×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Great American Songbook [Box Set]
     

The Great American Songbook [Box Set]

4.2 9
by Rod Stewart
 
A month after Rod Stewart's fourth volume of his ongoing (some might say never-ending) Great American Songbook series was released, all four of the albums were rounded up in a cardboard box and released as The Great American Songbook. Apart from a biographical essay from Alan Light

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Great American Songbook [Box Set] 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
. . . of this MAGNIFICENT series. I am so thankful Rod finally got his wish to record this ASTOUNDING collection of "evergreens". Example: Rod and Cher (disc 2) together (MORE duets, please ! ) FEELING the ORIGINAL Rogers and Hart "Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered" lyric (HOT ! !) is worth the entire set - remarkable. What a magic touch Mr. Stewart shares with us Boomers who grew up with "Maggie May" - THANK YOU for taking a risk and giving us this gift, Rod !
Guest More than 1 year ago
We Baby Boomers loved Rod then and WE LOVE HIM NOW.....thank you for such a wonderful collection of rememberance...songs to sing to, to have playing in the background, to watch people remember and move to. YEAH!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful, beautiful, the best grouping of songs by a very talented singer...Rod should stick to this type of romantic songs,,,I will continue to look for his next album!!! You will reminise to a great time of songwriters..Sit back & enjoy
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I can respect Mr. Stewart's love for all of these songs, and can understand a tribute work of love for some of the greatest tunes of all time, it's about time that somebody speaks up and asks 'why'? I like Rod Stewart. I like and respect his style and his delivery and his original sound. But the sound of his croaking of these wonderful songs is like listening to a cello being played with an axle-grinder. Adding insult to injury to all the other wonderful singers who have rendered these works with beauty and true talent is to watch the public go so crazy over these timeless songs only after Mr. Stewart's painful releases. It's like bypassing giving a dancing award to Gregory Hines and giving it to Shaquille O'Neal just because he tried it. I will be happier if/when Mr. Stewart goes back to his own style and leave these 'Great American Songbook' tunes in peace.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am listening to the 4 volumes while I work and want another so I came in search to see if there is one! I guess since these were boxed as a set there is no plan for #5. I just love these...so easy going, so mellow, and good memories of times past. You can't help but humming or singing along with them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just because it's not the original artists, or not in the same style, doesn't automatically mean it's awful. I might not have bought the box set, but I did buy all four, and I happen to like this style of singing. I admit that not everyone will like it, but don't ruin it for others just because you don't like the style. Yes, it's not the same as was recorded by the artists of the 20s and 30s, but don't put it down "Just Because...". I happen to think that these are outstanding, but others might not. I recommend listening to the previews first, just to figure out whether you like them. If you don't, no pressure, don't buy. If you do, buy. That's it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The songs on these recordings are timeless! There are so many more that could be added to this collection. Hopefully with enough feedback, we will get Rod Stewart to &quot Play it One More Time! for the folks that truly love good music. We can only hope for another release.... Don
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my very Favorites!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago