×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future
  • Alternative view 1 of The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future
  • Alternative view 2 of The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future
     

The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future

4.1 19
by Fawzia Koofi, Nadene Ghouri
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0230342027

ISBN-13: 9780230342026

Pub. Date: 04/16/2013

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

The nineteenth daughter of a local village leader in rural Afghanistan, Fawzia Koofi was left to die in the sun after birth by her mother. But she survived, and perseverance in the face of extreme hardship has defined her life ever since. Despite the abuse of her family, the exploitative Russian and Taliban regimes, the murders of her father, brother, and husband,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
AnnieBM More than 1 year ago
Fawzia Koofi gives a candid account of much of her life and struggle in this moving memoir. The chapters are framed with letters she wrote to her daughters and the entire memoir portrays something of Afghan culture, history, and struggle which is missed in most news reporting. This book says so much about being a daughter and woman in a male-dominated world, the importance of family and heritage, the importance of education, the diversity within the Muslim faith, struggle for power versus the desire to lead and serve as well as about Afghanistan. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An intriguing and beautifully told story of a woman's experiences in the many faces of a changing Afghanistan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be an inspiring account of survival and triumph. It is very violent and full of heartbreak. The author has tremendous honesty, courage, and will power. I learned alot about Afghan culture and modern history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A phenomenal and necessary read for men, women, girls, boys, and people of all walks of life. Ms. Koofi has much to teach the world. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! I learned so much about Afghan culture that I never knew! I am rooting for you Fawzia!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hope the author understands judt how truly moving of a book this was. I finished this in less than 24 hours. Entirely captivating and engrossing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't express how deeply horrific yet amazingbthis book is. I never wanted to put it down. She is wildly brave & a tremendous example to all walks of life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I appreciated this voice. It gave a different voice to the history and current political landscape of Afghanistan. I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this to be a tremendous book. I hope more people read about her journey, I believe more people will generate a different perspective on Afghanastan when they finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. As difficult as the struggles have been for Afghanistan and the people who live there, I am In awe of their kindness, and generosity, as portrayed in Ms. Koofi's book. I hope and pray Afghanistan is on the road to recovery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointing. Its been written very badly. not worth the money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story but not well written. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author writes about her struggles growing into womanhood in a not to female friendly society. She also talks about the misconceptions of her Islamic faith personified by men who are power hungry. She also talks of her fight for humanity as a whole, especially for her Afghan people. The book speaks to the resolve and strength of women. I am woman therefore I really enjoyed this book.