×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People
  • Alternative view 1 of The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People
  • Alternative view 2 of The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People
  • Alternative view 3 of The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People
  • Alternative view 4 of The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People
<Previous >Next
     

The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People

3.0 11
by John Kelly
 

See All Formats & Editions


A magisterial account of one of the worst disasters to strike humankind--the Great Irish Potato Famine--conveyed as lyrical narrative history from the acclaimed author of The Great Mortality

In this masterful, comprehensive account of the Irish Potato Famine, delivered with novelistic flair, Kelly gives us not only the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful book I had read about The Famine before, especially in The Great Hunger. But this book seems to go farther, not just in detail and research, but also in its eloquent writing. I felt I was there, with the peasants as they worked in the ditches in the snow with few clothes and scraped for anything for their babies to eat, even seeds the birds had spat out. Also the author makes the complicated British policy understandable (you do need to concentrate in these passages). The book is gorgeously written,but it is also level headed. I highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started this book and got to the part where Mr. Kelly writes "The old Irish nationalist charge that London pursued a deliberate policy of genocide in Ireland has been discredited....Whitehall and Westminister were eager to modernize the Irish agricultural economy....and to improve the Irish character which exhibited an alarming "dependence on government" and was utterly lacking in virtues...." At that point, I put it down, supremely insulted and very annoyed that I had spent my money on the book. I doubt that I will ever read it. So why write a review on a book I may not read ? I cannot believe that anyone would actually say that the British were doing anything to help the Irish - read about the protestant planters, the British landholders who burned the huts and hovels so the starved Irish would have no choice but to leave the land, how they were left to die in the ditches along the roads,the blockade where the British allowed NO goods to be delivered to the Irish without the taxes and levies being paid if at all, the coffin ships, and exporting of all goods from Ireland did not stop - everything was still taken and sent to England and on and on and on. The fact that the writer begins the book by excusing the bloody Brits completely was profoundly off-putting. And if it begins in this fashion I have a hard time believing the rest won't be bs as well. If you want the truth - and there is substantial evidence that after 800 years of oppression the powers in London were GLEEFULLY hoping to finally wipe out the Irish race (which absolutely qualifies for genocide!) then I recommend the following: "The Story of the Irish Race by Seumas MacManus; The Killing of Major Denis Mahon by Peter Duffy; Paddy's Lament by Thomas Gallagher or The Famine Plot by Tim Pat Coogan. Having read these books which includes documentation that proves the powers in London were determined to finally kill off the Irish race.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This extremely well reseached work on the great famine of Ireland, a mere 160 years ago, tells of countless stories of the hundreds of thousands that perished as a result of paltry relief efforts by England, was shocking. Although I am left with great disappointment that England would treat Ireland like this, the author went to great lenghts to present an unbiased view, after reading all the facts he presented I believe the blame rests there. Shocking how such a short time ago an entire northern European race was distained almost to the point of extinction.
Phoebe_from_Sacramento More than 1 year ago
As a descendant of Irish immigrants who left Ireland in 1848, I found the details riveting. Some of the political details were a bit "dry" and I must confess I quickly read through them. However the horrors that the Irish people were subjected to were unbelievable. Who knew that it was American corn that kept even more from dying. I learned much about my heritage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a high school sophomore who had to a research project on this topic. I found this book very informative for  my research project. It highlighted most of the questions my teacher asked for the project which is very helpful.  This book was very well written. I'm not the best at reading comprehension, but I understood everything in this book. This book clearly shows how horribly the Irish people were treated. I feel like the portrayal how harshly  the Irish people were being persecuted put me in the time and place and i could feel the struggles of the people. I enjoyed how the author remained unbiased. I have read other short articles on this to help with my research paper and many of these articles lean towards the Irish or English's sides; very few are ever in the middle. The book focuses mostly on who influenced the famine and who was influenced by the famine. The many accounts of different people help me gather more information and it was a lot more interesting. This book turned out a lot more informative and interesting than I thought and I would definitely recommend it to any student doing research on the topic or anyone looking for a well written account of the Potato Famine. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a high school sophomore who had to do a research project. I found this book to be very helpful with my research. The book was very well written. It was also very easy to understand. I felt like the author John Kelly  explained everything that happened during the Famine very clearly. I found the book to have many important details that you would need to know for a research project. The book helps you to understand how the Irish felt during this tragic time. The book was an easy read because of it's clear writing style. While reading you are clearly able to understand the events that happened during this tragedy. The author is very clear with his explanation on how everything happened during the famine. The author gives you a new insight to  what actually went on during the famine. The book clearly shows how the Irish felt. It also shows how badly they were treated. When I first saw the book i thought i would be like reading a history textbook. It was not. I recommend this book to any student doing a research project.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a sophomore in high school that chose to do my research project on the Potato Famine. I found the book to be very useful. The book help answer some question I had on this specific topic. It also gave me an idea of how life was back then during these tough times. It was great of the author to not take any sides when writing this book because it gave me an ideal on how the people had reacted to the famine. But in general did not like the book at all. Also, the book was helpful because it showed me how the famine impacted life back then. Yes, it is a well written book but it just got to boring for me to read. It also got really depressing for me to read because of the way the author wrote on how the Irish people had felt during this period of time. I wish that the author could have made it a little bit interesting than just writing down fact after fact. Also it kind of got confusing but it may just been the way I read the book. I felt the book the kept moving to different topics and different times and I did not understand what was going on. But still the book was confusing, boring, and depressing for me to read. If you are a reader who enjoys reading a book that is boring, confusing, and depressing then go right ahead and read it. But I do not recommend this book because it is a very boring, confusing, and depressing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a sophomore in high school that chose to do my research project on the Potato Famine. I found the book to be very useful. The book  help answer some question I had on this specific topic. It also gave me an idea of how life was back then during these tough times. It was great of the author to not take any sides when writing this book because it gave me an ideal on how the people had reacted to the  famine. But in general did not like the book at all. Also, the book was helpful because it showed me how the famine impacted life back then. Yes, it is a well written book but it just got to boring for me to read. It also got really depressing for me to read because of the way the  author wrote on how the Irish people had felt during this period of time. I wish that the author could have made it a little bit interesting than just writing down fact after fact. Also it kind of got confusing but it may just been the way I read the book. But still the book was confusing, boring, and depressing for me to read. If you are a reader who enjoys reading a book that is boring, confusing, and depressing then go right ahead and read it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An incredibly well written, insightful and well researched history. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is written in a rather wooden way. This however would actually seem to be the best way to tell such a story. The lack of emotional content nicely highlights the awfulness of the story being related. I found that story to be quite depressing, actually. What a horrible time and place.