×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend
     

The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend

4.3 56
by Bob Drury, Tom Clavin
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

An astonishing untold story of the American West

The great Sioux warrior-statesman Red Cloud was the only American Indian in history to defeat the United States Army in a war, forcing the government to sue for peace on his terms. At the peak of Red Cloud’s powers the Sioux could claim control of one-fifth

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
a_reader25 More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the middle of history. The authors draw you in and with each page it is more difficult to put this book down. There is not a dry page in this book and every word counts. I wish I could give this book 10 stars. It deserves a Pulitzer Prize and every other award out there. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the authors' grasp of Wyoming geography a little confusing, then I got to Chapter 19 and they said the modern city of Casper, Wyoming, was the capital of Wyoming. Not true, the capital of Wyoming is Cheyenne. Made me a little doubtful of their research from that point forward.l I still learned things about the Plains Indians that I did not know from reading other books on the subject.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of the history of native America. This books ranks among the best that I have read. The authors did their homework well to document the facts of this part of the history of the West. Their writing skills paint a vivid picture of Sioux's war to protect and preserve the Powder River Country in the Black Hills, or, as they called it, The Heart of Everything That Is.
UKTrojan69 More than 1 year ago
This story is compelling and as relevant today as it was +150 years ago. I made so many notes and underlined so many passages that the book now looks like it may have been written contemporaneously to the events recounted. Drury and Clavin weave this history in such a manner that it brings to life the trials and tribulations of both our Native American brothers, as well as the Western European immigrants. This history is detailed, well-researched, provides unique perspective, and will help you learn a substantially untold story. In the end, this is a story of a proud American hero: Red Cloud. On a personal level, "The Heart of Everything That Is" gave me a little insight into myself. Having ridden through the Black Hills, as well as the surrounding plains, I feel in my soul the area truly is the heart of everything that is. I hope this review helps.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful history, and non-diluted documentation, of Red Cloud and how the United States went about forcing the Native Americans from their native and sacred lands. Written in a neutral tone that explains both sides of the Indian Wars during the 1800's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and reccomend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I normally don't write reviews, but I thought this was an exceptional book. If you have any interest in the history of the Indian and US conflict in the West, this book has to be at the top of the list. It seemed to be a fair presentation of a brutal time in our history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy reading the same description chapter after chapter of how Red Cloud and his tribe dismembered, cut tongues out and gouged eyes out (while some were alive), scalped, cut private parts from men and women and carried them for trophies, then this is the book for you. I made myself finish it thinking it might get better. I even saw this book in DC at the national archives and wanted to post a sign not to waste your money. No need to read it, I've told you what happens in the book. If you want to read a good book about Indian life, read Empire of the Summer Moon.
usmcLS More than 1 year ago
will demand your attention and thought. truly a story of a person, p3eople who have had all taken away from them and yet, at the time of red cloud were people who stood proud. after all these years the u.s. government has reduced them to being all but a non-enity. These people are the true Americans..
play4fun More than 1 year ago
This book is well researched and provides a historical perspective from a different point of view. But it tends to ramble and becomes easily diverted from the subject. It took me a long time to get through this because I could only read 10 or so pages at a time
Anonymous 6 months ago
Excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book and I can honestly say it is an outstanding book about one of the greatest Americans in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy to read and hard to put down. I learned a lot regarding the settling of the west by the destruction of the native and the relationship between tribes
Freebirdcsmi More than 1 year ago
This book was simply amazing! I have studied the Lakota for a long time, yet I still learned new things from The Heart of Everything That Is. The writing is superb (it reads like a novel), the story is engrossing, and the research is impeccable. More than just the story of Red Cloud, this is the story of the mighty Sioux and how they suffered at the hands of the invading white man. I would recommend this book to anyone. You do not have to be a scholar of history to read or appreciate this book. You just have to enjoy a good story and a well-written book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for a history lesson, you're in luck! If you're looking for a great, fast moving read, you get that too! If you're looking for a worn out, same old, "cowboys / Indians" stuff - this isn't it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ellid More than 1 year ago
I tried to read this and the stereotyped language and attitudes toward Red Cloud and the other First Nations all but made me physically ill.  "Happy Hunting Grounds?"  In the 21st century?  Was the author serious?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and apparently factual
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reading!! New information I hadn't heard before. Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Masterfully written. History comes alive again within it's pages.
CMKmom More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book. Loved the history lesson along with the story. The book gave a human quality to the reasons behind the winning of the west. This is one of those books I wish I had bought as a book and not as a Nook book. I will read this one again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago