×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar (Steampunk Chronicles Series)
     

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

4.4 49
by Kady Cross
 

See All Formats & Editions

In New York City, 1897, life has never been more thrilling—or dangerous

Finley Jayne and her "straynge band of mysfits" have journeyed from London to America to rescue their friend Jasper from the clutches of a devious criminal demanding a trade—the dangerous device Jasper stole from him…for the life of the girl Jasper loves. One

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
iheartyabooks More than 1 year ago
When I read Kady Cross’s first novel in her Steampunk Chronicles The Girl in the Steel Corset I wasn’t impressed, simply because I felt the Steampunk elements far outweighed the romance. And I wanted more romance to balance out the heavy plot. But I did love the six characters in the Steampunk Chronicles. Now with that said, I really enjoyed Kady Cross' sequel The Girl in the Clockwork Collar . So I would like to give Kady Cross praise on this second novel. I love the Steampunk storyline, her talent as a writing, and some much loved, swoon-worthy moments. Finley is off to America with Griffin and the rest of Griffin's crew to rescue Jasper from the bounty hunters that came to England to arrest him for a murder that they claim he did back in America. When Finley and Griffin arrive in New York, they find out what Jasper was hiding from them in England, and murder is the least of Jasper's problems. Jasper, who I loved so much in the first book, with his fun attitude, he's hilarious sense of humor was the comic relief. But this time, he brought me tears instead of laughs. Mei is the girl Jasper left behind in America when he went to hide out in England. He thought this would protect Mei from his criminal past that he was running away from. Jasper is going to find out love is blind and even when you see the truth you can't tell your heart to stop loving. Jack Dandy was the only character not in this sequel novel. I really missed Jack. He's the cool bad/good guy. I hope he will be in the next novel. The rest are all here: Finley, Griffin, Sam, Emily and Jasper. Even though this was Jasper’s story, Finley and Griffin finally did acknowledge their feelings for each other and I would love to see their romance go deeper in the next novel. If you enjoy Steampunk, you will not want to miss out on The Girl in the Clockwork Collar. I recommend as fantastic Steampunk read.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. very well written. It has a story I couldn't put down.
trulynightwing More than 1 year ago
I was hesitant to read Kady Cross' latest book in her Steampunk Chronicles series, The Girl In the Clockwork Collar. Her first one, The Girl In the Steel Corset, was so well written and engaging that I did not think she could do it again. I was wrong. This one is even better. From the first paragraph, the reader is swept into the world of the “strange band of Mysfits” as they take over a New York that did not actually exist in 1897, but should have. Those who have read the first book are already familiar with Finley Jayne and her compatriots, a crew of people with talents most people don't suspect even exist. Those who are new to the series are in for a treat as they meet the group for the first time. In either case, set some time aside and stock up on snacks, because you're not going to put this book down until the oh-my-goodness-how-did-that-happen ending. The surface plot revolves around proving the innocence of one of their team, Jasper Renn. To do so, first they must rescue him from the men who abducted him while he was visiting them in England. Along the way, Finley falls in love, or does she, with a rogue named Dalton, leading Griffin King, the leader of the group, to outlandish feats of bravery, or perhaps he would have done them anyway, to show his love for Finley, a love he cannot confess anymore than she can confess that she loves him. Then there's the tumultuous relationship between Emily, who can communicate with machines, and Sam, who she turned into a part-machine. And, just for spice, add a touch of lying female assassin and help from Tesla himself. This is all melded seamlessly into a tale that will leaving you regretfully turning the last page, hoping for more. And yes, this book *can* stand on its own, you don't need to have already read The Girl In the Steel Corset. But, if you have not read the first book yet, you are very lucky. You will have something to occupy your time while the rest of us are whining and begging for the next book in the series. Though, now I think on it, mayhaps a re-reading of both books would be an admirable idea while waiting for Kady Cross' next masterpiece in the Steampunk Chronicles series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Every time book, every time I toss between 4.5 to 5 stars with you. Now with the sequel, its 5 stars baby. And I'm just gushing about this series. Two books in and I love it even more. The characters make the story for me as the writing and can't over well paced the series is. It really helps when I keep thinking, okay just one more chapter. Then I found myself reading like, hmmm, reading 3 more chapters than I realized. Okay enough fangirling. So, this one concerns Griffin and co going to New York to help their cowboy friend Jasper. And let's say from there, it goes deeper than they thought. Boy was this quite the sequel. New characters introduced, good and bad so that was a nice balance. Moments where I couldn't help but smile, moments where I was like, would you man up already and moments where I was like, don't do this to me book. To me that's a good book where you're rooting for the main characters, going along for the ride as they set for their next adventure. Severely absent however was Jack Dandy. Miss that guy. Oh and Emily, was awesome in this. Also Dalton, so reminded me of Fassbender for some reason. Mei, all I can say...wow. And love that the sequel explored Finley's different side, well, dark side if you will. Even Jasper. Thank you for the character development. Much appreciative. Uh, alrighty then. Near the end, got to say I was like, oh that's a bad miss then that's not a pretty picture. But at the end, end, I was like freaking finally! Looking forward to the next book, obviously.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series; it is seriously amazing! I recently read the first bool about a week ago, and I looked everywhere and it never said there was a sequel, let alone two! So when I just found out by looking on my Nook for the first time in a couple weeks that it was here, I automatically bought it! Amazing.
Lady_Lizbeth More than 1 year ago
I can appreciate a good YA book when one hits the shelves, especially when a series hits the shelves that doesn't revolve around sparkling vampires. I found this series to be an especially quick read, but I found myself engaged with it throughout the duration. I think that there are some moments of plot holes and some things seem to happen without much explaining but overall I loved the steampunk theme and the focus on a mature, self-reliant woman trying to battle enemies and her first love. Great read for young adults, and those interested in a victorian era steampunk adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Answer please
gloomcookie613 More than 1 year ago
You'll probably enjoy this one. We pick up where we left off at the end of the Girl in the Steel Corset and find ourselves winging away to New York where Finley and her motley crew go in search of their missing comrade, Jasper. While the story itself is a bit predictable in parts it's an overall fun read. It has a similar feel and flow as the first book and if you enjoyed it The Girl in the Clockwork Collar is more of the same steampunk romp. It's a fun series and I suggest that anyone interested grab a sample and see for yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome second book....! Kady Cross its one of the best new writter out there now!