×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Eye of Minds (Mortality Doctrine Series #1)
     

The Eye of Minds (Mortality Doctrine Series #1)

4.3 149
by James Dashner, Erik Davies (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The world is virtual, but the danger is real in the next series from MAZE RUNNER author James Dashner.
 
    The VirtNet offers total mind and body immersion, and the more hacking skills you have, the more fun it is. Why bother following the rules when it’s so easy to break them? But some rules were made for a reason. Some

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Eye of Minds 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 149 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the moment I began reading The Maze Runner, I became an instant James Dashner fan! When I saw he was coming out with a new series, I preordered the book (over 8 months ago). The Eye of Minds does not disappoint! I could not put the book down. It had me on the edge of my seat dying to find out what happened next! One of the most thrilling adventure/survival stories I have ever read, my only regret is that I now have to endure a whole year of waiting for its sequel, The Rule of Thoughts, to come out. Quite honestly, the only book I have read that is still better than this is The Maze Runner! A must read for anyone who can read!
Integrity_Consultants More than 1 year ago
That Which Makes Us Human: Having gotten acquainted with Mr. Dashner's writing style throughout the Maze Runner saga, I feel confident in saying that this new foray into techno-fantasy is a solid effort and really on par with what seems to be the maturation of a gifted writer. Keeping in mind that the intended audience is young adults, I find the concepts explored to be very mature, such as the fears of a technological takeover, pros and cons of artificial intelligence, and even deeper still, the qualities that make us human. Is it our ability to make friends and form bonds? Is it honor, integrity, courage, morality, understanding right and wrong, and the ability to make decisions regarding our own actions and beliefs? Maybe it's the ability to love, to understand our own strengths and weaknesses, to feel pain and joy. If any of these are even remotely accurate descriptions of what it means to be human, then Mr. Dashner will cause many to rethink those ideals. That's the true success of this story and one that was certainly not lost on me. I enjoyed the story very much and will definitely be picking up the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first started this book, I had high expectations and very excited to read it. I had read the Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and was hoping for another great series like that from this author. Sufice it to say, it didn't even come close to meeting these expectations. While the story had a decent enough plot and the action was mildly entertaining, the story lacked character development and depth in every way, shape, and form. You barely knew anything about the main character, and pretty much nothing about the others. While for some people this may create a mysterious aspect to the book, I just found it to be completely unrelatable and unlikable. The world James Dashner creates seems only half-cocked, and I think some more detail in this area would have been an improvement. Also, more emotional and in-depth scenes between the characters would have allowed the readers to get to know them better, and would have given some contrast to the constant action. However, the best part of this book is the ending by far. Dashner leaves the reader blown away and hanging, and for this reason I will probably be reading the rest of the series. It also creates a lot of potential for the next book, and I now have hopes that the sequel will be an improvement from the first. I don't reccommend this book for readers that need a great hook right from the beginning, but for readers that are willing to stick it out to the end it's worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have ever read Highly recomended to anyone reading this review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At the back of Kill Order, another amazing creation, there is a sample of this book. TO DIE FOR! I mean. It is something to look foward to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really cannot tell what all the criticism is about this book. Sure, it isn't The Maze Runner, but who cares? It's great! One of Dashner's best so far. Now I can't wait for The Rule of Thoughts!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book from James Dasher can't wait for the next one in the series.
Google 11 months ago
The Eye of Minds By: James Dashner The Eye of Minds is a great book that I read and I think others should read as well. You will be excited to know how the story ends. You will also be curious to know how the other books end. This book is very action packed and exciting with a lot of adventure that many people should enjoy reading. The book gets very interesting very quick. What happens is there is a virus in the code of a game in which the story is taken place of that is being controlled by one guy that is named Kane. The virus is causing many people to commit suicide, and three people Michael, Bryson, and Sarah are sent out to stop Kane. They just don’t know where Kane is, they have to find him along with adventuring to him. While on their adventure they encounter many things that stop them and slow them down, but they manage to get through the encounters to get to Kane. Will they make it to Kane and take down the virus? I thought the book was very action packed and it is sometimes sad. The book made me want it read it more and more over the time I was reading it. I think many other people will enjoy this book and have the fun I had when reading it. I would recommend this book to people that are into technology and adventure books. You readers should want to know what will happen and if you read the whole story it will make you want to read the rest of the series which lead on from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They are both fast paced action/adventure books with great plot twists and fantastical settings, and yet both are so different that they are almost incomparable. But you should definitely read both series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how every single twist and turn was unexpected and kept me on edge. No matter what this writer writes its always good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great twist at the ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eye of the Minds was an amazing book to start off the series. James Dashner didn't disappoint when he wrote this one. This was an other great book from James Dashner. This book has a nice relatable element to modern times. Kids now a-days are more attached to their technology than with human interaction. This is a nice way to draw readers in. Also their was a good element of suspense and kept me entertained while I was reading. The book just kept me wanting more. These ideas with the book involving technology were great. It really connected to the reason I was doing this project. I had a project for computer science class to read a book related to technology. This was a prefect book for that. Also I plan to read the entire series of books. All and all it was a great read and I would highly recommend this book.    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of action in a believable alternative world. Very entertaining! I wouldn't recommend it for children or those disturbed by graphic descriptions of violence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read!! Its is so realistic, in a way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it so much read it 10 times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have ever read! You gotta read this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book us personally my favorite by James Dashner. It is one of the best boojs I have ever read, and J stayed up all niht last night finushing it. If I were you, I would diwnliad this actiined packed suspensful thriller for young adults. Ages 12+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Eye of Minds is one of the best books I've ever read. Anyone of any age can enjoy this damned book. Really it's the best!!! It has so many twisted events and it just makes your heart skip a beat. The book is about a boy named Michael, who thinks he knows who he is, but is really someone else. I really love the setting of the boo, which is in a game-like world. Really I think Dashner has outdone himself by writing this book. Please get this book you wont regret buying it, though i bought as a hardcovered book. Still you have to read it!!! You'll be dying to have the next book just like me. I promise. ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BLEW MY MiND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great young adult read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this book! As much as the Maze Runner series. James Dashner, you are truly amazing. I wish I could meet you in person. I admire you so much, and because of you; I wouldn't read much. Your writing has inspired me to become a writer myself. I think you are great. Although I do wish the VirtNet was real. That would be splendid. Love your favorite fan, Loki Judahia Katomic ~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book in the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh, holy cow! I so wish the virtnet was real! I want a place where i can hang out and do stuff with my friends. Top of the line book. Almost as good as themaze runner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually wait to get into a series until it's complete, but made the decision to go ahead and torture myself this time, with this one being the only book of the series available so far. I must say I enjoyed The Maze Runner series more, but I'm not a PC-game nut and still enjoyed it immensely. Hurry up with the sequels, please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. The plot had an extremely good twist. You should nor look for spoilers because the spoilers run it.