×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI Series #1)
     

The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI Series #1)

4.0 158
by Catherine Coulter, J. T. Ellison, Renee Raudman (Read by), MacLeod Andrews (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

From Catherine Coulter, the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the FBI Thriller series, and J.T. Ellison, bestselling author and ITW Award winner, comes the first book in a brilliant new international thriller series featuring a new hero: American-born, UK-raised Nicholas Drummond.

Scotland Yard’s new chief inspector Nicholas Drummond

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Final Cut 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 158 reviews.
SharonRedfern More than 1 year ago
A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a series introducing Det. Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond of New Scotland Yard. DCI Drummonds ends up coming over the pond to investigate the theft of the Koh-I-Noor diamond from the Queen Mother's Crown while it is on exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum. One of the wrinkles in the theft is the possibility that the Scotland Yard officer who came to coordinate security might have been part of the plot prior to being murdered. Nicholas is partnered with FBI Agent Michaela (Mike) Caine to work on the case with assistance from favorite Coulter characters Savich and Sherlock. The prime suspect is a famous thief known as the Fox who spent two year inserting herself into the exhibit and planning the theft. Ms. Coulter has collaborated with J.T. Ellison, a well-known mystery writer, to create this new series. I really enjoyed the intricate details of how the theft was done and how the Fox set up the whole operation. Nicholas and Mike are always one step behind the Fox and end up chasing her all the way to Europe. I also liked the interplay between Nicholas, who is a bit of a rule bender, and Mike who isn't. As the bodies began piling up, the suspense quotient rose as well. There is a hint of future romantic possibilities with Nicholas and Mike but the book is really focused on the theft of the diamond and the motive of the person who has commissioned the Fox to do the theft. There is a significant twist towards the end of the book involving a secondary character and the ending is left open for one of the main characters in a surprisingly satisfying way. One of the best things about these collaborations is enjoying an author that you have read before, in my case the FBI series by Ms. Coulter, and discovering a new author who has lots of books that you can read. Add to the mix an excellent book to begin the new series and it’s a win-win situation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book but it had a little to much of thr 80s non stop action feel to it. Good book just not quite as belivable as some of her others, cant wait to see where her new crime fighting duo takes us though!!
HmmmmPB More than 1 year ago
Yes, you should read it. It was Coulter as we knew her writing a few books back. I wasn't sure I'd read another one of her books, tho. The last couple were not up to par but I'm glad I did. This new series seems to have all of the suspense and action missing in the previous two. they felt contrived but this one is solid. Will miss Savage and Sherlock but maybe this couple will be a good replacement. We will see what the next one is like.
CrystalCB More than 1 year ago
When I heard that Catherine Coulter and  J.T. Ellison collaborated to write a story together, I could not wait to read it. I certainly was hoping that I would be given the chance to read and review The Final Cut. So when I received the notification from librarything that I had won a copy to read and review, I was beyond ecstatic! Let me tell you all my enthusiasm leading up to the his book was not misplaced. The Final Cut is a full of mystery, suspense, intrigue, and charming characters. I could not turn the pages fast enough, I kept wondering what in the world could possibly happen next!  I just have to say this certainly is a page turner. Nicholas Drummond is handsome, charming, smart, and one creative detective. He is determined to find out what happened to Elaine his ex-partner and find the missing Koh-i-Noor. When Nicholas arrives in the states he meets and works closely with Mike Caine in solving all the mysteries going on. These two work great together and were a LOT of fun to read about. Their investigation takes them to many different locations and puts them in a lot of very interesting, very dangerous situations. Mike Caine is a very dedicated FBI agent who wants to get to the bottom of all the mysteries that are going on all of a sudden. When Nicholas Drummond joins the investigation she is a little hesitant at first. It is not long before she is thanking Nicholas for his instincts and she finds inspector Drummond to be very intriguing. If you are already a fan of Catherine Coulter's work you are going to be pleased by the appearance of Dillon Savich and Lacy Sherlock, whom help with the investigation.  Over all this is just a very suspenseful mystery with lots of action and drama. I can not wait to see what Ms. Coulter & Ms. Ellison come up with next. They left a nice opening for another great story at the end of the book. I'm going to be very curious to seem what is going to happen next. I look forward to reading more and more from both of these talented authors. 
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
The Koh-i-Noor diamond’s been stolen from the Queen Mother’s crown while on loan for a special exhibit at the NY Metropolitan Art Museum, taken from right under the noses of the Met’s security and the New York FBI. Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond from New Scotland Yard is on his way to the US, against the wishes of his superior to assist in investigating an associate’s murder when he learns of the theft of the diamond and his associate’s alleged connection to the crime. NY FBI Special Agent Mike Caine’s been assigned to investigate the murder of the English woman when she learns her ex-boss’s Scotland Yard nephew will be joining her. They soon find themselves embroiled in the search for the infamous diamond and the elusive jewel thief known as Fox and is surprised by the Fox’s proximity to them before the crime. Mike and Nick will face a multitude of dangers while searching for this cunning adversary. They must act quickly before the trail goes cold, before the diamond disappears forever and the clues get lost in the smoke and mirrors of this never before caught thief. They will have to rely on many international allies in law enforcement and battle many enemies while they globetrot to try and solve this crime. It’s up in the air if they’ll even survive let alone recover this cursed diamond. Catherine Coulter and JT Ellison are both fabulous authors both with very individual voices and writing styles and have accomplished a feat that many before them have failed at, a true literary collaboration that’s an amazing brilliantly told plus an intensely entertaining story. It’s a true melding of the incredible and somewhat light crime drama of Catherine with the darker yet just as astonishing hard-boiled police procedural of JT. Their storyline is convincingly authentic, their combined narrative is an edge of your seat puzzle that twists and turns while painting beautiful pictures of all the breathtaking places they go and the dialogue is cop speak all the way. The two main protagonists are realistic in their roles, but each has that special panache that sets them apart and makes them interesting and unique. The co-stars of both cops and robbers are all fantastic and we also get to reconnect with Catherine’s legendary and iconic couple, FBI agents extraordinaire Dillon Savich and Lacy Sherlock whose appearance and contributions to the story is a perfect fit. If you’re a fan of either author or the genre in general you will love this first in a new series by them. Ladies Brava for this incredible journey, I personally can’t wait to see where Mike and Nick go from here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two of my favorite authors joining together? OMG! This was a fantastic read! I could definitely feel the influence of both writers here! If you are a fan of either Ms. Coulter or Ms. Ellison, you will love the start of this new series. These two brilliant women have collaborated to give us some great new characters to love. The story moved at a great pace. It was action filled and I cannot wait to see what these ladies come up with next! -- SPeeD
TeriHam More than 1 year ago
Just as good,if not better than the FBI series. Added bonus, Sherlock and Savich are in the thick of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Coulter's new heroic pair, Drummond and York, are not Sherlock and Savitch--yet, but they may be soon. Smart and savvy, they take on diverse villains in Europe as well as the USA. I really enjoyed spending time with these characters, and hope the second installment arrives soon.
Anonymous 6 days ago
Thrilling page turner as always! Love Catherine's FBI series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot was original and engaging. The characters were interesting enough for me to want to get to know them better....However, it was clear to me that this was a collaboration. It just felt disjointed in parts and the sentence structures were not cohesive throughout the book. Possibly this is because the authors haven't worked together before and need to work on their harmonies. I will be giving them at least one more try before I give up on this series .
Judy-Ree More than 1 year ago
I know this is going to sound a bit crazy, but this was my first Catherine Coulter book. I know, Right! How is it possible, that with everything I have read, she wasn't on my list? I have no clue. *shrugs* Her FBI Thriller series interested me, but it was so large, that I just kept thinking "maybe some day". Then I saw that there would be a spin off series, A Brit in the FBI. A NEW Series. Starting from scratch at book 1? I'm there. Except that, as usual, my eyes were bigger than my time allotment, and the book has been sitting on a shelf. Well, I finally got a chance to dust it off and crack it open. Having never read either Coulter or Ellison, I honestly have no comment on who wrote what and where their individual influences can be seen. I will leave that to those who can recognize such things. I did however notice some disjointing in the book, leaving me to think that these two had some difficulty seaming their styles together. It wasn't horrible, but it was definitely noticeable that two chefs were in this kitchen. As for the story line, it was interesting and I do love a good heist story. The combination of the FBI and Scotland Yard made this different. I was a bit disappointed in Nicholas Drummond. I mean, a decent hacker, a former spy, a detective with Scotland Yard, and nobility? Plus he is rich and super good looking. Come on, him not following rules doesn't pull him from Mary Sue status, it just takes it to the next level. Michaela "Mike" Caine, on the other hand, seemed to be a bit more realistic character and one I wouldn't mind seeing more of. Usually it's the female characters I am not happy with, it totally shocked me that it was reversed this time. There was some really interesting history about the Koh-i-Noor gem, mixed in with some new material to take it's mythology to a whole new level. I also enjoyed the fact, that even though the FBI didn't get the exact facts right, they kept the case moving forward on what they did find. It was a case of "what actually happened", "what the bad guys wanted it to appear happened" and "what the FBI thought happened." I'm not saying it was all procedural, but there were some components mixed in. Overall I had a good time with this book, and I can see myself giving the next one a try. I gave this book 3 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS IS BASE A12. REPEAT, THIS IS BASE A12. This is our only base known to the public, but inside, it has secret transportways to base A11 and others. But otherwise, this base is only used for meetings and it has restrooms and cafeteria. Base A13 is on the next result.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do recommend this book. Many twist and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReaderVH More than 1 year ago
Excellent new series, looking forward to the next books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keeps the reader interested from beginning to end.
leonardevens More than 1 year ago
Keeps the reader interested with details of a diamond theft, Moves so fast with interesting characterization so one doesn't notice the implausibility of it all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PhillyProf More than 1 year ago
A good read with a number of interesting plot shifts. Fun to see Coulter bring several of her popular characters together for an action packed trans-Atlantic romp.