×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Genius of Dogs: How Dogs Are Smarter Than You Think
     

The Genius of Dogs: How Dogs Are Smarter Than You Think

4.1 13
by Brian Hare
 

See All Formats & Editions

For readers of Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz, this New York Times bestseller offers mesmerizing insights into the interior lives of our smartest pets

In the past decade, we have learned more about how dogs think than in the last century. Breakthroughs in cognitive science, pioneered by Brian Hare, have proven dogs have a kind of genius for getting

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Genius of Dogs: How Dogs Are Smarter Than You Think 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Plain_Lo More than 1 year ago
Whether you're a dog person or one of those odder birds -- cat people -- this book will entertain and educate you.  There has been such a sea change in how scientists have come to think of dogs (is some ways catching up to what owners have always known), and this book details the what's and the why's of the story.  It makes you think of dogs with renewed appreciation, while also marveling at how our own minds work.  Great read for any dog lover (or even a cat lover) you know. 
bimmerlover More than 1 year ago
The Genius of Dogs is a wonderful and fascinating account of not only how dogs have evolved through their close affiliation with mankind for thousands of years but also how far science have come in understanding their unique genius (thus the title!). Dr. Hare is a well-known and respected dog cognition researcher at Duke University and together with his co-author Vanessa Woods they explore a wide range of scientific findings about dogs (while also dispelling some myths and "truths") - not only limited to their own research but polling from hundreds of other scientific papers, research projects and studies – yet in a fun, engaging and conversational style. I can warmly recommend this book for anyone who's interested in understanding not only dogs as a species, but also what may make your furry friend dog tick; his or her unique genius!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!!! The cover picture tells it all. When your dog looks at you, you always wonder what they are thinking. This book tells you how they are observing us crazy humans and can and will imitate us. They are brilliant in how they function and this explains it all. They are one of the greatest creatures on the face of the earth. Kudos to the author and this great book.
Transplanted_Southerner More than 1 year ago
I found the book readable. The authors described all of their dog-intelligence experiments in layman's terms. I also learned why wolves evolved into dogs and became our best friends. For whatever reason--maybe because I often think my dog is smarter than I am, maybe because the dog on the cover is so darn cute--I picked up the book in hopes of discovering new ways to bond with my own dog. Instead I got bored with all the dog-experiment descriptions. Some of the experiments were quite entertaining, particularly the one where a handsome young Frenchman asks girls for phone numbers with and without his dog and records his successes with each. But in the end, to my un-scientific way of thinking at least, too many experiment protocol descriptions made the reading tedious. The book also didn't tell me enough about how to use the experiment results to further my relationship with my dog. A more science oriented reader who wants to validate all the research that's been done on dog intelligence will enjoy the book much more.
Mama-Rose More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read the whole book--got it to give as a gift after hearing a great interview on WHYY "Radio Times" with one of the book's authors. A heartening approach to human-dog relationships, corrections of common misunderstandings (re. packs), and compelling discussion about dogs and how really smart they are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trilobite52 More than 1 year ago
I was a bit disappointed in the book. I guess I didn't realize it would be so clinical. I was hoping the information would be presented in a more entertaining format.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found that the book dealt too much with his view of evolution of man then of dogs. Obviously not a Christian. the experiments were interesting and his stories quite amusing. I can't say it was one of those books I would pass on to others or could not put down. I am almost done with it and have no real desire to finish it. It will probably be put into a thrift sale and sold for a lot less then I paid for it.