×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Gin Lovers
     

The Gin Lovers

4.1 10
by Jamie Brenner
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set against the turbulent and glamorous backdrop of Prohibition and the rise of the jazz age, Jamie Brenner's The Gin Lovers was first published as a six-part e-serial. Now this sensual and romantic story of how one high society woman's passion and courage lead her to love is available for the first time ever as a complete book.
It's 1925, and the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Gin Lovers 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The interesting and varied characters really stick in your mind long after reading. I originally read this story in serial form and highly recommend the paperback to anyone who hasn't read it. Charlotte's plight really moved me, caught between a domineering husband, the society expectations of his family and the exploding social mores of the 1920s in NY and my head was spinning right along with hers. Rounding out the varied but always human cast of characters are Mae, Charlotte's young and impetuous sister-in-law  and guide the Jazz age speakeasies; Fionna the irrepressible striving, waitress; Boom Boom the imperial club owner; and Amelia Astor, the relic of Victorian society. Then there are the male leads competing for Charlotte's attention: Jake, the roguish speakeasy owner and musician, and Rafferty, the always reliable butler and protector.  Jamie Brenner's highly entertaining novel definitely did the most with a colorful and dramatic period not often portrayed in historical fiction. 
CandyCain More than 1 year ago
The story is interesting and you find yourself wanting to finish to see how it all ends. But the ending feels rushed, and there are certain story lines that felt choppy and unfinished. I found myself not being able to understand some of the characters actions and motives, which can be good in certain instances but in this case a little annoying. Its a quick read, keeps you engaged, but the ending was really disappointing. All that build-up and then, meh, I'm done. I got it for $1.99 so I'm not too bummed. Great story line, interesting characters, and a puttering finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More!!! Or else!-_-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
-Her Memories- <br> "Winter, you go in there with me. We'll find out if their inventions are real or not, kill the bad guys, make out a lil', and then earn our spot in Bleu." Ethan said. His eyes were too deep, so deep. "And I'll always protect you." <br><br><br> He hung there, a smudge on the wall. Shivering... <br> Sitting between us, a fat man and a fit woman, holding two crystal guns.. each. Loaded with bullets and explosives.... <br><br> Asains... they spoke to each other in nor English or Italian, but a language I did not reconize... <br><br> Soun d s... <br> A man strolled in, and so dominant, oh so dominant, she would not have stood a chance... <br><br> "You don't belong here. Why are you here? Why are you anywhere? Worthless. Tell me...'. <br><br> No, no, on the other side a knife shined brightly. I imagined blood, yelled. "ETHAN!" <br><br> The pain of the burn, the men had inflicted. "He doesn't love you. We gave him the truth serum.'.... <br><br> Screamed more words than ever. And again and again , I screamed more with the burn. Silently.. in my head. Outside, silent.... <br><br> "Open up!" The dominant man said in a voice so evil my heart throbbed. I couldn't do this anymore... there was the silver liquid, coming my way. I gagged and sick. <br><br> Closed my eyes, the real darkness soothed me. A heard the knife, my eyes opened. A man stripped the waxy tape from my disgusting mouth. He didn't coil... <br><br> Put a brace on my mouth. The silver liqiud poured... my mouth clamped. But it only hurt against the sharp metal. Blood on my shirt. <br><br> The shirt that hid the pill... <br><br> He began walking my way. Then I sprang, I hit him with my knees, and breasts. The liquid toddled. A little drip.. <br><br> The silver liquid was turning darker. Less shine in the silver... grey... because my blood had fallen in the liquid. <br><br> My aim is perfect. <br><br> The pill was in the cup. They did not know. They burned me. <br><br> The liquid trickled down my mouth, pain, I vow never to taste something equally horrid as it.. pain... <br><br> I felt the hardness of the pill. They took the clamp away, I bit down, the poison was out, I love Ethan, I love Devon and the world. <br><br> Life shut down, space was dark.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I'm being honest, I was a little hesitent on reading this book... but it did not disappoint. I would recommend to a friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cmac40 More than 1 year ago
What a great book to read! I found it very hard to put it down. I highly recommend you add this book to your Nook collection!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago