×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Greatest Game Ever Played: Harry Vardon, Francis Ouimet, and the Birth of Modern Golf
     

The Greatest Game Ever Played: Harry Vardon, Francis Ouimet, and the Birth of Modern Golf

4.5 24
by Mark Frost
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE GREATEST GAME EVER PLAYED is the story of Francis Ouimet and Harry Vardon, who in pursuit of their passion for a game that captivated them as children, broke down rigid social barriers that made their sport accessible to everyone on both sides of the Atlantic and beyond, positioning golf as one of the most widely played games in the world. Ouimet and Vardon

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Greatest Game Ever Played: Harry Vardon, Francis Ouimet, and the Birth of Modern Golf 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jack234 More than 1 year ago
The story that is laid out to its readers is remarkable. Vardon and Ouimet's story's are both equally inspiring. I applaud the authors research and writing ablilities which gives us as readers the insight into the minds of each of these men. It is truly a wonderful book. Do not be turned away after the first few chapters the story advances quickly, but make sure you read those first pages because they're very important to the make up of the story. Thank you Mr. Frost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a golfer, you need to read this one. Not only is it a great story and absolutely true, it's also inspirational to the struggling golfer. Gave me inspiration to keep trying and adopting the mindset of Vardon and Ouimet. One of the great American Sports stories ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not a sports guy but rented a movie by the same name from netflix and was hooked...What a great story. But the book is sooooo much better in the way books always are ..Lots of details not transferable to film ,like 4 bios not 1 and frost intertwines a history lesson with the action .Suffice it to say even if you are not a golfer you will enjoy the human stories of persivirence and nobility of the human expirience.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not only one of the best sports books I have ever read, but one of the best books! The story of Vardon and Ouimett is fate at its best. Frost had me in the gallery at the wet, Brookline Country Club for the final 36 holes!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An engaging read that golfers and history buffs will enjoy. Frost educates you on the history of Golf in America and captivates you in a true David vs. Goliath story. A pleasure to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. As I was reading, I kept thinking this would make a great movie. Guess what? Movie is in production and will be released at the end of 2005. Frost is a good story-teller.
Guest More than 1 year ago
frost writes the way ken burns documents. wonderful history on the players and the game itself. must have for those who enjoy golf.
RDM More than 1 year ago
If you thought the movie was good, the book is even better. This is the story of the iconic professional golfer Harry Vardon, matched against a relative unknown amateur Francis Ouimett on one of golf's grandest stages, the US Open. This book is a worthy addition to your golf library. RDM
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes i have wanted kits. Come on you must be tired. Moves to metal result 1 to sleep in my new den.