×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Future of Our Past
     

The Future of Our Past

4.0 62
by Kahlen Aymes
 

See All Formats & Editions

Julia Abbot and Ryan Matthews have been inseparable best friends since the moment they met. Each of them fight an internal battle unwilling to risk their incredible friendship but unable to quell their deep longing for the other. On the verge of his departure to medical school and to her new job on the opposite coast, Ryan and Julia are forced to face the undeniable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Future of Our Past 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Readers-Confession More than 1 year ago
On first thought, I wished there was more back story to this couple. I understand that they have been best friends with sexual tension, secretly in love with each other, but I wanted to know more. I love romance books, but halfway through the book I was almost nauseated from all the "I love you so much." So much to the point that I was getting bored. I thought they had some cute banter between the two of them but it was more mushy mushy I love yous more than anything. I don't like when characters seem so unrealistic. Ryan talking to Aaron about Julia did not sound like a conversation between two guys. "I smiled. 'But I do love her more. She's amazing. Innocent, yes, but so damn passionate. It's like we're one person and we instinctively know what the other needs. The love she has for me seeps right into my skin whenever she touches me, Aaron. It's that intense. Being with her was like nothing I've ever experienced in my life.' My tone was serious and reflective as I lost myself in the memory of her mouth and body moving with mine." -Ryan It's not that I don't want a man to freely express himself and his feeling but this just seemed over the top for me. The outcome of the book was predictable, well I knew roughly what was going to happen. The ending was left with a cliffhanger. Unfortunately, I have no desire to continue. :-(
mmvasquez More than 1 year ago
The Future of Our Past by Kahlen Aymes is the first book in The Remembrance Trilogy. This is a beautiful, captivating, and deeply moving love story that grabs you by the heart from the very start. Ryan has worked hard for the last four years to secure his future. Finally he gets the letter he has been waiting for, but when he gets accepted into Harvard Medical School he is no longer sure that he is happy about it. Going to Boston will also mean leaving his best friend, Julia. They have been best friends for the last four years, but his secret is that he has loved her all along and has been too afraid of losing her to tell her. Now that they are about to be separated by 3,000 miles he has to decide if he should finally tell her how he feels before it’s too late. I give The Future of Our Past a 4.5 out of 5, and I very highly recommend this book! I will just mention that this is book one in a trilogy so the story is continued after this book. I am on pins and needles wanting to know what is going to happen next and I cannot wait for the second book to become available! This story has some really sweet and tender romance, as well as plenty of hot and steamy parts. Above all, this is a love story. There are a lot of ups and downs in their story that took me on a wild emotional roller coaster. I love Ryan and Julia, and I became so attached to these characters that I felt their emotions and the turmoil of their story. The book is well written and it hooked me right from the very start. Once I started I couldn’t put it down, and when it was over, I definitely wanted more. The second book is currently in the works, and I hope it’s ready soon because I’m all tied up in knots needing to know what is going to happen to Ryan and Julia!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a really sweet story BUT almost too sugary sweet! I like a little more drama.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was boring. I skipped pages because reading 'I love you so much it hurts' or 'I love you so much it scares me' and  'I love you so much' and 'I love you so much too'. Too many pages were spent on all the 'I love you' that weren't necessary. And  sorry to tell you that that is pretty much of what the book is, with a little story in between. I wish I could get my money back, since I can't get the time I spent reading it back.
Ncala More than 1 year ago
This book just dragged on about how much they loved each other, and couldn't live without each other. There was really no story, and I found myself skimming pages and just waiting for something exciting to happen, which didn't come unitl the last few pages. I will definitely not contiune reading this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I guess i i expected too much on this book ! I like a book that has more dialogue/conversation but this book has too much. And i cant handle the " i love you so much " just about every page not to mention " i love you f@$$%& much " !!! Grrrrrr !!! And julia's crying is annoying !!! I think skip so many pages and went straight to the ending !!!! The best part was the ending :-D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ugh...through all of the million I love you and can't live without yous. This book was lame. I wanted to punch them in the first book then shoot them to put them out of their misery in the next. Don't really care to see how this plays out. $3.99 wasted!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ryan is so overly sappy not masculine toned at all. Not realistic. Could only get through half of this book. Boring.
jack-sally More than 1 year ago
great book....
TSRBR More than 1 year ago
Overall Rating:  4.5 Rockin’ Stars The Future of Our Past This is the first book in The Remembrance Trilogy, by Kahlen Aymes. It is the beginning of a love story that starts in college with two hearts that become BFF’s but really want to be more.  It is the first stage in a relationship that is unbreakable and lasting from the first time Julia Abbot and Ryan Matthews meet.  They are two beautiful, intelligent people that are attracted to each other but are afraid to take the step that would lead them beyond friendship into what they really want, each other. The cost could be the loss of each other and the friendship they both crave. With graduation just around the corner they must face the facts that for the first time since meeting, they will be apart from each other and on different sides of the country.  Ryan will be at Harvard and Julia will be starting a new job on the west coast.  Will this be the catalyst that finally makes them admit their feeling for each other? Hero: Ryan Matthews 4.5 stars Heroine: Julia 4.5 stars Plot:  4.5 stars Steam Level:  4.5 stars Would I recommend this book: Yes! Some love is meant to last forever, this is that kind of love!  Julia and Ryan share a love that is rare, beautiful and unforgettable.  The passion they share light up the pages with an intensity that will leave the reader panting for more! Would I recommend this author: Yes! Ms. Aymes is one of the most amazing, talented authors that I have had the pleasure of reading! Her books engage while painting a world with words that enthrall and cause the reader to ask, what is next? ***Received an ARC of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review***
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
**4 Stars** Started off real good..Ryan & Julia expressed their love for one another through out. I'm glad I read (borrowed) it, but not sure if I'll actually buy book 2&3. I mean $3.99 each?
Missy9700 More than 1 year ago
Seriously.....the most drawn out bunch of crap. Skipped so many pages of I love you so much...Gezzzzzz, how many time do yu really need to say it in one conversation. Coudlnt even finish it.  Luckily, I only paid .99 in a bundle and the other books were better. I'd been pissed if I had really paid for this. Don't waste your time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some may love this book, but I loathe this story. I skipped pages and skimmed sentences before reading the last two pages and closing the book for good. I regret purchasing this book because for me it was a waste of money and a boring story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG.... I absolutely loved this series! While I can understand some readers thought this series was too Lovey-Dovey. I adored it! To see what Julia and Ryan went through and to see how far they came. Made my heart melt. They have overcome the odds, on many levels. And yet the one thing that still remains is their undying love for one and other. I don't want to give too much away. And I'm not trying to review just 'A Love Like This' but the entire series. This is a special love story! That will live in my heart forever. Thank You Kahlen Aymes for sharing such a beautiful series! I'm not gonna lie and say this book had me swooning well before 30%! I was hooked and I couldn't stop reading! Love Julia and Ryan's Story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was not expecting this book to be soooooooooo good but it was really really great. If you like very emotional very passionate love stories with some sexual scenes then this is a perfect book for you. I am a sucker for a deep, passionate love story and this has really hit the spot. I am now reading the 2nd book and I just don't want to put it down. I need to take off of work so I can finish reading it. I just don't even know how to say how much I really like this book and the 2nd one so far. It is just breathtaking! LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hcollins1 More than 1 year ago
A very intense book about Love. There is really nothing else this book is about! The characters have some obstacles overcome, but when they do, WOW! This is the kind of love that people dream about having and very few actually find! I found myself so caught up in this book that I read the second as soon as I finished this one, then read the third when I was done with that. Yep... I read all 3 in one day! I have actually gotten a little sick of all the Trilogies out there, but found myself drawn to this one, and I am extremely happy that I did! There is no other Trilogy that this one can be compared too, which helped make it so worth the read! Definitely worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So Romantic!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
had no story to it...way to0 repetitive