×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The German Suitcase
     

The German Suitcase

4.3 143
by Greg Dinallo
 

See All Formats & Editions

Greg Dinallo’s previous novels, Rockets’ Red GlareTouched by FirePurpose of EvasionFinal Answers, and Red Ink have earned him the title of “suspense pro” from the Chicago Tribune; the New York Times heralded his “sharp insight into

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The German Suitcase 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 143 reviews.
AReaderCA More than 1 year ago
The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany. Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think: So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itself is hell on Earth and is essentially a crime against humanity in the first place? In the midst of the story your mind is forced to think about those questions. I enjoyed Red Ink and was pleased to see a new Dinallo title come out. If you love suspense thrillers, you will enjoy this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous story. Deserves a write-up. Very well written, story flows with flashbacks from the present to the past, really hard to put down. Lots of mystery and intrigue. Loved the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book was enjoyable but very predictable. Once again pages did not turn easily and there was often mistakes in the printing. Someone should pre-read and edit these books before they are sold.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The title of the book got my attention and after the first page I was hooked. The author took a terrible time in history and turned it into a thought provoking story with a surprise ending. The story shifts from present day to the past and each story line is interesting and the reader is left wondering how they are connected as a mystery unfolds. While the book deals with disturbing events of Nazi Germany, it is told from a unique perspective that I had never thought of before I read the book.
WineGuy95113 More than 1 year ago
Another great Greg Dinallo novel that spans two time periods alternating between chapters. While it doesn't actually answer whether a "Nazi War Criminal" can actually be a hero, this is a scary, heartwarming, brilliantly written novel juxtaposing the Nazi concentration camp and SS experience with Madison Avenue advertising. Don't run away from this great piece of fiction based on the cover or the title. If this is your first Dinallo, it won't be your last!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very predictable. Dialog and story were pre-teen level.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written keeps ur attention
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good read and left me with something to think about. It has you looking at a situation from different generations' perspectives.
gjo50 More than 1 year ago
When a young New York advertising executive pulls a vintage suitcase from a trash pile to use in a new advertising series, she pulls a string that links the Holocaust to a prominent New York doctor. Then her boyfriend, a journalist who agrees to write a story for the times, spots some idiosyncrasies in the artifacts pulled from the suitcase and the Doctor’s story. Attempting to discover the facts without alerting the Doctor or smearing his reputation becomes a suspenseful walk through history. As a young man, the doctor fell in love with a Jewish doctor in Germany, so when an SS officer came, demanding that two Jews must go to a camp, the doctor tries to help them escape, endangering his family in the process. Anything that has a connection to Germany and World War II, has the potential to be exciting, but when I realized that two of the characters where Jewish and likely headed to a concentration camp, I tried to slow down my fascination. I knew it would be emotional. I have a fascination with stories of this era because it was such an incredibly difficult time to live through. Once I read a few chapters, I could not put it down. What seemed to be the likely conclusion from the beginning kept twisting and kept me guessing.  One of the themes gave me much thought for contemplation, when a good Christian man had to make life and death choices for the people arriving at Dachau, or have his family killed. Somehow, I believed that the people in those positions chose those positions of their own free will, something very naive on my part. After I finished the book, this kept my mind busy for hours, with thought of, “What would I do?” Life is never as simple as we believe. The story reinforces my opinion that evil exists. This is the first Greg Dinallo novel I have read, but it will not be the last. It took me a couple of days to surface from this deeply suspenseful and emotional novel. This is a well-researched novel, with many compelling facts, including people and dates, both contemporary and historical. If you enjoy the era, suspense, and romance, you should pick this one up today. Received from NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this fictional story. It was a good mix of mystery and history - coupled with present day drama. I found myself not being able to put this down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written enjoyed the storyj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
`--it was a good book, but I kept feeling it was not all it could be. I also predicted the "surprise" ending long before I reached it. All that said, it was an entertaining read if one didn't know what to pick up next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this one. More ethical and moral issues raised than my standard tripe. Not always comfortable to consider what any one of us might do when faced with similar circumstances. Good to think about it though...
Mama_of_4 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It is a novel, but there were parts that you know happened which breaks your heart that these horrible things happened to people. Hitler and the SS were masters of manipulation yet, some people were able to be true to their values and were punished severely for it. Ending somewhat predictable but still engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. finished over a year ago and still think about the story. Personalizes the horror of the Holocaust and pushes reader to consider the dilemmas faced by the Germans who did not want to follow the Nazi regime. God protect us from ever falling under such a blanket of evil again.
judyebt More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much and found it hard to put it down. Present day chapters and flashbacks went together very well (usually not the case).  This is my first book by Mr. Dinallo and I will definitely buy another one. 
flyladyNM More than 1 year ago
very believable and good story, being from europe and having my dad in a german workcamp during world world II. it also tells that not all Germans where nazis and evil
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent presentation of a highly complex and emotional issue. Being Jewish I really appreciated this book. Good book for high school HOLOCAUST class to read and contemplate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really really good story line
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book very much. However, when I was about 3/4 of the way through it I had figured out the ending. I do recommed this book dispite that. Very interesting plot idea.
DASHFD More than 1 year ago
This story grabbed me quickly and tied me to it until I finished the last page and was looking for the next event to begin. Very sensitive to the issues of the period and connects the familial characters across time and events.I enjoyed every minute from the first to last page.
love2readCW More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Great story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it from start to finish. It was one of those books where you do not want it to end. I look forward to reading more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ive read in at least a month or two, and i read every day or two.
SunshineDW More than 1 year ago
The first chapter had me wanting more! The story jumps back and forth to WW II and the present in a creative story about the Suitcase. Greg Dinallo is a captivating author and I am looking forward to reading more of his novels.