciousness just moves to another form of a different reality, to live out the rest of our lives on the other side of the same coin? This book guarantees you will come to question everything it is that you think you know.
Croter More than 1 year ago
Jams Rollins has quickly become one of my favorite authors due to his unique ability to combine science, mthy, intrigue and adventure into a carefully woven story that keeps you enthralled for every single page. His latest book is no exception. The premise is again totally believable and the characters well defined and interesing. The entire Sigma series is well worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rollins does it again and reinforces my opinion that he is a great storyteller. He is most definitely my favorite author. If you enjoy thrills mixed with science and myth, you will enjoy this, as well as all, of his books. I eagerly await his next one! CM
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Been a Rollins fan for a long time and have read all the Sigma books. This one was a little bit of a disappointment. It just didn't grab my attention like his other books. By the end of the book I was just trying to finish it so I could move on to another book. Don't get me wrong, it's a decent book. But by Rollins standards, it just doesn't meet my expectations. It just seems that he rushed it.
Questar12 More than 1 year ago
After reading my first James Rollins book in the Sigma Force Series I went back to the very first book and started reading them in order. A great series and group of characters. Each book slightly different from the others but a thread that runs so true through each book. Just finished the latest - "The Eye of God". Another masterpiece. Hope this isn't the last of the series - The Sigma Force colleagues in Rome will be missed, but hopefully more to come. Looking forward to more James Rollins books. Especially great reading on long international flights.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent blend of science and myth. Will have you thinking about the book's premise long after you finish it. Highly recommend all of Rollins' books.
Stardust_Fiddle More than 1 year ago
With his characteristic combination of cutting-edge science and revolutionary history, James Rollins takes readers on another thrill ride in this ninth installment in the Sigma Force series. This time the very fabric of the universe hangs in the balance. Sigma astrophysicists have been tracking the comet IKON as it travels through space, and in an effort to harness and better understand the murky but promising concept of dark energy, they send the IoG satellite through its tail in a space-time venture—a dangerous experiment that could have literally earth-shattering consequences. When the satellite crashes back to Earth, the Sigma team must take immediate action to recover it and to deal with the dark energy within four days—a timetable that is suspected to indicate the end of the world. At the same time, an Italian priest receives a strange object from a friend he believed to be dead, a seemingly posthumous gift that is tied to the legendary Mongolian ruler Ghengis Khan and that depicts the same apocalyptic calendar. The two must join forces to solve a scientifically and historically significant two-part mystery regarding Khan’s undiscovered tomb and the exact location of the ill-fated IoG satellite. Their quest takes them to the far reaches of the globe, with much of the action occurring in Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, and North Korea. Sadistic enemies who will stop at nothing to accomplish their own despotic goals threaten the project, and the Sigma operatives, along with their allies, are taxed to their limit as they fight against both corruption and time. As usual, Rollins provides the roller coaster ride and pulsating action that his fans have come to expect and anticipate. Perhaps the most intriguing and alluring aspect of his work is its strong factual basis, as explored in the brief “Notes From the Historical Record” and “Notes From the Scientific Record” sections at the beginning of the story and the concluding “Author’s Note to Readers: Truth or Fiction,” in which Rollins refers to the book’s main concepts and events and explains the true-life foundation for each. Not designed for the casual reader, “The Eye of God” cannot be classified as light reading; it deals with hefty and often mind-boggling scientific concepts and detailed historical situations that task readers’ comprehension and imagination skills to the max and may necessitate extra research. As such, Rollins’ work is best suited to those who enjoy scientific extrapolation and historical musing, with a robust thread of adventure and action—think Indiana Jones meets the Science and History Channels. The outcome, nevertheless, is very rewarding and thought-provoking, and the novel’s ending, in particular, proves to be stunning and unexpected and begs consideration. Enter into this other-worldly journey with caution and prepare to be astounded!
purrfectmatch More than 1 year ago
This is part of The Sigma Force Series. Much better if you read it in order, trust me. Sandstorm is the first in the series. The last book in this series wasn't one of my favorites. Eye of God is what made me fall in love with James Rollins writing. The right balance of action, history, science. Twist and turns. One of those books in a series that has some major changes in characters lives. I found it hard to put the book down when I hit the last five chapters or so. Typical Rollins rollercoaster. The tell tale of a good story, is when it's really hard to put it down. Rollins is back, and in prime form with this tale. What more could one want in a tale: a dash of romance, a comet that could end life on Earth, a race to discover the truth before it's too late, a good sprinkling of character conflict. Perfectly balanced for am entertaining read. If you haven't been following The Sigma Force missions, it's never to late to start.
