×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Giver (B&N Exclusive Edition)
     

The Giver (B&N Exclusive Edition)

3.6 22
by Lois Lowry
 

This exclusive B&N Collector's Edition of Lois Lowry's Newbery Medal-winning, time-honored classic The Giver features a special Q&A with the author, the author's reflection on the creation of the Giver Quartet, and a striking gold foil jacket.

This unforgettable story will be transformed into a major motion picture in theaters August 15, 2014, starring Jeff

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Giver (B&N Exclusive Edition) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
LaurieRosel More than 1 year ago
An awesome book which everybody should read! Not only is this probably THE book which started the "dystopian revolution," it also is a great read!. It is Lois Lowry at her best!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never before have i read an entire book in one sitting until The Giver. This book really portrays the consequences of technology (utopia) that humans don't quite understand, even when they claim to. It also allowed me to understand how important imagination is. Also, there is no stopping the horrible things in the world, and you may try to stop it but it will always find a way back. Repressing feelings, imagination and emotion will cause more harm than good. I really enjoyed this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReaderStefanie More than 1 year ago
This was a well-written book.  I have nothing against that part. The story was super interesting and held my attention. I felt the characters were well developed.   I think the setting could have been described better but I have no idea how she should have done that.  I felt like the last bit of this book was rushed.   It’s a short book to begin with so a little more wouldn't have hurt anything, like an actual ending! I went from feelings of “wow, how will all this play out” to “what the heck, it’s over?”   At one point I even went back a few pages to see if I missed something. I was very disappointed in the ending. I do not plan to read the rest of the series.   I honestly do not understand how this book won awards?   I wasn't horrible but it was not award worthy either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full of trite stereotypes and overused cliches.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The great thing about this book is pretty fast read. But i feel there could have been so much more said.
Mr-X_0024 More than 1 year ago
Earlier this year, I've owned this book as a Nook Sample in addition to three other books in the series and I've enjoyed them. I also recommend two books I've read recently (after reading Guardians of the Galaxy the Junior Novel, I've received a few more Nook Samples including a classic Pokemon Strategy Guide, I've read Frozen the Junior Novelization a couple of months before reading Guardians of the Galaxy the Junior Novel).
LadiSteele More than 1 year ago
great series
IronPaws89 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book when I first read it in school, I actually read way ahead of the class (which was big for me because back then I didn't read at all unless someone forced me too, now I love it) This book will always bring back memories of Middle School. It's a very quick read, and I was able to read the whole thing in less then a day the second time around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Proner More than 1 year ago
The story seemed to be interesting, but the author failed to explore the obvious paths and detail that the reader wants. This was a fair short story read, but I think it would have been better a a long, well developed book instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AnnaCHMS14 The book the giver was very interesting and very different from all the other books I read. The giver gave me an idea what it would be like in the future if our society was run by some sort of government. First in the book the giver everyone was chosen an assignment there was the assignment of a birth mother or the giver that’s where the main character was chosen to work as or even an assistant. Second each child had to go to a ceremony every year to decide their age it was called the ceremony of 12 cause each kid ended up turning 12 in the end of their last ceremony and then after that they didn’t need to participate in the ceremony anymore once they turn 13 all they had to do was come to the ceremony and sit and watch the little kids go up on stage to get their assignment.  Third In the book the giver the kids had to ride bike everywhere there were no cars that time for some reason but each kid once they turn 9 they received a bicycle so they didn’t have to ride with their parents anymore after they turn twelve they received a bigger bike at home for entertainment they listened to radios or got to play outside with friends and while coming home from school they rode their bikes with their friends  Finally the giver is basically about the assignment of being the receiver. the receiver received all memories from the giver to become the giver    
MrsOzRM More than 1 year ago
boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated this book, and I still remember how much I hated it more than ten years later. We were required to read it in school, and I was going through a rough time at home anyway. Here we were trying to take care of my paralyzed grandfather through his year long dying process, and I had to think about people breaking bones in sledding crashes and babies being killed because they're not quite up to snuff. I had real problems and I had to deal with somebody's made up problems as well. I couldn't tune it out, because I had to take tests on it and write essays about it. I don't know why school's don't give kids a few options for required reading choices so they can make things a little easier on themselves. I could have really used a bit of light escapism. I did not need somebody else's trauma piled on top of the trauma I already had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the cast list and I wanted to cry. I don't recall the book being as bleak as the cast, minus of course Jeff Bridges who seems perfectly picked for the part. What a disappointment! I would have gave the book 5 stars from my memory of it as a child, but instead I give it 3 stars for allowing this movie to destroy that memory.