×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Greatest Generation Speaks: Letters and Reflections
     

The Greatest Generation Speaks: Letters and Reflections

4.6 16
by Tom Brokaw
 

See All Formats & Editions

The heartwarming New York Times bestseller by the author of The Greatest Generation

"When I wrote about the men and women who came out of the Depression, who won great victories and made lasting sacrifices in World War II and then returned home to begin building the world we have today ... it was my way of saying thank you. I was not prepared

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Greatest Generation Speaks 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Filled with moving letters from the men and women who lived through those epic times. Nothing can really bring history to life more effectively than the words, thoughts, and reflections of the common people who were there and saw it all with their own eyes. Nostalgic, eloquent, a great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much, if you want to know about WWII then read this bood. It's really touching, It's kinda like I was there when they are telling those stories. I truly appreciate those one who served for their country during that time and those who supported them. What a great generation!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good follow up book to The Greatest Generation. It is about time someone with a national or world audience give opportunity to these veterans to speak their thoughts. We need to know what these people endured and how they live now. Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
We think we have it tough. These are letters from people who have lived it. Puts my life in perspective for sure & gives me a newfound respect for my grandparents & their generation. Every young whipper-snapper should read this book, listen to the voices, & learn.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book and I really agree and understand why that generation is believed to be the Greatest gneration.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book, which gives a good perspective of what many Americans went through during World War Two. Reality is much more interresting than fiction, I think. The second World War is probably the most intense experience the world has ever seen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The only thing I knew of that generation is what I was tought, and that wasn't much. This book has given me a better out look on what that age has done for my parents and I. My generation is full of ingrates and children who don't respect their elders. It's in my opinion that every youth once they get into high school should have to read both of these books. If you knew nothing of your grandparents WW2 experince, then these books would help give you an idea of what they went through.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A good follow-up to The Greatest Generation, I was very moved by the contents of Brokaw's latest book, the men and women in these pages are inspiring role models for all of us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For me this book was too short. In reading this wonderful book, I found new respect for my Mom and Dad and their generation and what they went through. I am in favor of having this book be required reading. Do I highly recommend this book? You bet I do!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Brokaw's 'Greatest Generation,' the book which preceded this. This book, a response from many voices who were touched by the first book, adds to it. It is like an addendum. It reinforces all of the positive things about the people and families of this country. My dad flew with the 8th Air Force in the 446th Bombardment Group, stationed in England during WW2. As a waist-gunner in a B-24, he did his 30 combat missions over Nazi Germany, receiving the Distinguished Flying Cross, and having to survive a bail-out on his 11th mission. But, like a lot of the persons in this book, he did not like to talk about it. It was only when he perceived my interest in what he had done, that he began to get that light in his eye, and began to little by little, talk about it. That theme I saw repeated in this book. Many thousands, many millions of everyday people, beginning to realize the important role that they had been cast, not chosen, for future generations' welfare. I thought it is a worthy book, a necessary addendum to the first book.