AnnieLiz More than 1 year ago
WHOA. I could NOT put this book down! This is not my usual genre at all - an intoxicating alchemy of espionage, religion, the supernatural .... vampires. I don't do vampires. I don't read about vampires. I don't like vampires or stories about vampires. And yet there are vampires in this story and I still could not put it down! The story isn't about vampires; they're an integral piece of the puzzle that makes this book so intriguing. The description provided here by BN gives you the gist of the story but you have to read it to experience the chills and thrills. I HIGHLY recommend this book and can't wait to read the rest of the Sigma series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thrilling read, seamless integration of new characters and as always a thought-provoking take on where science and religion meet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly amazing as always. Exciting, adventurous, and edge of your seat. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always love the book. Just couldn't put it down!!
KGL More than 1 year ago
While I don't think this was my very favorite of all the stories, it was a great read!!!!! Lots of action, suspense, old friends, new friends, unexpected twists...a definite must-read! I was a little saddened at the direction the storyline took in some parts but I guess it was inevitable. I look forward to seeing where the storyline goes next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, fast pace and interesting. Didn't want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by James Rollins, and especially his Sigma Force series. I've learned, from reading other series, that you should read them in order, and it applies here as well. Never a dull moment, as evidenced by the many other reviewers here for this book. I am rather late to the James Rollins party as most of the reviews for this book are 800+ days old, but am catching up. Two more books to go in the series and I will then be ready for a new book by this author. I have determined that I am a big fan of the 'thriller' genre, having read all of Vince Flynn's books (alas, no more since his death at an early age) and am up to date with all of Brad Thor's books. Check them out as well if you are not familiar with their work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again Rollins hit it out of the park
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesomeness
Igmus22 More than 1 year ago
An absolutely gripping tale. Probably my favorite of the Sigma Series to date.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandra_Mason More than 1 year ago
I haven’t read James Rollins sigma force series before so I had no idea what to expect.  If you took religion, science, history, highly intelligent, versatile people, in a race across the globe, in a heart racing, pulse pounding timeline; full of escalating danger, history meeting current events,  to prevent annihilation of the world by Castro strophic event.  You’ll have “The Eye of God”.   It starts with 3 characters, Gray, Seichan, and Kowalski  in Hong Kong looking for clues of Seichan’s mother.  They are briefed about a global catastrophe which was captured in  a satellite image, after it came into contact with a dark energy of the universe.  The “Eye of God” image shows the world in ruins, which could be our future in just 4 days unless something can divert it. Jada Shaw, an astrophysicist, Monk Kokkalis, and Duncan Wren are sent to Mongolia to collect the fallen satellite, to salvage the footage of the camera.   Meanwhile Father Jossip, has come out of hiding and sent his most valuable ancient relics, a human skull and a book wrapped in human skin to Father Vigor Verrona and his niece Rachel, with the warning that the world could end in 4 days.  Our 3 groups of people race against time, enemies, and mysterious clues and finally come together to stop the ending of our world as we know it. I loved the characters, each bringing their own expertise and character flaws to the story.  I loved Duncan Wren, who has magnets surgically put into his fingertips, which help him sense electromagnetic fields.  Is it really possible that people are having this done?  Dr. Shaw and her theories of Dark Energy, and quantum theories, seemed really out there.  I loved her theory of how we are in many lives at once and when we pass, we just go back into another one of our beings. It made stop and think about the possibilities.  I give it 5 out of 5 magical stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago