×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Funeral Dress: A Novel
     

The Funeral Dress: A Novel

4.3 46
by Susan Gregg Gilmore
 

See All Formats & Editions

A deeply touching Southern story filled with struggle and hope.

Emmalee Bullard and her new baby are on their own. Or so she thinks, until Leona Lane, the older seamstress who sat by her side at the local shirt factory where both women worked as collar makers, insists Emmalee come and live with her. But just as Emmalee prepares to escape her hardscrabble

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Funeral Dress: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A memorable story,could not put book down until i finished.I am an avid reader who enjoys stories like this one,will definately read others by this author.If you enjoy Fannie Flagg you will like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes the people you least expect are the ones who help you the most. Strong female characters with backstories. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the first page, the author drew me in with her character, Emmalee. I empathized with her, rooted with her, until the end. Susan Gregg Gilmore is a masterful writer, and I look forward to reading anything she writes in the future.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
What drew me into this book was the cover, it looks like a story just waiting to be told.  I loved this book, the historical fiction, the characters and the back drop.  The author did a fabulous job creating the scene so you become immersed in the hollers of Tennessee.  I also enjoyed the community in which the characters were tethered together.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Susan Gilmore's first novel "Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen" which easily passed my simple requirement for a wonderful story:  made me laugh, made me cry, made me make new discoveries.  But his book does that and more!   It is a story I will never forget about those in our society that are too often forgotten.  Can't imagine how the author can top this one but I'll certainly be looking for  her next book  with great anticipation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, I didnt want it to end. I will definitely read another book by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writing. Kept me interested from first page to the last!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will continue to read all from this author. Great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished, could not put it down. Loved the characters and their story.
CherishD More than 1 year ago
Loved this! Took a little time to wrap my mind around the way the story unfolded, but once I did I didn't want to stop reading. Loved the characters, the setting, the story. Wonderful writing...I actually felt the bitter cold and the almost resigned hopelessness. 
Gay59 More than 1 year ago
Good book for a local girl where the book was written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent read. Inspiring novel. Loved the characters and could visualize myself sewing beside Leona
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although somewhat predictable,it was a good reminder that in the end the bad brings out the best in people.
ethel96 More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was good. Makes you think how others lives don't always go as planned
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story, but wished the ending would have tied up some lose ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I live in the south and really enjoyed this book and how it held to the true traditions and commitments, we are so proud of here. Heart wrenching story, with hope.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent, powerful writing. Characters you really care about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book very much good strong female characters only wish it had a better ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very well written book. There was a religious overtone but not one that overtook the story line. The characters were realistic and fragile. I would call this story more about women and their compassion for each other. A basic story but with depth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago