×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Handbook to Handling His Lordship (Scandalous Brides Series #4)
     

The Handbook to Handling His Lordship (Scandalous Brides Series #4)

3.7 15
by Suzanne Enoch
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE HANDBOOK TO HANDLING HIS LORDSHIP
SUZANNE ENOCH

Emily Portsman has a secret, and three years ago she decided the best way to keep it would be to work at the Tantalus Club, a notorious gaming establishment for gentlemen. It's not the sort of work a beautiful, well-bred governess would ever consider-unless she's hiding from her past and a man

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Handbook to Handling His Lordship 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog All of Enoch’s quality trademarks are present: Flirty, fun dialogue, an endearing heroine and a hero that charms your pants off! ~ Under the Covers Emily Portsman is keeping a secret close to her heart. In order to keep that secret hidden, she works at the Tantalus Club, which is a gaming hell for gentlemen. Our hero, Nate Strokes, Earl of Westfall, is a former spy and is ridiculously good at recovering anything. So when he is approached by the Marquis of Ebberling to locate a murderess after three years of a cold trail, Nate finds himself intrigued by the concept and challenge. For a large sum, he tries to track down this murderer and finds himself in the Tantalus Club where he meets Emily. To be honest, THE HANDBOOK TO HANDLING HIS LORDSHIP took awhile to warm up to. Nate is an interesting hero, but I thought some of his interactions with others seemed to fall a little flat. I’m used to Enoch’s writing to be upbeat and a little flirty, so when I didn’t immediately get that, I instantly knew I wanted something more. However, the book doesn’t stay that way. As soon as Nate sets his eyes of Emily, I knew that something was brewing and Enoch worked with it until it boiled to a fevering point. The other thing I wished for was an epilogue or something because things wrapped up a little too quickly for my liking. I know Enoch doesn’t normally indulge in epilogues but I think one would have been great to really cement and cap off the romance and lead into a happily-ever-after. So for me, the two ends – the beginning and the ending – just felt a little flat for me, though the rest of the book is very much enjoyable. All of Enoch’s quality trademarks are present: Flirty, fun dialogue, an endearing heroine and a hero that charms your pants off! *ARC provided by publisher
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love suzanne enoch. Good book, easy to read
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
The Scandalous Brides series by Suzanne Enoch has been an enjoyable audiobook experience. With the exception of Rules to Catch a Devilish Duke, the third book in the series (which I read) Anne Flosnik has narrated the rest in a unique and engaging voice that perfectly captures the lovely blend of scandal and emotion that characterizes these stories. Her voices are easily distinguishable between men and women and even characters from previous books in the series, a challenge indeed. She reads with great feeling and emotion and perfectly depicts both humor and fear as appropriate. Nathaniel (Nate) Stokes is a former spy—and reluctant earl—for Wellington and has perfected the innocuous persona he adopts as the serious, absent-minded professor with a slight limp. He is approached and hired by the seedy but powerful Marquis of Ebberling to find Ebberling’s former governess, Rachel Newbury, whom he suspects of murdering his wife three years earlier. Ebberling wishes to remarry and now wants retribution. Nate soon learns things are not quite what they seem. Emily Portsman has been in hiding for the last three years at the provocative and exclusive Tantalus Club. She has changed her hair color, her style of dress, and even her manner as she lives quietly among other scandalous women who work at the club, keeps the account books, and takes an occasional lover to forget her despair for a little while. When Nate meets her, he is attracted to her but is also merely looking for information on Rachel Newbury. This alarms Emily enough to wish to keep him close so she invites him upstairs to her rooms where they begin a passionate affair that quickly turns into a friendship of trust and revelations. Their romance is mature and sexy as neither are virgins. They get to know each other and reveal more and more of their true selves as they slowly let down their guard. But Emily is of low birth while Nate is an earl, an unlikely match for any future happiness. As danger creeps ever closer to Emily, Nate desires nothing more than to protect her and keep her with him. Enoch captures Emily’s stark fear particularly well in the reveal scene. Enoch writes with feeling and poignancy as each of the Tantalus girls in the series finds happiness against all the odds. They are strong women but at the mercy of powerful men and the context of the historical period that limited women’s choices. In this way, it reminds me of Madeline Hunter's Rarest Blooms series. Enoch captures this desperation and the close friendship the women create among themselves in the midst of this stark vulnerability. I very much enjoyed the character of Laurence (Laurie), Nate’s younger brother. He’s likable yet immature, but he loves his brother devotedly. Their relationship is portrayed quite nicely and I would love to read his story sometime. I also wonder if Enoch will write a little novella with a happy ending for Genevieve Martine, the loyal French spy who has been a great supporter for all the Tantalus girls/Scandalous Brides in this series.  Characters from the first three books make an appearance here and I feel the series is best savored in order to truly appreciate the plot developments, but it could probably be read as a standalone.  A lovely feel-good romance but I thought the final scene unnecessary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suzanne has excelled herself with this novel. Romance with action adventure. This is a real page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fast read that doesn't let you stop till the end.
red_riding_hood More than 1 year ago
Enjoying the series. The first one in the series was difficult to get through. Love the fact that previous characters appear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line was good. Wanted a little more ending to finish the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This Tantalous series continues to be a big disappointment- eperhaps due to the wearying conversations about class, the lame attempts to draw out the inevitable, or the characters who enoch keeps insisting are facinating/ but saddly fall far far short of such a description.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am always so excited to read one of Suzanne's books. This one did not fail my expectations! Loved it :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:(